We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family offer
Ranked #13 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights recently in Naples and were delighted with this hotel. The location is on the edge of the historic old town and the atmosphere and general buzz around the area evoked real Naples, this may not be to everyone's taste but we embraced it warts and all. If you can stand the general 'free for all' which passes for Naples Highway Code you will be fine. It is not too far a walk to the Metro which we used several times.There are numerous restaurants within walking distance and all relatively inexpensive. The staff were pleasant and accommodating and the building itself was beautiful with lovely inner courtyards in which to relax. We enjoyed our regular nightcaps here. If we return to Naples we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    491
    91
    26
    12
See reviews for
187
707
79
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We,by accident, found a special offer for this hotel and took it - what luck! It is a beautiful property, located in a wonderful location next to the old city, with frontage space for transportation and guides to come and go. Great staff - just too few for the check in and check out times - but otherwise. Do your check out the night before. Good restaurant, very helpful people.

Room Tip: inside rooms, facing court are great. Be sure you have a recently remodeled room. Lots of walking, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Very conveniently located, only a short walk to the piazza Garibaldi and the station, not far from the Duomo and centre storico as well, Our room overlooked the hustle and bustle of the road and it was lovely to go out to the balcony and watch real life Napoli style. Staff were very friendly, patient as well which was gratefully received as my Italian is limited! We had a meal one evening in the restaurant which was amazing... Excellent service and divine food. Breakfast was far from disappointing, an array of choice, lovely coffee... Could not fault it. It's a gem of a hotel and even offered a shuttle service to the airport. Thank you x

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Disappointment. Classic case of how a fancy looking hotel on the outside doesn't guarantee a great stay. The outside facade was beautiful, the room inside was decent, the bathroom shower leaked all over the floor thanks to a total mess of a seal on the swing door. The wifi was a lesson in patience. The connection was through some third party ISP that was always "not working," which was a huge inconvenience in: a difficult to navigate city, with a hotel in a part of town you wouldn't enjoy taking wrong turns through. The most frustrating part of the hotel though was the front desk. The front desk staff could have been more helpful. A waitress in the restaurant who saw us wandering through pre-check-in, looking for something to drink, offered us a coffee and biscuits for free. Very generous, and appreciated because she went out of her way to help. This was unfortunately not shared by others though, which largely reflects our impression of our stay. A few tips, and examples (since these reviews are hopefully read and reviewed by management):
-Offer to take guests' bags for them up to their rooms, or if here're checking in later, leave it in the room for when they return...
-Call to check in that they are okay with their rooms and don't have any difficulties getting online or keeping their bathroom floors from becoming swimming pools...
-One rather bizarre experience ... one of the front desk staff outright stopped what he was for several moments to stare at a female guests' butt as she walked away -- in plain view of the line standing in front of him. There's (arguably...) a time and place for this sort of thing, and it's not when you're on the job serving a line of customers.
-When the internet stops working, offer to compensate something; not having internet access is a major pain for travelers in a new city who rely on it.

The other reality of the hotel is its location, which is dodgy. I don't know if there's anything that actually happens in the neighborhood which is unsafe, but you sure feel like you're intruding on a very exclusive local party when you're passing through. The neighborhood around the hotel definitely had us feeling a little unsafe at night. And given how every taxi driver we used thought it appropriate to give themselves an honorary "tip... For caffe!" walking around was a fairly essential mode of transportation.

Would not stay here again. The best part of the hotel is the exterior and inner courtyard... Visually beautiful, but not enough to convey hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner courtyard. Most definitely not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is a short walk from the central train station. A little oasis in what is defo one of the craziest places we have ever been. Other reviews have mentioned the location as being in a run down area. This is Naples, try to see past this and you will enjoy.

Rooms exceptionally clean. Air con worked a treat. We had rooms facing the courtyard. They were fantastic and beautifully quiet. Bathroom great size. Shower great. No tea/coffee making but room had fridge with complimentary water. Also had a room safe.

Breakfast was good. Other reviewers had said they found nothing to eat, I indulged too much as there was so much choice.

Couldn't fault the place. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Venere, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.