We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Naples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One night in Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Upon our arrival David (Concierge) informed us that we had been upgraded from a sea view room to a corner suite (531) with sea views on both sides. It was all uphill from there. This is a very lovely hotel and the staff (valet/bell person/housekeeping/etc) went out of their way to make sure we felt at home. I needed a electrical outlet close to the bed and the engineer was there in no and completely resolved my issue. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    185
    46
    15
    13
See reviews for
82
284
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our room was not large, but big enough, and it was perfectly and classically decorated, and beautifully maintained, with every detail thought through. Our small balcony looked directly over the marina at the Castel dell-Ovo and the Bay of Naples, with Capri in the distance and Vesuvius just visible off to our left. The breakfast buffet included a stunning fresh ricotta, and some of the best tiny pastries I have ever had. Staff were unfailingly cheerful, helpful and professional, with good English skills. In the best possible way, it felt as if nothing had changed since Humphrey Bogart and Grace Kelly stayed there (except for the free WiFi throughout the hotel!). I would happily have stayed for a week.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after our reservation at another hotel fell through. The staff was very nice & helpful. The hotel is very big, and in my opinion, the style is dated. Our room was immaculate, but the decor reminded us of a James Bond boat, which was fun and interesting. While it was pricey, I do suggest staying in a nice hotel like this one if you are traveling to Naples for the first time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We enjoyed the view each time we walked outside the hotel. The decor was outdated. The food was very good. The rooms were very clean. As well the staff were very accommodating. The location was great. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I have been traveling in italy for a few months and decided to take a quick weekend trip to Naples with our 16 year old daughter for the weekend. We found the Grand Vesuvius on trip advisor and based on the reviews decided to give it a try. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of the staff as well as the great location of the property. In particular, Enzo at the front desk made us feel like welcomed guests. Check in was a breeze and we were shown to our room which was even better than we had expected. It was a large (by european standards) room with a king bed and a roll away set up for our daughter! While we didn't pay for a sea view room, the location of our room was such that we had a beautiful sea view from the balcony which was a great treat! The room was comfortable and clean and had bathrobes and slippers--always a nice touch. The breakfast was beautifully presented and there was plenty of friendly staff to clear plates and refresh food items that were running low. The area that they serve breakfast in offers a beautiful sea view as well! They offer hot and cold items, fruit, cereal, pastries and even champagne! As we came and left throughout the day, enzo greeted us by name checking to make sure that our stay was going well! He was even good enough to make a spa reservation for us upon our departure to another city that we were traveling to! There were many things that Enzo and the staff did for us throughout our stay to make this a great experience for us! I would most definitely return.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is unbelievable. The staff is so welcoming and the scenery is stunning. The room service was amazing! I ordered room service and not only was the customer service amazing, but the food was delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The title just about sums up our 3-day stay at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be courteous, accommodating and welcoming at all times. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a slightly larger room...actually a suite. This was a nice treat, but a double-edged sword. The suite overlooked via Santa Lucia on the 2nd floor. The street below is a taxi hub where, at any time, you can find 20-30 taxis and their drivers. The drivers are quite loud at all hours of the night and early morning...so noise was a mild irritant. The hotel and room are elegant and classic, housekeeping was efficient and attentive. Breakfast was good in a beautiful setting. As a side note, we stayed there, as it happened, along with the British tennis team who were challenging Italy in a Davis Cup tournament.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor and not bordering on via Santa Lucia as per my note above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#8 Family Hotel in Naples
#9 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.