We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are We Really in Naples?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Are We Really in Naples?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior in late March 2013. While we found the rooms rather plain, the view to Capri, Mt. Vesuvius and the harbor certainly made up for that. The two sea view rooms we had were large and comfortable with large, clean ( if somewhat dated) baths.Everything else was wonderful. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating - the front desk was nice, the housekeeping was very good ( our kind housekeeper helped us retrieve something that had we had accidentally thrown away). MASSIMO, the bar tender was terriffic! An elegant man in a crisp white jacket, he made us feel at home and as if we were important guests. While the hotel was a peaceful respite from the chaotic streets of Naples, Massimo really made this place stand out.

We also loved the breakfast on the rooftop with a view to Capri. Here the staff was also very welcoming. I think we were there at the beginning of the "season" and there didn't seem to be a lot of food choices but enough. It didn't seem as if the hotel was very full in March.

The weather was warm&dry. Perhaps because of this and the fact that Via Partenope has recently become traffic free, we did hear people out by the waterfront until the early hours of the morning. If possible, I would recommend putting on the AC and closing your windows on weekend evenings.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk along the waterfront to the ferries to Capri & Ischia and close to Da Ettore Pizza and dell 'Avvocato on Via S. Lucia as well as Piazza Plebescito and the via Chaia as well as some of the high end shopping streets in Chiaia ( a 10-15 minute walk for those who love to walk). We would definitely stay here again especially with children since this area seems less hectic and the hotel more family friendly than some of the (few!) other high end hotels in Naples.

Room Tip: Ask/pay up for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    140
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
75
263
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Old worldy type hotel with good and not so good points. The staff were helpful and friendly especially < I think his name was Max, in the bar and the reception staff who were very helpful in tracing our luggage which appeared two days after we arrived. The rooms are not the prettiest but are very clean and have the amenities you would expect. The bed lined was changed twice a day which , together with a very comfortable bed made of great sleep quality. We had breakfast each day served on our sunny balcony facing across the bay, beautiful. On our late arrival we ordered a round of sandwiches which were 4 large slices of dreadful floppy , white bread cut in half and little or no filling, looked and tasted disgusting. The rooftop restaurant on the other hand is a delight for lunch with great food and wonderful views.
Mostly this hotel was good but needs to catch up with standards of others in their star rating

Room Tip: Ask for a side street with a balcony room overlooking the volcano, a fabulous place to take breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would give this place (a 3 instead of the 2 I considered briefly), because they were quick to help rectify a guest-count issue at check in (no fault of theirs- Starwood website defaults to 1 guest when changing searches)

Now, to explain the remaining score of 2.

One for the location (like the other hotels on that street but with a corner location). One for the daytime concierge (also top notch and took his time to explain stuff and the reasons for it- well done!).

Rooms are disappointing. Furnishings are staid. Sound proofing is one of the worst encountered at such a hotel- we could hear next door showers, toilets, people (and on our last night there, from 11pm-1:00am!)

The 7th floor restaurant (also had breakfast buffet there on the days we were there- normally downstairs) and 8th floor bar offer fantastic views, so may be you could check those out over a drink/meal and not stay at the hotel to experience these.

The breakfast service was terrible at best. On Day 1, we asked for a baby seat and got one with food all over it that we proceeded to clean ourselves. Someone came to address only when they saw us do it. On Day 2, we asked for a baby seat and were told it was on its way. It showed up 20 mins into breakfast. Our 2-yr old, like most, prefers not to wait 20 minutes after they sight their first meal of the day. We were looking forward to our coffee on EasyJet (yes!) on the flight back, because it was warmer than what this hotel serves. The buffet itself is disspointing for a hotel of the claimed calibre. No fresh counters (pre-made scrambled and boiled eggs). Juices were not fresh or natural- flavoured/pre-made/canned variety. Only two types of sliced bread, one of which ran out on both days and was only replaced when asked. Glasses for Prosecco, but Prosecco bottle replenished once in a while. In short, not becoming of a Luxury Collection hotel.

Lastly, I have to admit that this review is contrary to this hotel's rating of being rated the second best in Naples. May be we were unlucky, or may be, if this really is the second best, it's slim pickings on hotels in Naples!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first stay ion Naples and only stayed three nights. This hotel was very nice, clean rooms and all of the expected amenities. Beautiful location, right across from the old fort. nice sunrise location for breakfast. I was there in January so there was little activity and few people but the stories of summer sound very interesting. There are many food opportunities close by. All with good food and great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeB50
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We chose the Excelsior Hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We also upgraded to sea view again well worth the little extra, views to die for.
You know you've made the right choice of hotel when you first walk through the entrance It is a definite WOW factor. We arrived very early and was prepared to leave suitcases and go out and about but was told it would only be an hour so we went into the lounge to have a drink and relax and take in the absolute splendor and beauty of the rooms and views out of the beautiful windows to Mount Vesuvius and the surrounding area
An hour later we were shown to our room on the 6th floor with a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table and view of a small harbour, a Castle & the island of Capri in the distance. side view of Mount Vesuivius All breathtaking.
The room had large wardrobe, safe and 6 small drawers, just inside the door to room with bathroom just off the corridor with bath, large sink and mirror, toilet and bidet. and I'm afraid my pet hate a small hairdryer the sort that gets hot in your hand after a short use and you have to keep your finger on to use. No use whatsoever for a lady to style her hair.
The bedroom was large with high ceilings 2 french doors to balcony, 2 single beds fixed together to form one large bed. 2 bedside cabinets, a desk/dressing table but no mirror, and a chest of drawers with mirror over .All furniture was of a high standard in keeping with age and style of this wonderful hotel. A modern TV on a glass TV stand. A fridge with mini bar and nibbles which we didn't use as we preferred to go to the hotel bar where the service was wonderful and every drink was accompanied with a trio of nibbles, or hot drinks accompanied with pastries.Utter luxury and service The bar tenders who were very professional knowledgeable and so friendly Pure pleasure.
We brought our travel kettle as my husband has to have a coffee first thing in the morning and there was not one in the room which we knew before we went .I will be bringing my hair dryer next time we go. as I didn't realise the hairdryer they provided was in the bathroom. And we will go back as the Excelsior is one of the rare hotels you have to go back to its Perfect.
The Excelsior is in a really good position for sight seeing and within walking distance of many of the sights which reception pointed out to us on the map provided when we checked in.Also the promenade is perfect for walking along after the wonderful meals we had during our stay in the hotel and surrounding restaurants and cafe's
Breakfast was included in the price we paid for our room, was of a very high standard with everything you could possibly need, hot and cold buffets, with pastries, toast, cakes, fresh fruit in abundance All served in the most sumptuous surroundings and as much tea, coffee all kinds, hot chocolate and fruit juices, even 'Processco if you wanted a treat.
The absolute best thing apart from luxury surrounds of this wonderful hotel is the Staff so professional and friendly thank you All for making this a perfect break away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior over the New Years holiday and were most pleased with the experience. First, its location on the Bay of Naples, across from the Castel dell'Ovo, affords magnificent views of Vesuvius and, at greater distance, Capri. Second, the quality of the rooms, including the public rooms, is excellent. The bedchambers are capacious and decorated in classic style; The public rooms are lovely and perfectly maintained. Service in the bright, beautiful breakfast room and at the front desk is efficient and friendly, although Americans might find the polite reserve less than warm. We appreciated the professionalism and found personnel to be most accommodating at every turn. A note about the breakfasts (included in our room rate of around $400.00 per night): The choices were broad and of high quality. We ordered at least two cappuccinos each for no additional charge and should also note that egg and meat dishes were available, as well as numerous pastries, fruit, and yogurt.

In conclusion, we found the Excelsior to be one of the best hotels we have visited over the years. Its prices are quite reasonable for a hotel of such quality, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Make certain to choose a room with a balcony overlooking the water. Enjoy a stroll along the Via Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

With a room with a view on the gulf, one would want to stay there forever. The noise of the city is far away, the sky and sea blue, the Vesuvius and the islands on the horizon. Breathtaking! And it brings memories of old movies... you can almost expect to meet Ingrid Bergman in the lobby. Service is impeccable and competent. A patina of old style permeates the ambiance, something that many big chain hotels do not have or have lost.

Room Tip: Ask gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
#12 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.