We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We only stayed here for one night; this hotel is perfect for a stop-over, actually better than that since it lives up to its reputation of belonging to the leading hotels of the world. The service is very efficient and friendly. The location is perfect, since it is across from the castle and the water, plus it is on the strip that everyone strolls on, yet not right in there that it is too loud. It is also across from many restaurants, many tasty local restaurants. Our favourite was Ristorante Pizzeria la Scialuppa. Excellent atmosphere and food, actually the best pizza we tasted in all of Italy. Naples is not known for the birthplace of pizza for nothing!

Back to the hotel, compared to the other five-stars I stayed in during our Italy/Greece trip, it doesn't stand out as much, but I had no complaints while I was there. I doubt you will too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetLife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a stay in Naples overnight to go to the Opera. This hotel was perfect. We were upgraded to a lovely suite with a fantastic view. The reception and concierge staff were excellent, and we were only sorry that we were not staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location! A bit annoyed we had to pay 15 Euros each to use the pool, especially as there were four of us. Would expect a hotel of this standard to include this in the price!! Our room was quite dated, Ok for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

A room upgrade by Francesca on Reception ensured we had a wonderful break at this fabulously grand hotel set right on the front of the Via Partenope, where everyone comes to stroll in the evening before visiting one of the many excellent restaurants locally. Our suite had an amazing view over the Castell D'll Ovio and was extremely comfortable. The marble bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was needed after a few days of shopping and sightseeing. Personal touches such as spa bath salt, night cream and a personal spa assistant meant this was a thoroughly pampering and relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Sea views and ask for the presidential floor on level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel lobby and the main areas are dated but the room we stayed at was modern and renovated.
Service was very good
Overall a great place to stay for a stop over in Napoli.
The view of the water and the spacious room are fantastic. Breakfast is very nice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfrombh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night here on our way from Positano to Venice. (Rainbow Limos transferred us from Positano to Naples and we highly recommend them) The hotel is situated on the waterfront and the location is amazing! Our room overlooked the water with a balcony and its great to relax there with a wine watching the world go by! Directly across from the hotel are great bars and restaurants to enjoy the night and it has a great vibe! 2nd time at this hotel and will always stay here when visiting Naples!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is in a very good central location, a short walk to Plebiscito Square, main shopping areas and also 15 minutes walk to the Pier where you can take the ferry to the nearby islands such as Capri and Ischia. It is right on the front promenade where all the locals go for a stroll between sunset and late evening, to 2 am or later! Around the hotel you will find plenty of restaurants and cafes to choose from.
We booked a Sea View Queen room, it was of a reasonable size, well appointed and clean. The air conditioning system was effective, the shower powerful enough and the bed very comfortable. The only down side is that the mini bar only works if the room key card is in the slot, so if you spend too much time outside you will have hot drinks in the fridge when you come back to your room!
Although the promenade in front of the hotel can be very noisy until late hours, it is fair to mention that once you close your window and shutter you won’t hear anything inside your bedroom. The room is very good for people watching, you just need to sit on your bed or step onto the balcony to get amused with everything that happens on the promenade until late! We found the mums in their short skirts and very high heels pushing their prams at 2 am something very amusing...only in Italy!
The breakfast was good enough and the service throughout the hotel was friendly and of a good standard.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
#19 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#3 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#62 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Grand Hotel Parker's
#26 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing