We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes I wonder whether I am visiting the same place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Del Professore

Caffe Del Professore
Piazza Trieste e Trento 46, 80132 Naples, Italy
081-40-30-41
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Coffee & Tea in Naples
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Sometimes I wonder whether I am visiting the same place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Not expecting to be in Naples we had not read up on the TA reviews so it was only when we arrived home that we read the earlier reviews. Did we actually visit the same place as those reviewers? We received splendid friendly service, enjoyed possibly the finest iced tea we have tasted anywhere in Italy, relaxed and people-watched for best part of an hour, all at a more than reasonable cost. Sometimes we feel people criticise for the sake of criticising and fail to remember that caffes such as this are just that - caffes. They have no pretensions.They exist to provide snacks and drinks at reasonable cost and this, the Professore, certainly does.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    201
    78
    45
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist Tax. AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

5 Euros for a tiny glass of orange juice. Do not go here! Taking advantage of tourists! Everything on the menu was reasonable, but anything else, coffe, juice etc, is an absolute rip off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Coffee I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hands down the best coffee I have ever had! Ask for the "Café del nonno" and prepare to melt. Our teacher recommended it to us because of its history and apparently it was iconic in the city of Naples....well it was worth the trip!!! AMAZING coffee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Their hazelnut coffee is to die for....The staff is very professional and it is a historical cafe to visit for Naples. I would highly recommend to try this coffee place when you visit Naples.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Could have been better !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After lunch we went to get an espresso at this bar close to the famous Gambrinus Bar and Piazza Plebiscito. All of us had an espresso which was pleasant but a little bitter (not in the Starbuck sense). I asked my friends, who had already tasted the espresso in the morning at the Bar Mexico, which one they preferred and without hesitation they opted for the morning one. What is interesting to notice is that every Cafe in Italy and particularly in Naples, easily serves 10 espresso in a minute (in London it is the reverse -1 espresso every 10 minutes ). Even when they have their backs to you and they are busy they are still able to take your next order. To watch the staff, it is like a jugglers act.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Del Professore also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Province of Naples, Campania
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Caffe Del Professore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Del Professore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.