We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria da Antonio

Osteria da Antonio
Via Depretis 143, 80133 Naples, Italy
+39 (0)815510138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 1,872 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $35 - $140
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is pretty much across the street from Calata San Marco and right before Piazza Municipo.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Checked into our hotel-the Renaissance. The person at the desk recommended the restaurant. It was an easy walk. When we got there we found a charming place. We were a little leary upon entering because at that point (7:30 PM), we were the only diners, but we know that Europeans eat later. Well, Antonio came and greeted us and what came next was one of the most pleasurable experiences we have encountered while traveling in Italy. Antonio's food was delicious. Within minutes of our arrival the restaurant was packed. Antonio speaks 7 languages so it was quite the united nations. We enjoyed Antonio and the food so much that we reserved for our 2nd night. Although, Antonio did not know us from a hole in the wall, he cooked a meal that my husband requested-especially for him. Antonio had no way of knowing if we would indeed return but this is the kind of person he is. On our 2nd night, a tourist from St Petersburg, Russia (another repeat diner from past year) presented him with a book of poetry which Antonio proudly displayed. These 2 nights dining in his restaurant were certainly one of the main highlights of our trip. We now have a new friend in Naples-Antonio!!! Bravo!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    120
    32
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice people, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The restaurant we had planned to visit was closed, so we walked down towards another Pizzeria and saw Osteria da Antonio. The place is very small with tables shoehorned in, but a nice ambiance.

I had Linguine with octopus and it was one of the nicest meals I have eaten.

Recommended !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Deserves respect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Osteria da Antonio is a perfect small venue to experience Neopolitan cuisine and personality. I have seen the few negative reviews and those individuals probably did not enjoy Naples or its unique culture and spirit, in general. Antonio is like an institution and he puts great effort and care into his place. It needs to be embraced like Naples and, by the way, the food is very, very good. Just ask Antonio about the specials and what he recommends and you will not be disappointed, unless you have some rigid, inflexible expectation. Buon appetito!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ate here on our first night as it was next door to the hotel and we had read good reviews on Trip Advisor.
Lovely little restaurant, food was delicious and Antonio is a great host.We went back on our last night but Antonio had gone on his holidays, however his son looked after us just as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A family run hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant. We had asked for a locals favorite - and it was everything we hoped for. Andrea, the son of Antonio, welcomed us immediately. We enjoyed a local wine, baby octopus marinara, homemade pasta (gnocchi, lasagna) and finished with the best tiramisu ever! 5 minute walk from Via Toledo onto Via Ponte Tappia. Cross street (Via Medina) and follow the pedestrian walkway to end. Osteria da Antonio wi be across the street. A real treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Antonio also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Osteria da Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria da Antonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.