We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good old charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“good old charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Location is just perfect. You can't beat it. Central, but quiet. You know what doest it mean if you are in Napoli.
Staff is pefectly helpful and nice.
Food is ok, but the breakfast terrace is breathaking. Really.
Rooms are just perfect. We had one with a seaview and small balcony.
i would recommend this hotel to you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    141
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
75
264
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Excelsior on the 31st May, the hotel itself is very luxurious and grand but i wouldn't give it a 5 star rating. overall the staff is very friendly and professional but didn't feel very welcomed at reception, kind of a cold approach.... once we had settled in our room and on our way out I spoke to receptionist about the safe not working, she came up to the room to check and said she will send maintenance to repair, which was done promptly. We had a side view room with two doors opening on very small juliette balconies, one of them was covered with bird feaces...I mentioned it to her at the same time and said she will send the cleaners up but wasn't really interested to see for herself what i was talking about. This wasn't done.....(not really a good look for a 5 star ).
Their is no swiming pool at the hotel, but they do provide one at their sister hotel two doors down. Unfortunately it was refurbished at the time so no pool, would have been really annoyed if we had stayed there for 1 week.
The WiFI issue, you can get free wifi in most of restaurant or hotels but not at the Excelsior.
Overall it is a good hotel, but they need to revise their standards to bring it back to a 5 star service like in the old days.

Room Tip: We had room 319, very large confortable room, large bathroom and walking wardrobe area. just a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hard to write this review without coming off as spoilt, but heyho, if you are going to set out to live up to a certain brand then you had better do it! I have been lucky enough to stay in 3 Starwood Luxury Hotels in the last 6 months, partly because my husband is an SPG member and rates their hotels anyway. Our previous two were the Gritti in Venice and the Grand Bretagne in Athens, both of which were amazing experiences and faultless hotels. This wasn't. Not that it's a BAD hotel, it's just average in what it serves up, compared to what they think they are trying to be - yet it still charges the same rates. Started when we turned up in reception and were totally ignored by the manager whilst he bustled around rather distractedly, obviously having some kind of an issue to deal with, with 2 other guests. I don't mind having to wait, but a nod in our direction, and a "momento per favore!" wouldn't have gone amiss....just bear in mind what this hotel purports to be in terms of standards. We were just blanked and waited for about 5 mins before a slightly sulky looking woman turned up to check us in. The hotel is rather 1970s in style and although clean and grand, does look rather dated. The room was fine (nothing special, certainly not the usual Starwood bed) but the bathroom was a bit disappointing. Lots of marble in a retro 70s style (not to be complained about) but a weedy shower (in the bath, not separate) and water that was really only lukewarm. They charge Euro8 for 30 mins on the internet!!! Or Euro 30 for the length of your stay. Get into the 21st century, please! We asked at reception if, as SPG members, we were entitled to free internet and were basically told No, but oh well just this once....we'll give you 8 hours....it worked, but it was all a bit grudging. Breakfast was a nice spread of pastries if that's your thing, the juices were horrible...the type you get in economy on a plane, and the mushrooms and mini sausages looked horrid. Both my husband's coffees were nearly cold on the second morning. I reiterate it deserves no worse than Average, but this hotel is coming adrift from the Starwood brand and most FOH staff need a bit of training in putting their best face forward with customers (and we always tend to put our best face on as guests!). The location isn't great for downtown Naples though we did manage to wear out our shoeleather walking to and from the Archaeological Museum and ditto the Duomo. Not that the location is bad - it's position opposite the Castell d'Uovo means there are some nice restaurants down at Porta Sta. Lucia (??) for the evening. The hotel's roof terrace is very nice. For some reason we had breakfast there one morning and on the ground floor on another morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We managed to get a cheaper rate for this hotel because we are members of the Starwood Preferred Guests programme, and with that rate, this hotel was honestly very worth it for the 5 star quality it is. In fact price-wise it was just slightly more than some of the other 3 star accommodation we stayed elsewhere in Italy, but of course being so much better in terms of quality, service and comfort.
The room was really spacious and luxurious, and with a balcony to a fantastic view (overlooking the bay, with Mt Vesuvius on one side and the city on the other). The staff would do house-keeping twice a day, including once before bed-time.
The breakfast place was on the roof-top and had a lovely view, and the hotel lobby is also really ornately decorated.
Most of all, its in a very safe and peaceful location away from the bustle and griminess of Naples.
(note: actually travelled in April 2013)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have to say at the outset that, owing to some glitch on the hotel's part, we could not get the "deluxe" category room we had reserved, and were instead given a junior suite with balcony, direct view of the charming port, and beautiful bath. This added immeasurably to the pleasure of our 3 night stay in Naples. This room, we were told, would cost E. 500-600 per night, depending on the season.

We were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The bed (very important to us seniors), was excellent, with extra pillows and blankets supplied. There was generous storage space, a safe and fridge, an English newspaper at the door each morning. Breakfast, as others have noted, was included in the price, and superb. All pastries and cakes are made on the premises. The dinner at the hotel is a buffet. Unlike most buffets, the food was not overcooked (possibly because we were there early), there were choices for all courses, and the only problem was that we ate too much, even though we did not eat every course! An a la carte menu would be appreciated, although there are many restaurants at the port where one can eat as little or as much as one wants. The restaurant staff is excellent to a person--friendly and efficient. We wish we could identify all by name, but can mention one, Mario at breakfast, whose good spirits and humor made starting the day a pleasure. The top floor dining area was a beautiful open and covered terrace, planted with a variety of blooming plants and vines with views of the port and sea. We looked forward to eating there.

The concierge staff is available for any assistance, and is likewise, cordial and patient. However, if you like hotels where the concierge actively asks if you need this or that, offers a drink at check-in, etc., you may feel disappointed. We were fine with the availability of the staff when we had a need. For example, on arrival we checked with the hotel's doorman, on the fare our taxi driver had insisted upon from the Central Station to the hotel (E. 25). He said it should only be E. 15, and actively took this position with the driver, so that we paid E. 15.

Housekeeping is superb. The beautiful linen sheets are changed daily, the marble bathroom is pristine, everything works. Drinking water is supplied gratis each day.

Our only criticism is that it seems wrong to be charged at all for internet service at a luxury hotel.

We would be delighted to return to the Hotel Excelsior, and to Naples, which, for all its problems, is a terrific tourist destination.

Room Tip: You can economize by choosing an interior room, or room with a street view, but it's a great ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a very large room overlooking the bay of Naples and were walking distance to restaurants and the pier. It had a couple of small Juliet style balconies. I was thought the 60 Euro charge for an extra be was rather excessive (this was the first Starwood hotel in more than 10 years of gold status that did not waive the extra bed fee, because of my gold status) and I had to repeat asking for my Starwood benefit of free internet, as they seemed as they didn't want to offer it, plus we had to renew every 24 hours. I think the hotel while very nice could use and update and did not seem to have a new bed with a pillow top and duvet as most Starwood hotels do. The breakfast had a good choice and the terrace on top was a nice place to overlook the bay and have a glass of wine or coffee and a snack.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I echo the comments about the Hotel being an oasis from the inviting hustle and bustle of Naples. A price to pay for the oasis is that it is not as convenient to go to different places to visit as it would be if one was staying in the hustle and bustle of the center city. To us it was worth the inconvenience and expense of traveling to the sights from our quiet atmosphere. (If you take a taxi from the hotel, ask the desk to call a taxi for you, as they will get a set price that is fair, compared to negotiating a price yourself.) We also stayed in a seaview room with balcony. We were particularly interested in having chairs, which room 523 has. It was so relaxingto look out on the Bay of Naples, with Vesuvius hovering over the background.

The staff was helpful and while formal, they were also friendly. Housekeeping service was exceptional.

So why only 4 stars. We wee not happy with the breakfast. While the dining room staff were quite charming, the food was not exceptional in comparison to breakfasts we have had in other hotels. The hotel only serves a buffet for dinner. There was a choice of only two entrees, both of which was sitting in a heating dish. The quality and the diversity of the foods was mediocre at best. There is no comparison to eating locally, but it is nice to have a good dining room in a hotel to to when you are too tired to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: We were happy with room 523.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.