We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at the Grand Albergo Vesuvio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Two nights at the Grand Albergo Vesuvio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Probably the best hotel we ever stayed at, and we did stay at some great hotels.
We had a suite overlooking the sea and an old castle.
The two rooms were exquisite in modernized "old-style" decor with fabric on the walls. Phones were located on every table. Most comfortable beds. The bathroom was luxurious with every amenity imaginable - even tooth brushes.
We had room service the first night. A beautiful table with a rose in a vase was put in front of the beautiful view of the sea. Food was most delicious and beautifully served. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet.
A box of cookies was left for us as a gift.
The staff was very kind and attentive.
Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    203
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
89
319
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Whilst a little way out of town the excellent bus service serves our needs well....just as well as there are no pavements to walk into town and the taxi costs 20 euros
The breakfast was a little disappointing but probably on par with the rest of Italy. The hotel itself is very clean and they provide pool towels for their lovely large pool. Even though we stayed at peak time it is refreshing to always be able to get beds
Worthy of note you can buy Sita bus tickets for amalfi from reception to save queuing at the bus station. If you are going to Pompeii do take drinks and snacks with you as there is nowhere to buy them once inside

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed with 6 of our family for 2 nights. Rooms were very clean, gorgeous, with wonderful view. The location is excellent, just in front of the Egg Castle, and very convenient to visit the centre of the city. Staffs were really friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very very delicious, with wonderful Napolitan foods, such as Baba, Buffalo Cheese, and so on. We all would like to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have just returned back from the Grand Hotel Vesuvio ,and found it quite disappointing. I have visited quite a few leading hotels in the world and this one certainly did not live up to the standard of the others. On arrival at 10 o'clock in the evening, there was no porter to help unload our luggage, on check in, the front desk were fine but nothing special. The location of the hotel was very good though, within walking distance to shops and historical sites and had fabulous view over the Castle Delluovo .The rooms were fine and clean but not to our taste and slightly on the small side. Our quality of sleep was very good no noise despite the fact the hotel is quite central. In the mornings we decided to have breakfast in the hotel, there was a good selection of fruit etc. Every evening before dinner we would have a drink in the bar, the bar staff were delightful and very efficent. One day we decided to go to the indoor pool and gym. The gym was free had good equipment and great view out of the window but we did not realise that you have to pay an extra 15 euros for the pool, for a hotel of this calibre I would expect the pool to be free. Overall ,the hotel suited our needs but could do with some improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Naples can be scary, disorganised and chaotic. It was great to stay in Grand Hotel Vesuvio during our weekend trip to explore Naples, Pompei and Capri. Great location on the seafront, good breakfast, comfortable if smallish rooms, lots of amenities, great views from the balcony. All staff is very curteous, knowledgeable and helpful. The front desk very effectively helped to arrange several trips for us. Thank you Vezuvio for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for only one night prior to leaving Italy. I regret that we didn't spend more time there. Naples is beautiful and it's constantly improving. The area surrounding the hotel is in one of the best areas of town. Go there. Get out. Explore. You'll be pleasantly surprised if you haven't been there before.

The hotel is a true classic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially the front desk. We had a sea view room. Large and comfortable. Great shower. Great bed. My only complaint is that they charge for wi-fi. Other than that, it was great.

If you go to Naples, stay here, you'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived from Calabria via train and took a taxi to the hotel. Cost was approx. EUR 20.
Upon arrival there was a doorman to greet us and depsite the 90+ degree weather, he was sharply dressed in a proper uniform. Our check-in was pleasant and after being escorted to our room, the bags arrived literally within two minutes. We had a room facing the Bay of Naples and the views are just stunning! This is a true Grand European Hotel that continues to hold on to it's past (perfectly!) while providing guests with modern touches. The staff is attentive to a guests every need. You should have a drink in the bar and dinner in the stunning rooftop restaurant. Breakfast is served on the first or second floor with those special bay-water views and an impressive array of choices. A stop by the pool and a special massage will melt away any stress! When we left, we actually felt sad that our stay was not longer. We will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room facing the Bay of Naples and plan on dinner in the rooftop restaurant with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.