We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat in a noisy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat in a noisy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the peace and calm from the moment we entered the building. Found the staff to be friendly, professional and helpful. The public areas of the hotel are maintained to a very high standard as are the rooms and the view from the rooftop restaurant is simply stunning. Special mention must go to Massimo, the bartender on the ground floor, who was extremely knowledgeable and introduced us to some wonderful local wines plus made us feel extremely welcome.
We stay in many similar standard hotels around Europe on a regular basis, but have found this hotel to be one of the best and will definitely be staying again should we return to Naples.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    125
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
71
241
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just spent 5 nights at the Excelsior. Such a stunning hotel with great elegant past. The public rooms are really beautiful with chandeliers, and the hotel throughout is so sparkling and clean. Breakfast has a wide variety both hot and cold buffet. Staff friendly and helpful especially Franco in reception. Rooms large and spacious (we were on the 5th floor with balcony overlooking the bay). The views from the roof garden are unforgetable.Expensive we know but worth every penny for a special stay. Lovely part of Naples situated on the seafront with a taxi bay 5 mins from the hotel for convenience. Had the best sleep here from all the other hotels we have stayed at in Italy. The beds were so soft and lovely pillows, sheets and bedding spotless and crisp. All in all would recommend and we will definately stay here again when we come to Naples

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view as this hotel is in such a wonderful postition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
1,190 helpful votes 1,190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Extremely nice, old and eccentric hotel located right on the waterfront in the old town of Naples. Most of the hotel is in original condition, but very well maintained and in 5 star classic ambiance. Truly exceptional hotel as far a appearance an sleep quality, view and elegance for the price of the room. But everything else in the hotel is expensive and not worth it. Breakfast on the top floor terrace was included with our room price. Glad too because the breakfast was not very good at all, had little to choose from, and very pricey if you had to pay for it. It is ala-cart and a typical example would be toast for €12; coffee at €10 and a latte will set you back €16. There are no coffee makers or hot kettles in the room to make your own coffee. Every hotel I have stayed in have these basic items, but they want you to order room service where the prices listed above nearly double. The room does come with a fully stocked mini bar that has obscene prices though. Gym in the hotel is almost nothing with just a couple of items for exercise.
What I noticed most about this hotel and all of Naples it that it is very "Tip Oriented". Everyone wants to open a door for you, or roll your bag 10 meters for you (as if you could not do it yourself), hail you a taxi, or pull out your chair for you to sit. But they all expect and wait around for a tip. Been to over 150 countries and havent seen the magnitude of this until I came to Naples.
Taxis use the meter and are required, but there is always some reason (in Italian) why the fare is €-5-10 over what the meter says. Arguing with them is a waste of time. I have come to the conclusion all taxi drivers worldwide (except England) have the same mother and are all related somehow. Taxi from the airport to this hotel is even listed in the taxi stand as €23. But trust me, it wont be.
Other than a few negatives, the hotel is fabulous and a great place to stay. All the rooms have a great view. If you want a coffee in the morning just walk out the front door and turn any direction and walk 50 meters and you can find it for €2, excluding tip, of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's in a good location in Naples. Rooms are quite large, bed and pillows really comfy. Complimentary toiletries are quite good - I don't normally use them, but theirs is good and smelled lovely. Service is good as well, although some staff may appear 'cold'. Turn down service is available.The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a good spread of cold meat, cheese, choice of two eggs, hot sausages, various cakes, bread, fruits, yogurts, fruit juice, proseco (yes for breakfast!) and of course coffee. You can also order from the breakfast menu for extra charge, however we found the breakfast buffet enough.
Three minor issues I have: There is no free wifi (at this day and age, I know!) and for 30 minutes you have to pay, if I remember correctly, 3 euros. They have a business centre where you can use their pcs and printers although you need to purchase their wifi to use them. If you need to print your boarding pass, you can ask the staff at the reception to print it for you. Next, they have no iron in the room (and they don't provide one either). If you want your clothes to be ironed, you have to have it washed and their laundry service is quite expensive. Finally, as the rooms are not carpeted, we could hear all the banging and steps from room above (we were on the 3rd floor), it didn't cause any major grief, but for the price of each room, I would have thought they are well soundproofed.
They have a fitness centre, too, but it is very basic (weights and treadmill), and you need to let the staff at the reception know you are going to use it as they will issue you with a card. My partner was the only one who used it when we stayed there. The hotel can also arrange a taxi if you are going early to the airport. Note that it taxi will cost about 25 euros from the airport (that's on meter).
In summary, a good, albeit pricey hotel in a city that I can only describe as "interesting".

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay and Mt. Vesuvius - we didn't and we had a street view. We didn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Located in the safe area of town with lots of shops in walking distance. Lovely balconies and an unbelievable view. Great service, comfortable beds. Loved the place! Perfect for when you are in transit to Capri, they will organize the boat trip, pickups and will recommend the best restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

In early October my wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel Excelsior a grand hotel overlooking Castel dell’Ovo, and the Bay of Naples, with stunning roof-top views of Vesuvius and the Isle of Capri. This was our last stop on a long journey, and despite being somewhat jaded after many weeks in different hotels, (see, e.g. our recent reviews of the Hotel Villa Ducale, Eremo della Giubiliana, Villa Sicilia Baglio, Hotel Villa Igiea, and the Hotel Signum) we were extremely pleased with the quality, service and relative value of the Hotel Excelsior.

The hotel is a Belle Époque structure that appears to have been well maintained, and in the case of our generously sized room, clearly updated and refreshed – marble bathrooms, linen sheets, period furniture, but with all of the modern conveniences. The location was ideal for exploring Naples, and yet provided a safe and calm neighborhood to return to; the Via Partenope where the hotel is located is closed to automobile traffic, and is also the home of several other significant hotels, and many seaside restaurants and cafés. The hotel manages to be a “Grand Hotel” without being stuffy.

While we did not eat at the hotel, we did visit the rooftop bar on several occasions. Remarkable views of the city, Vesuvius, and the Bay of Naples (picture attached). Very reasonably priced drinks considering the views and the accompanying dishes of marinated, caper-like vegtables, nuts and tarallini (a wonderful cracker/cookie-like baked product more typical of Puglia).

The front desk staff were uniformly professional, gracious and helpful, and the white tablecloth breakfast service similarly, professional and efficient. Retrieving our car from valet, an ordeal at many hotels, was rapid. Our only minor complaint, was the less-than-reliable wifi and a €10 per 24 hours per device charge. Why is it that luxury hotels charge for wifi when many hotels, indeed even much lower priced chains, offer it for free? Why not charge for each ride in the elevator as well? But, overall, the Hotel Excelsior provides a luxury, high-end experience at a reasonable price and an inviting oasis to return to after the intensity of exploring Naples.

Room Tip: Facing the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a great time on our recent vacation to Naples. The staff were wonderful. The rooftop bar had beautiful views and great bartenders. The rooms were clean. We liked the hardwood floors instead of carpet. You could see Capri in the distance from our room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#12 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.