We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Naples
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unpretentious excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Magnificent position looking towards Vesuvius, really beautiful roof terrace. Good comfortable rooms. Great feeling of space and lightness in the hotel. This is a good value hotel, and an excellent base from which to discover this beautiful and fascinating city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    125
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
71
241
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in a junior suite with a great view of the port. Staff at the front desk was helpful and the bathroom, bed and hospitality were very good. Would recommend this location too for great views and proximity to the main square, restaurants and shopping all in 10mins walk

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We used SPG points to stay here and were upgraded to a Junior suite with two small balconies from which you could see the water. The room was amazing. The staff very friendly. We ate at their restaurant on the roof the first night. While the buffet was just okay, the view can't be beat.

My mom thought the rooms weren't quite sound proof enough, but I didn't have any troubles sleeping.

The waterfront area where this hotel is located is very safe and pedestrian only. Lots of nice restaurants. The hotel overlooks the fort and a number of the ships docked. Definitely recommend this place to stay, though it isn't easy (or fast) getting in and out of Naples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On a recent trip to italy we stayed at the Excelsior Hotel in Naples. Breathtaking view of the bay of Naples. The promenade is closed to traffic with lovely little restaurants outside. The hotel breakfast was scrumptious with an outside seating area. During the evening turndown, the floor on each side of the bed was covered with small rugs. The bar and snack food was lovely too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for seven days at this beautiful historic hotel. The front of the hotel is on a street that has been closed to most traffic and faces the Bay of Naples and Castel dell'Ovo. We had a room that did not overlook the bay, but was a corner room with two windows and two balconies. The cross breeze was wonderful and from the balconies. We had two partial water views and a back residential street view. The internet was very iffy in this room - ask the desk for a room with strong internet if this is important to you. I found myself having to go into the hallway to use the internet about half of the time. I paid 30 Euros for a week of internet.

The room service is very good but has a very limited and expensive menu. This hotel does not allow any food delivery into the hotel, however you may bring food in yourself. There are many (mainly pizza) restaurants closeby and a Supero market within walking distance.

Definitely visit the rooftop terrace and the restaurant - even if you do not eat there. The view of the water and Vesuvius is amazing from the rooftop garden of this hotel and offers a perfect photo op.

Explore the main floor and notice the beautiful chandeliers and Bay view from the Salon.

The concierge and front desk staff speak good English and can give you maps and directions. They were amiable enough, but I did not really feel like they cared one way or another about our stay. I was celebrating my birthday during my stay and no mention or amenity was offered, which is unusual for a hotel of this calibre.

The cleaning staff were very thorough and most courteous.

Caution - SOME people in Naples really want your stuff and they even send their children out to get it from you. We were accosted by a very rude street clown and did not venture far because of him and some of the other opportunists. Hold onto your stuff. They are EXPERT THIEVES!

I felt very safe while inside the Hotel Excelsior, not so much otherwise, although this is considered a safe part of the city.

The Hotel Excelsior is an excellent choice in Naples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay with strong wifi A higher floor means less street noise Hold ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Excelsior in Naples. We were very pleasantly surprised with the room. Situated on the fourth floor, we had a balcony with a brilliant view of the harbor and Castello Dell'Ovo. The rooftop terrace was a truly fantastic place to drink and dine and provided sweeping views of the gulf of Naples and the city.

The room was clean with all modern amenities that you would expect. The staff were friendly and very helpful in all of our dealings. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This traditional and classic hotel facing the Bay of Naples, is wonderful. Friendly, polite and helpful staff, nicely decorated rooms, wonderful terrace with a bar, not to miss. Elegance, luxury and pleasure in this wonderful italian city.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a sea view, or one with a balcony. Excellent snacks on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#12 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.