We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Gregorio Armeno

San Gregorio Armeno
Piazzetta San Gregorio Armeno 1 | Spaccanapoli, Naples, Italy (Pendino)
081/5520186
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$198*
and up
Private Tour: Naples Sightseeing by Vespa
Ranked #12 of 197 Attractions in Naples
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tradition of representing the Holy Family as true art lives on in this narrow street, which is crowded on both sides with hundreds of artisan workshops with colorful displays of Nativity scenes.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had read about the street full of presepi and a Christmasy atmosphere but also the tacky statues. Just as expected. Quite a pleasant experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    500
    98
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You will never see these beautiful handcrafted pieces anywhere else. I know because I have looked everywhere before finally flying back to Naples to complete my nativity set. It took me 5 years but It was worth it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“What a sight!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

San Gregorio Armeno is hidden away behind these gates in a side street as there are nuns living there and what a delightfully helpful group they are!!!!!!!

You access the church via a beautifully painted gallery and step into a massive hallway that leads to the massive garden and dormitories for the nuns. But step away from other groups of tourists as a mad woman guide might make a huge fuss of you if you do not have your shoulders covered in the 30 degrees celsius rather than give you a shawl. I had to run from such a woman guide and her group of old women, only to be welcomed by a nun from Phillipines who was more than helpful and gave me a private tour, saying she will have a word with my abuser. The peace and kindness of the nun probably recognised my dedication and volunteering work for different causes........ although we come from such different backgrounds.

Do not miss San Gregorio Armeno when in Napoli.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for Presepio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Beside plenty of beautiful art pieces handcrafted, you cannot miss a Presepio for Christmas time to place in your home and to show to your friends which will show themastonished...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“s.gregorio armeno magik place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

s.gregorio armeno magik place, i was spend my younger period of my life around here, and stillkeep a lot of experience iside my self...always in my heart.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gregorio Armeno also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to San Gregorio Armeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gregorio Armeno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.