We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Vesuvio to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lots of style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visited Naples with my family in the middle of August.we took a seaview room and a non seaview room. Hotel is down by the seafront opposite an ancient castle that is ringed by decent restaurants catering to tourists and local a-like. Outside the hotel the road was closed to traffic for a mile a so with joggers and cyclist making use of the space. The hotel is very elegant and classical in style .It looked as though it had been refurbsihed it was in such good condition. Rooms were also beautiful and spacious. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.Our room was at the front of the hotel and was quiet overnight.The gym ,spa and pool area are top class although be warned that if you wish to use anything but the gym there is a €15 per person charge.Internet access is also charged for. The staff were very friendly and courteous. When we were there the much famed rooftop restaurant was shut(due to summer holidays) and the swimming pool was open on limited hours and closed on sunday (as was most of Naples) Breakfast was beffitting for the 5 star hotel this is. We didn't eat but we did have some cocktails which I would recommend ! If there wasn't a charge for the internet and we had been given advance notice of the restaurant being shut I would have given this hotel maximum marks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    204
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
89
321
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in a good location. If you are arriving in your own car a recent pedestrianisation and one way system means it is a little tricky to get too but the lack of traffic outside is a bonus once you get there and the hotel has valet parking, at a cost. If you don't have your own transport here is a taxi stand just round the corner a few metres.The Caruso restaurant was closed when we were there so we only had breakfast but there are plenty of dining options in easy walking distance. Naples as a city may not be everyonne's cup of tea but if you are going to stay there I suspect you will find it hard to do better than the Vesuvio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

i loved this luxurious hotel-really nice location and very helpful staff. good view and a couple of really terrific restaurants are right across the street. there is also a taxi stand right next to the hotel. i look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

a really nice location, with wonderful views. We stayed in a beautiful and luxurious room, spacious and well furnished.
all staff was impeccable and every request was esaudita.good breakfast and restaurant.
great location for visiting the most beautiful towns in the Mediterranean
we'll be back in October when the temperature will be more good.
thanks for all

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our third stay at this Hotel and it was again another excellent experience. Our suite had a spectacular view of the Castle Dell'Ovo and the Golf. The Hotel is situated in the best location within walking distance of the restaurants and shops. The room was very well decorated, clean with access to various balconies overseeing the water. Very comfortable bed and great toiletries and amenities in the room. The buffet breakfast had a variety of wonderful choices and all of it is quite delicious. We found the staff here very warm, hospitable and pleasant and they made our pre teen son feel very welcome as well. It is the perfect place to stay in Napoli.

Room Tip: request a view of the Castle Dell'Ovo and Golf. it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We have 3 kids and an aupair that travel with us so it's difficult to feel like we fit in at times in nice hotels. Vesuvio was very welcoming, and everyone in the family enjoyed the stay.

Dinner was excellent and welcoming to our children. Great location just across from the castle, with beautiful views of the water and castle. We'd definitely choose this hotel on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The perfect place to stay if you want to be in naples. I know all about service because 1. I work with it. 2. I stayed in many leading hotels all around the world.
I surprised my wife with a trip to Italy for our 5th wedding anniversary. 2 nights at Grand Hotel Vesuvio and 2 nights at another hotel in Amalfi. We got an upgrade to a beautiful suite with amazing views. 2 days before arrival I had some requests about the room to surprise my wife and it was no problem for them. The best of all was that they did not even mention anything about money, so proffessional! Really good toiletries. Wonderful breakfast with proffessional staff. The roof restaurant was very good too. Room service was fast. Cleaning was perfect. Bed, towels and everything was perfect. Lovely balconies. Huge windows but you could black-out the room totally. Many nice electronic functions that were in many places in the room to always be in reach of your hand. For example you could open the door from the bed or put on the "do not disturb". We WILL come back!

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.