We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated building, too far away from everything.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Catullo 11, I-80122 Naples, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“dated building, too far away from everything.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have to say that i expected more from this hotel. Yes the view when you walk in is stunning, but the once your in your rooms the same can't be said. the shutter in our poky room didn't open so it was all grim. The biggest problem with this hotel is it's upside down design... the reception is on the top floor, and we were situated on the floor below, meaning that all day and night all we head were people walking backwards and forwards and cases being wheeled above us. So we had a night of unsettled broken sleep too.
The hotel was far away from any life, and although we walked into town no problems, walking back up the hill would have been difficult as it's all very steep. So we got a taxi. Reasonable at 10 euros. The hotel has no parking but the garage over the road will let you park there for 18 euros. The only good thing about the whole experience was the breakfast.. Served in a room overlooking the gorgeous view, and the breakfast selection was really good. However i will definitely not be returning to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    207
    94
    55
    18
See reviews for
79
218
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here with friends for just one night but the views of the Bay of Naples was fantastic, the rooms small but comfortable although we were unable to find CNN or any English speaking TV other than MTV on the TV! The restaurant staff were wonderful & the food average to good with a view over the bay. Breakfast was the typical hotel buffet but good nonetheless. There is access to a computer & wifi in the lobby & restaurant area. My most important piece of advice.....NEVER drive in Naples! The GPS doesn't like the city & it took us over an hour to find the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days during our honeymoon.

The room was a bit small, but as we were out all day it didnt matter. The hotel was up a hill, but there is a tram to bring youu up and it stops very close to the hotel.

Breakfast was good, and the view from the dining room was gorgeoes.

Would definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: not suitable for those who have walking dificulties, .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We travelled to Naples during our honeymoon and we received a room on the same level as reception. Hotel is situated on hill facing to Naples and mount Vesuvius. The view from our room and balcony was breathtaking but that was it...

Room was small (enough for us but for the avarage) and needed renovation. Location is quite remote, but you can help yourself. Take a metro from central to Mergellina, little walk to cable car in the bay and third third station (Gioacchino). Breakfast was avarage but with nice view. Service was poor. To restaurant you needed a suit so if you don't have one, I suggest eating at Mergellina.

Like someone said, Naples is dirty and dum city! If you do not find information about public transportation in advance you will not find you're way. There are no maps on public transportation. We went to see Pompeii which was within public transportation area but you really have to work to find you there. We had to ask way and we found ourselves from different station than we wanted. There is only one line that will take you directly to the entrance so make sure you find the right train. Traffic in Naples was horrific, even in South Eauropean standards. They so no mercy or respect for pedestrians trying to cross the street over safecrossing, not even if you have green light. Worst city in Italy during our trip that included several cities in Italy! Never again to Naples...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We arrived at 9.30 pm at the hotel on the day of our wedding. At reception there were 2 old guys who bearily spoke any word of English or French. We said we were on our honeymoon and they did not understand what we were saying. We came into our "special" room and could hardly move. The bath room was so small, you could not be in there with 2 persons. The door of the shower was very small (about 60 cm). We asked a honeymoon room with a view. If you stood on your toes, you could see the bay of Naples (because there was a building in frond of us). This was the 2nd time we booked in a Best Western, and frankly, never again. This is not worth 4 stars.
However, the breakfast area - the view - was fantastic: we had an overall view on the bay of Naples, without any buildings in front of us. Breakfast itself was ok, not amazing, but just ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I can't comment on the price/value for money as the one-night stay was a present. We had a room with a great view (306 I think) and a balcony which was perfect for admiring the sea and Vesuvius. The room itself was nothing special, not bad but not exciting either. As others have said, the breakfast on the roof with the amazing views of the Gulf is definitely memorable.

The location might be a bonus for some people, it's away from the centre of town so a bit quieter but easy to move about thanks to the nearby funicolare, or taxis should charge a reasonable rate into town. The Botteghina bar across the street is famous for great pastries and snacks.

Room Tip: Room 306 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

In my experience, the staff were fine, the room was small and dark (not a sea view room) but it was pretty old fashioned. On balance the hotel was OK but did not merit four stars, although the view in the restuarant was fantastic, the food and service in the restuarant was also excellent and I would recommend the restuarant if not the hotel. The worst part for me was the location, the hotel is situated at the top of a hill which is a significant walk from the seafront. It was fortunate the restuarant was excellent as I could not face walking back up and down that hill after a days sightseeing. In summary, the hotel is ok if you can get it for a good price and you only intend to sleep there, else stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view you will get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Catullo 11, I-80122 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
#22 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#33 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso, situated on Posillipo Hill, enjoys a spectacular view of the Gulf of Naples, with Vesuvius as a backdrop.Within just 2,500 metres may be found: the San Paolo Stadium, the Mostra D’oltremare exhibition centre, the University of Federico II di Monte Sant’Angelo, the railway station and the Campi Flegrei subway stop. From many rooms, and certainly from our “Terrazza Paradiso" restaurant, following the line of the coast you see Castel dell'Ovo, built around the year 1000 on a small island of tufaceous rock named Megaris. This is where - legend has it - the siren Parthenope, enchanted by the beauty of the surroundings, constructed the city of Naples. Descending the hill, in a few minutes one arrives at the marina of Mergellina and, 200 metres after that, at the subway station. From here there is a good connection to the old city centre and to the central station, from where it is possible, in around 20 minutes, to reach the sites of Ercolano and Pompei. Also on Posillipo Hill, around 2 km from the hotel, and at the end of the incredibly scenic Via Petrarca, is Virgiliano Park with its green areas and wide terraces that look out onto a sheer view of the Marechiaro Sea, and with a clear view of the little island of Nisida. This is a sight of rare beauty for those who love walking or jogging far away from traffic. The rooms, the meeting rooms, and the scenic restaurant with its Mediterranean cuisine and the warm welcome of its staff, all act as guarantees of a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradiso
Best Western Naples
Naples Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.