We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took our breath away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Cappella Sansevero

Museo Cappella Sansevero
Via F. De Sanctis 19 / 21, 80134 Naples, Italy
+ 39 0815518470
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 220 attractions in Naples
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Built in the late 1500s, this gem of Italian artistic heritage was greatly influenced by the famous Raimondo de Sangro VII, Prince of Sansevero, a genius of science and invention.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Took our breath away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were overwhelmed at the emotions of looking at the veiled Christ and details of the sculpture. This is a hard place to find and a small fee, but more than worth the price. There was a large crowd and I can't imagine how large it would have been if there was not a fee.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,201
    334
    83
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Chapel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is really one of the most extraordinary things I have ever seen. I usually think that things are ovverrated but this chapel really blew my mind. The most extraordinary thing is the sculpture of Gesu velato, it's just amazing and I can't imagine what kind of talent was needed to sculpt it in such a way that it look so real and delicate even though it is made out of stone. The other sculptures are beautiful and at the entrance you can get a flyer with the explanations of all the sculptures and what they represent. There is also sort of a maze made by stone blocks on the floor (the one on the floor is a representation, the real thing is built in one wall. And on the underground floor there are some sort of anatomy projects. All in all, a really awesome place, worth a visit if you are in Naples.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Incredible sculpture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This small unassuming structure from the outside hides a gem. The veiled sculpture of Christ is fantastic! Also, don't miss the many sculptures around the walls of the church representing twelve virtues. Go downstairs to view the two well preserved skeletons of a man and woman, with their inside organs and blood vessels still intact.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best marble statue I ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

All the Chapel and statues inside are incredibly beautiful!!! The Christ is unbelievable!!!! The museum is very clean and the silence is respected.
I hope to come back soon here!! I love this city!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cappela sanserveo and the Prince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

incredible marbles
authentic atmosphere
nice walk to get there ( streets are always dirty, its a pity!)
have a pizza to go before or after
check for the time of opening ( in particular on Sundays and festivity)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Cappella Sansevero also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Museo Cappella Sansevero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Cappella Sansevero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museo Cappella Sansevero to your Saves list