We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with average facilities but service was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average hotel with average facilities but service was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked a suite with sea view and the room was just average. Nothing special and actually really out dated. The staff were very nice and the location is great.

The breakfeast was decent and like I mentioned the location is excellent and our view from our room was great.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    203
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
89
319
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ALISO viejo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed the view each time when walking out of the hotel! The decor is a bit dated but the breakfast buffet is awesome! I can probably spend good numbers of hours to enjoy the great selection of the food, the cappuccino and the fascinating view! The rooftop restaurant is great but costly though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riegelsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was to be the premier hotel of hotels during our entire trip to Italy. We booked to stay one night due to its proximity to Teatro San Carlo and location on the water. Location was undoubtedly good but most everything else was disappointing. Upon arrival we were luxuriously greeted and taken care of, only to be nickle and dimed for things like internet access. Are u serious?!?....we've stayed in much lesser hotels with free wifi and this is a five star?! Only when we were obviously disgruntled did they offer it to us for a "generous" 8 hrs. PLEASE!

So, lets just talk about our gym and pool experiece. First off, what pool experiece?....we never saw it...it was closed on Sunday...huh? The gym you may find if you take the staff elevator by accident (and i wasn't the only one). It was small, stuffy and their wasn't any staff to be found. Needless to say I ditched and went running outside which was delightful.

The room was ok but I really thought I would be wowed. It seemed a bit outdated and I was most surprised at the "do-it-yourself" calking job around the tub. Attention to detail overall seemed to be lacking.

On a lighter note, the inclusive breakfast was expansive with options for everyone. That most definitely was the highlight of this hotel and it's my understanding their restaurant is also very good. I will say we got a pretty good deal because we visited during the off season, but IMO they should not make cuts in quality/service for this deal, at the expense of their guests. Not bad but just an average hotel wearing the big boy 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I searched and searched for a hotel on Trip Advisor for a post Christmas visit to Naples and the Amalfi coast. I found Gran Hotel Vesuvio. It is a grand dame from last century in terms of location (on the coast facing Castel Dell'Ouvo).

Check in started out ok but then the room that they provided had a water problem in the bath. The staff tried to reassign us to another room but the other rooms were not as nice and didn't have the space nor the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. We waited in the hall for our room to be repaired and cleaned. We waited for our key. Our check-in front desk staffer never came upstairs to finish the task requiring me to call and request a key. I only mention this because on multiple occasions the front desk said that they would do something (call back with a restaurant reservation) but never did until I called or went downstairs.

The room we finally received was plush, updated and featured a large marble bath (yes with jacuzzi) and a commanding view of the Mediterranean.

The breakfast alone is worth a return visit to Gran Hotel Vesuvio. Any place that serves fresh buffalo mozzarella as well as buffalo ricotta for breakfast each morning is a plus for me. the baked goods are fresh each morning. The fruit was fresh and ripe. There are also fresh juices and an assortment of eggs, another Western breakfast fare. What sets apart this breakfast though is the service. The manager of the breakfast dining room is classy, accommodating, highly receptive to your needs as a guest and works hard alongside very efficient and handsome staff.

The Restaurant Caruso is not to be missed for dinner. Again, the manager and team are highly efficient, accommodating, receptive to your needs and nice to be around. The foods are exquisite and also worth a return to the hotel.

Wifi is at a cost to the visitor.

Would I stay here again for pleasure? Yes of course. Would I stay here for business? Again, yes most certainly.

Room Tip: Be sure to splurge for a water view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful scenic view in the Gulf and very well positioned to go sightseeing in the monument area (including spaccanapoli and S. Gregorio Armeno). Delicious breakfast buffet with local "patisserie" like baba' and caprese cake (almond and chocolate).

Rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. We always had very warm welcome.

Room Tip: Some suites are really huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

To begin we got an upgrade to a suite overlooking the bay with views of Mt.Vesuvius and Castel Lobo. The room was wonderful. It was large with a very comfortable bed. There were controls for all the lights and curtains as well as the storm shutters. The marble floors in the bathroom was very attractive. The bathroom is sufficiently large for two people to use. The breakfast was sumptuous. We had expected a dowdy hotel and were pleasantly surprised with a fully modern five star hotel.
The only problem is the shower. There is a glass door that did not seal very well and the floor got wet after a shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First trip to italy with family and friends - we had organised a magnificent tour of the country through a local based company which set up an amazing 10 day trip, including 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. A bit expensive but high quality. Personell nice and food amazing!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.