We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Vesuvius

Mount Vesuvius
Via Palazzo del Principe, 80056 Naples, Italy (Porto)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$39*
and up
Private Tour: Pompeii Half-Day Trip from Naples
Ranked #34 of 197 Attractions in Naples
Type: Mountains, Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only active volcano on the mainland of Europe, Mount Vesuvius is famous for the calamitous eruption in 79AD, which buried the towns of Herculaneum and Pompeii.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I had the chance to contact an authorized guide and we hiked the top of the volcano in a full moon night (you necessarily need a full moon in order to have enough light to see the trail). The magnificent view was really worth the effort. I do not recommend going there in the daytime during the summer since there is no shade and hot temperature makes it unpleasant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    598
    173
    55
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hike results in a phenomenal 360 degree view out to about 20 miles. It is SOOOO worth the time and energy. However, skip it unless the day is clear. Either you'll see haze, or you'll be IN the clouds.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A feat in itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We visited via the organized Rep's trip. Walked up the volcano from the car park, which takes 20-30 min's, according to age and fitness. Reached the crater, with beautiful views on the way up. Would not have missed this moment for one second. Was cloudy at the top. You need sensible shoes, as it is all loose gravel underfoot.
I noticed disabled people were taken up to the top via transport.
Toilets in the car park.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“breathtaking experience but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is truly a wonderful experience but be warned its one hell of a climb and not for the feint hearted or those of us that are unfit or a litte over weight

wear good walking shoes a hat and preferrably trousers its very dusty take plenty of water and take frequent rests en route

If you borrow a walking stick expect to pay for it

having said all that for those hardy souls to make it to the top the view is awsesome and to look into a volcano has to be the experience not to be missed

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fantastic views, easy hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was really one of the best things my husband and I experienced during our trip to Naples. This hike only takes about 20 minutes (but it costs a fee). The walk isn't difficult, but the path is made of very fine gravel, so be careful not to wear sandals - we learned this the painful way. The views are spectacular and it was awesome to look inside the crater at the top of Vesuvius - we even saw smoke emerging from the volcano. Truly amazing! I'd be cautious if you're travleing with elderly companions or small children, especially during the hot summer months.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vesuvius also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 

Been to Mount Vesuvius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Vesuvius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.