We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121 Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior) (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in a junior suite with a great view of the port. Staff at the front desk was helpful and the bathroom, bed and hospitality were very good. Would recommend this location too for great views and proximity to the main square, restaurants and shopping all in 10mins walk

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    161
    55
    23
    15
See reviews for
89
292
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We used SPG points to stay here and were upgraded to a Junior suite with two small balconies from which you could see the water. The room was amazing. The staff very friendly. We ate at their restaurant on the roof the first night. While the buffet was just okay, the view can't be beat.

My mom thought the rooms weren't quite sound proof enough, but I didn't have any troubles sleeping.

The waterfront area where this hotel is located is very safe and pedestrian only. Lots of nice restaurants. The hotel overlooks the fort and a number of the ships docked. Definitely recommend this place to stay, though it isn't easy (or fast) getting in and out of Naples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On a recent trip to italy we stayed at the Excelsior Hotel in Naples. Breathtaking view of the bay of Naples. The promenade is closed to traffic with lovely little restaurants outside. The hotel breakfast was scrumptious with an outside seating area. During the evening turndown, the floor on each side of the bed was covered with small rugs. The bar and snack food was lovely too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for seven days at this beautiful historic hotel. The front of the hotel is on a street that has been closed to most traffic and faces the Bay of Naples and Castel dell'Ovo. We had a room that did not overlook the bay, but was a corner room with two windows and two balconies. The cross breeze was wonderful and from the balconies. We had two partial water views and a back residential street view. The internet was very iffy in this room - ask the desk for a room with strong internet if this is important to you. I found myself having to go into the hallway to use the internet about half of the time. I paid 30 Euros for a week of internet.

The room service is very good but has a very limited and expensive menu. This hotel does not allow any food delivery into the hotel, however you may bring food in yourself. There are many (mainly pizza) restaurants closeby and a Supero market within walking distance.

Definitely visit the rooftop terrace and the restaurant - even if you do not eat there. The view of the water and Vesuvius is amazing from the rooftop garden of this hotel and offers a perfect photo op.

Explore the main floor and notice the beautiful chandeliers and Bay view from the Salon.

The concierge and front desk staff speak good English and can give you maps and directions. They were amiable enough, but I did not really feel like they cared one way or another about our stay. I was celebrating my birthday during my stay and no mention or amenity was offered, which is unusual for a hotel of this calibre.

The cleaning staff were very thorough and most courteous.

Caution - SOME people in Naples really want your stuff and they even send their children out to get it from you. We were accosted by a very rude street clown and did not venture far because of him and some of the other opportunists. Hold onto your stuff. They are EXPERT THIEVES!

I felt very safe while inside the Hotel Excelsior, not so much otherwise, although this is considered a safe part of the city.

The Hotel Excelsior is an excellent choice in Naples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay with strong wifi A higher floor means less street noise Hold ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights at the Excelsior in Naples. We were very pleasantly surprised with the room. Situated on the fourth floor, we had a balcony with a brilliant view of the harbor and Castello Dell'Ovo. The rooftop terrace was a truly fantastic place to drink and dine and provided sweeping views of the gulf of Naples and the city.

The room was clean with all modern amenities that you would expect. The staff were friendly and very helpful in all of our dealings. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on the higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
387 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This traditional and classic hotel facing the Bay of Naples, is wonderful. Friendly, polite and helpful staff, nicely decorated rooms, wonderful terrace with a bar, not to miss. Elegance, luxury and pleasure in this wonderful italian city.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a sea view, or one with a balcony. Excellent snacks on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Naples was not one of our favorite cities, but it worked perfectly as our first stop on a three week vacation. We took a day trip to Capri and enjoyed a few sites in Naples on the one full day we were there and had a half day city tour on our first day with a private guide. The nice thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Bay (beautiful views), the promenade where there are a ton of restaurants.....no need to taxi anywhere as there is a wide selection for dining within walking distance......good pizza or pasta readily available. We were in room #335 which had beautifully polished hardwood floors. The room was large (540 square feet) and extremely comfortable. Furnishing included a desk and chair and desk lamp, 2 arm chairs and side table, floor lamp, flat panel TV of about 42" with a wide range of channels available. There were twin beds, 2 night stands, 2 lamps.....lighting was fair for reading. A remote control for lights and there are shutters on the exterior of the room that can also be controlled remotely to give you excellent black-out capacity. An entry hall with walk in closet in addition to the square footage in the room. The closet had a five drawer dresser and a 2 drawer dresser with six shelves also...plenty of room for your clothes. They had wood hangers that you could take off of the permanent attachment ring on the closet hanger rod......cumbersome......loose wood hangers that remove easily is a much better solution. The bath room had fair lighting and they supplied an unlit magnifying mirror attached to the wall. Single Marble Pullman Sink of about 8 feet. Marble wand shower that was easy to adjust as part of the tub combo with excellent pressure and no surges in the hot water. Marble floor and walls. Blow Dryer. Toilet and Bidet. About 120 square feet in the bath room. Heated towel rack....great for drying clothes. All in all a well serviced hotel with excellent maids and good concierge desk. Not so sure we would go back to Naples, but we certainly would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 187 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#56 of 187 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#42 of 187 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
Grand Hotel Parker's
#25 of 187 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121 Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Naples
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.