We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Continental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Continental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 38 / 44, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 193 hotels in Naples
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights and had adjoining rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids. we were in the older tower which has smaller rooms. They were carpeted and dirty. The bathrooms were fine.... clean but show much wear. The view is exceptional over the sea and the balcony is nice. The rooms have a safe but one was closed and not operational. they also have a mini bar which is handy.

Breakfast is buffet with several stations, fruit, meats and cheese, fatty bacon and powdered eggs (which no North American would eat), pasteries, bread, cakes, cereal, coffe,tea,juice.

Staff in the breakfast area are rude, insulting and snobby. They are not accomodating at all. Considering that this hotel is one of the most expensive in Naples, you would think the staff would be nice.

This hotel does not meet the lowest of North American standards for such a star rating. It is definately NOT worth the 400 euros we paid for 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids. The staff is the worst.

Internet access is limited to 15 minutes on the lobby computer and 1/2 hour free wi-fi. We stayed at Hotel Rex around the corner for 4 more nights paid less that what it cost for 1 night here for all 4 nights and had unlimited internet access in the lobby, firendly staff and a clean room ona quiter street.

Room Tip: I would ask for one in the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    415
    185
    54
    29
See reviews for
142
262
25
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, U.K.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

IrideGlobal, Liverpool, England, UK

My Husband Francesco (who is Italian) and I have been to Southern Italy many times in the past both for business and pleasure. My Husband also comes from the area. Once again we visited “Bella Napoli”. Many times in the past we have visited Naples and fell in love with the stunning panoramic views surrounding this City and the wealth of buildings and culture that the City has to offer. Naples certainly appeals to the romantic side of the imagination, an unforgettable experience.
On this occasion we had the pleasure of returning to the “Royal Continental Hotel” what an excellent decision. The hotel is beautiful and even more beautiful it is directly facing the magnificent Castel dell’Ovo which appears to be coming directly out of the sea.
The hotel is surrounded by stunning panoramic views of Mount Vesuvius, Sorrento, Capri, Ischia and Posilippo. These stunning breathtaking views stretch as far as the eyes can see. All in all the panoramic views from our terrazza can only be described as spectacularly stunning and amazing.
The rooms are modern, spacious and comfortable and have all essential amenities, with TV, mini bar, air conditioning and good wireless broadband and room service. The classic furniture is enhanced by the marble & wood flooring. The bed is large and very comfortable, with beautiful crisp fine bed linen changed every day. A large beautiful bathroom with plenty of marble. The room was looked after extremely well on a daily basis by Lucia Cervo and we wish to thank her for making our stay in the room as comfortable as possible.
On the top floor of the hotel there is a beautiful swimming pool with terraces overlooking the Sea, Castel dell’ Ovo and the stunning panoramic views we described earlier.
In the hotel there is a beautiful restaurant with large windows that allow you to see breathtaking views from all the tables, of the sea and the once again the stunning views we described earlier. The food in the restaurant is excellent. I (Isabella) am allergic to certain spices, however, despite this fact the various chefs in the restaurant catered for my every culinary need. We had different dishes every night and each dish was delicious and very tasty. We have eaten in different hotels and restaurants all over Italy and Sicily so we know what good food tastes like. If you stay at this hotel you must try the restaurant and its delicious food. The breakfast is also very good, varied with lots of choice. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and efficient. They looked after us extremely well and are thanks go to the staff including Alfredo, Antonio & Ilaria. A special thank you also to Vincenzo Rosiello who was very professional, friendly and was there every evening that we ate in the restaurant endeavouring to meet our every need. Thanks again Vincenzo!
This is a remarkable hotel with a service which was first class. The staff have a willingness to help at all times and in true Italian hospitality the staff went out of their way to make our stay as welcoming, enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We cannot praise them enough and we would like to extend our thanks to them including the very friendly bar staff. We would also like to thank the staff on reception especially the very efficient Vincenzo Merone and Vincenzo Vitale who were courteous and accommodating at all times.
The hotel is magnificently located to explore Naples. The hotel is close to the Piazza Municipio where you can get most of the city tour buses and you are also close to the dock area where you can get trips to Capri, Ischia, Sorrento etc.,
Naples is a vibrant and exciting city and besides the stunning panoramic views there are beautiful buildings to visit including, the National Archaeological Museum of Naples, Santa Chiara Church, Santa Chiara Monastery and Museum, the Duomo, Castel dell’Ovo (in front of the hotel), Teatro San Carlo and the Pio Monte della Misericordia Church, famous for its art work including Caravaggio’s “The Seven Works of Mercy” There are many other places to visit too numerous to mention.
Please ignore the negative reviews you read of Naples. The area near the hotel is quite safe, day and night where you can enjoy a walk or passeggiata as the Italians say, admiring the surrounding panoramic views. There are plenty of restaurants and café bars to sample the delights of Naples. Last but not least there is the famous Neapolitan Pizza Margherita. If you have never tasted a Pizza in Naples then you have never experienced the true taste and delights of a Pizza.
The actress Julia Roberts in her latest film “Eat, Pray and Love” was so impressed with Naples, its people and the food, especially the Pizza (which she is seen eating in her film) that the Director decided to add an extra scene of Naples in the film. Just watching Julia Roberts eating the Pizza makes you want to get on a plane and sample the food delights that Naples has to offer!.
If you can you must visit this unforgettable, vibrant city with its stunning panoramic views and buildings and those famous Pizzas.
If you do visit Naples we recommend that you stay at the beautiful “Hotel Royal Continental” with its unforgettable and romantic panoramic views, not forgetting that delicious food in their Restaurant.
Our final thanks go to the owner of the Hotel, Teresa Naldi, it’s because of her daily hard work that “The Royal Continental Hotel” is the success that it is!
Thanks once again to The Royal Continental staff and Napoli for such an enjoyable stay and we are looking forwards to returning some time in the near future.
Francesco and Isabella

Room Tip: Book a Front Sea-View Room with a Balcony or Terrace, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A little pricey for what you get. Room: i agree with many people, the rooms are dated and not kept the cleanest. The safe was small, no laptop storage available. Electricity: as with other reviews, i had NO available outlets in my room for use; every outlet in room had a power strip in it and the strip was full-not very safe. The bathroom was very dated, but nice big shower and sink area. Beds: i have been to Europe over a dozen times-these were the hardest beds ever, after 3 or 4 days had a sore back. Transportation: 2 bus stops within 3 minutes walk, one across the street and one around a corner, I used it several times. Food: i agree with some of the other posts-the breakfast buffet was NOT good and the dinner was average with high prices. View: outstanding if you get ocean side. Internet: very fast and reasonably priced for Europe at 9euro a day. Room temperature: was very warm in the room on most occasions, when I checked in my room was 87F/31C at 1500, it NEVER cooled off the day I got there. Staff: somewhat helpful, there was a problem with my door lock, they changed it out, reprogrammed it and i still needed 7 new keys while I was there, very time consuming when you are on a schedule. Location overall: way out of the main part of Naples, there are several restaurants within walking distance, but most are several km's away. I will stay to the east of the shipping terminal or 2 km's west of this hotel if I go again. Parking: 20euro a day. Overall i was not satisfied due to the price, but for a Napels hotel it was above average.

Room Tip: Get Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Fantastic location looking out over the bay of Naples, and a beautiful walk along the sea front. Fantastic selection of restaurants around the hotel, with the freshest seafood on offer.

While it's not in the heart of Naples, it's probably one of the nicer areas to be in. Breakfast buffet was lovely with a wide variety on offer. Spectacular views made up for the rooms - while they were clean and tidy and large, they were fairly basic. But all in all, nice hotel. Also, a taxi from the airport is genreally around €30-€35 so bear that in mind.

Staff were very helpful as well. Internet you have to pay for, but that's fairly standard these days!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel location is quite a distance from any public transport coming in to Naples. The only bus stand located outside the hotel sees one bus every 20 mins, so its mainly accessed by expensive taxis. Most of the high end hotels are located on this sea front and the view in the nights especially is just spectacular!

Its very obviously a business hotel and the staff are rude, curt and unhelpful - both at the reception as well as at the restaurant! Its almost as if they were trained to act superior to their guests! One man at the reception, Sergio, was particularly nasty.

The pool is smaller than the fishtank I have at home and although on the topmost floor has no view of the bay, so no one uses it.

Seriously in need of some hospitality training!!! The service dulled the whole experience of the views and the nice rooms. We even asked for a sea facing room, but when we got there, realised that we were given one right in the corner with only a view of the next building!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room and ensure you get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Overall well kept and clean. The location is good for the careful traveller as there are bars and restautants very close by. We ventured a little further into the city and found some great restaurants although the receptionists/concierge wasn't able to recommend any which was odd. The male concierge was very helpful when I had difficulties with the printer and couldn't do enough to help me.Only downside was that for the price the bedroom was quite small and dated, and our balcony overlooked the strip club in the road down the side. The breakfast situation was a little strange too. Lots of staff, all working hard but things were not replenished very often and tea bags were always in short supply. Sometimes the responses from staff (and receptionists) seemed a little short, but I think this may have been a cultural disconnect rather than anything more serious. Lovely views from the top floor and the breakfast restaurant. Nothing overly problematic with the hotel and we enjoyed exploring Naples when I wasn't at a conference. Would recommend this hotel as a safe option for my friends and family.

Room Tip: Yuo could ask about the sea front rooms at the front, they are probably expensive but appeared to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Royal Continental was probably one of the better hotels to stay in in Naples - a city that I would not visit again unless I had to! The view from our room was immaculate - right on the Bay looking at the Castle from two terraces was lovely. However, I have to agree with another reviewer - the carpet was stained and dirty and only one plug was available - had to unplug lamps in order to charge electronics. We had an unfortunate incident where we left an item in a taxi and when we asked the desk staff for suggestions on how to contact the taxi companies, etc. we got no help whatsoever. The staff we not overly friendly or accomodating and with the room as it was we would suggest looking elsewhere if possible for a room while staying in Naples.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalContinental_Nap, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that the carpet will be changed as soon as possible. We are sorry to read that our staff wasn’t friendly with you, as, in our group we choose only qualified personnel. However, we hope to host you for a future trip to Naples, to give us the opportunity to let you see that the statement does not represent the quality standard of our services.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Address: Via Partenope 38 / 44, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#29 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.