We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meraviglioso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meraviglioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For me personnally, the best of the best....spacious rooms, great amenities, and a staff ready to help! After 10 trips to Naples, over the past two years, my every experience has been beyond expectations - the professional resturant staff, especially Mario, Lisa, Paolo, are the best....Alla prossima.

Room Tip: The doorbell is on the Lions nose!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    125
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
71
241
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Everything about this hotel is beautiful. We had our son's Bar Mitzvah service and luncheon here and they were wonderful helping to arrange everything. Our room was wonderful, however the tub/shower is very hard to get in/out of. The staff did bring up a nonskid safety mat. The location is beautiful and the rooftop breakfast area is stunning. Staff was very helpful. Old world charm abounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful four night stay in this beautiful hotel. It is very clean, comfortable with excellent friendly staff. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Of special interest are the rooftop restaurant and bar with stunning views of the magnificent Bay. We really enjoyed our sojourn here and highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I spent almost a month touring Italy for our honeymoon and we spent 2 nights at this hotel, mainly as a base for us to explore Herculaneum, Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii.

What we LOVED about this hotel:-

1) Location - Felt relatively safer here than in the other parts of Naples. We have received lots of warnings on safety in Naples from our friends who have been to Naples as well as the locals! We have been told to stay clear of more shoddy areas and not to venture too far out from the touristy parts of town. We took many walks in the vicinity of Hotel Excelsior by the sea, never venturing too far out at night and it felt perfectly safe.

2) Rooms - We were allocated a room with a balcony and a great view of the harbor. As opposed to the other Italian cities, we actually spent quite a fair bit of time in our room especially after dark and it was a pleasure.

3) Service - Concierge was helpful in recommending and helping us book a day tour to Mt Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum. They also recommended a restaurant for dinner near the hotel by the sea and it was lovely. A live band also played there later on that night. Wonderful experience.

Room for improvement for the hotel:-

1) Shower/ Bathroom - Bad design. Showers are located on top of the bathtub and there are no shower curtains. There is a partition which covers only 1/3 the length of the bathtub but it doesn't really help, so water splashes all around and out of the bathtub whenever we took a shower. Naturally our bathroom always got partially flooded whenever we took a shower.

2) Breakfast - Standard buffet breakfast with a wide selection of food. Our only gripe were that the freshly cut fruits were not covered and there were tons of little flies swarming around. Not appetizing at all.

Aside from the above, I would highly recommend this hotel mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Definitely one with a balcony and on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a grand hotel in the old style. Lush, plush with courteous service and spotless decor. Above all it has the most stunning views over the Bay of Naples out to Mt. Vesuvius - so go for the superior room (with a view). If you are as lucky as we were you might get upgraded to a suite - it was bigger than our flat. Good luck!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is in a super location overlooking the Bay of Naples and Naples Yacht Club. Our room was spacious with a double balcony and a good sized bathroom. The housekeeping service was one of the best we have experienced. Breakfast outside on th terrace was blissful and the service there too was excellent. The food was good and plentiful with a selection of juices and sparkling wine too. Dinner in La Terrasse was also very good. The streets around are traffic free so tehre is very liottle noise. Public transport is a little far away but a 15 minute walk brings you to the main R2 bus route. One gripe was the cost of wifi and the fact that it was not especaiily good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful on the main floor when you check in and the front desk staff a woman that checked us in was very nice. But the hotel rooms are very outdated , up charge for everything , TV, Internet, Room Service breakfast was on time but lacking in quality...located in a very horrible location, traffic is insane, area is shady , but to be positive beautiful views of the ocean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#12 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.