We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family offer
Ranked #14 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were shocked to see the state of Naples and therefore were feeling quite nervous about the hotel but it was quite lovely! Very pretty reception area, bar and restaurant. The hotel is very big so it was a bit of a treck to our room but it was a lovely room. Very spacious, very clean and probably the equivalent to some 5 star hotels. The food in the restaurant was just lovely and the choice for breakfast was excellent - just don't drink the tea or coffee! There are tables in the courtyard and sofas on the outside for a perfect relax after dinner. Shame about the rest of Napoli cause this hotel was so great but I wouldn't want to walk outside in the dark!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    520
    94
    28
    14
See reviews for
194
740
82
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We booked the hotel to use up some airline miles and were pleasantly surprised by this newly-renovated Accor-family hotel. Free internet, very comfortable bed, and many little extras that make a hotel stay special. The neighborhood is just "okay"-- at the edge oif the gritty Centro Storico -- and some friends who live in Naples told us to be aware of our surroundings due to the hotel's location. Dont let the location scare you...experienced tranvellers will take care and be aware nof their surroundings while travelling around unfamiliar cities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my fourth time at the palazzo. We have been to ischia 4 times in the last two years and always stay at the palazzo before returning home. We were lucky enough to get a room with a big balcony the first time we stayed so when we arrive we always ask if there is such a room available. So we were delighted to get this type of room again this time. We love everything about this hotel. The rooms are lovely and the beds so comfy. The courtyard is a great place to enjoy coffee or an aperitivo before heading out for dinner. We have only had breakfast once and it was very good but not worth the extra unless it is included in your room rate. The staff at the palazzo have always been very friendly. I think the negative reviews regarding the area the hotel is in are not justified. Yes it may not be the prettiest part of naples but I have never once felt threatened whilst walking about in this area. As we were catching an early train out of naples we asked the hotel what a taxi to the station would cost (5 min journey). They said 8euros as the fares are all fixed in naples. Upon arriving at the station the driver asked us for 15euros which we paid. I knew that you should always confirm the cost before getting into a taxi as taxi drivers are notorious for trying to rip off tourists but I didn't so we felt quite angry that this had happened. I contacted the hotel to inform them of this and I received an immediate reply saying that they took this issue very seriously and had reported the driver to the taxi company.
The palazzo is a great hotel and the staff are excellent and although this soured our stay this time we will most definitely return the next time we are in naples.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but ask if you can have me with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your comment about your stay at Palazzo Caracciolo.
We sincerly thanK you especially for your true words
about the negative and not justified reviews regarding the area the hotel .
We are, as you mentioned in the heart of the Decumani area close Museumes, Churches, typical Restaurants and close to the Station . This is really one of the most ancient areas of Naples!
We really thank you again for you nice comment and do hope to welcome you back here at our hotel in a next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

1. GEM in Naples! Naples is quite poorly kept & the building is a fresh, pristine, elegant, perfectly preserved old palace renovated with tasteful balance of old & new elements
2. PUBLIC SPACES & ROOMS: gorgeous, clean, spacious, big superb inner court lounge & restaurant, pleasant music...
3. ROOMS: gorgeous, clean, slick modern, good light, safe, dryer, strong water pressure, very generous soap/shampoo...
4. FOOD: best food of any hotel or restaurant in Italy (we visited Rome, Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri), whether breakfast, lunch or dinner!
5. SERVICE: very friendly, flexible, very accommodating, fast, efficient, beyond expectation
6. PRICE: very reasonable: €400 (2 nights + 3 quality meals!) (at least when we visited as couple in 2013-06-19+20)
7. CHALLENGE: we challenge anyone to find better value/quality/surroundings/service in Italy, especially Naples

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. We're glad you had a pleasant overallstay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel again very soon.

Sincerly thank you!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't fault this hotel , we had an inside terraced room looking down on closters which was also the setting for dinning tables and lounge sofas. The setting was great, atmosphere was just what you want on holiday , staff were excellent very helpful.
Read reviews on location but did not think these where justified yes there are places that looked bad but we walked about the city and did not feel intiminated Got taxi to waterside with all the restaurant and bar this area was great place to visit .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here in August and were wowed by how beautiful the hotel was. It truly is an oasis of luxury in a pretty dodgy area of Naples. We walked from the train station as it's less than ten minutes walk. I wouldn't advise it - we had never been to Naples before and were shocked at the rubbish piling up either side of the street, pretty much the entire way to the hotel. I'm not exaggerating - about a metre high. Also graffiti everywhere. Really grim, particularly as we'd just come from the glorious Amalfi coast. It looks like a third-world city.

Anyway, the location is the only major issue with this place as the hotel is stunning. Beautiful courtyard in the centre with a restaurant and jazz playing. Our room had two balcony doors, one in bedroom and one in bathroom, overlooking the courtyard which was really nice. The room was beautiful. Spotlessly clean and freshly painted with white walls and luxurious soft furnishings. So tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfortable - I didn't want to get out of it in the morning. I also loved the bathroom with it's big bath and dual showers, one a rain-shower. I loved that the balcony doors opened from the bathroom too. It was so clean and well-kept with bath robes and fluffy towels. I couldn't understand why the rooms were so cheap. It's one of the best four-star hotels I've stayed in, but I imagine the grim location is a factor here.

I also have to say that the staff were fantastic, particularly Paola (I hope I've gotten your name right). She was so helpful, smiley and friendly and her excellent English put our attempts at Italian to shame. She called us a fixed-rate cab to airport on day we were leaving. It's only €16 and I'd highly recommend you take advantage of this, as cab drivers on the street are notorious for ripping you off. The staff member will accompany you to the car with a signed slip so there's no way you should be charged anymore than €16, as they have an agreement with hotel.

She also recommended a fantastic pizzeria to us. It's called Lombardi and located just at the top of Via Carbonara on Via Foria. It's not the prettiest place but the staff were great (particularly Giulio) and had the pizza the best I've ever eaten. Check it out as eateries in this area are few and far between.

One small quibble - charging €7 for Wi-Fi in this day and age is a rip-off, particularly as it was a very poor and slow. It should be built into the room price. The rooms are such good value that if they charged an extra few euros and offered free WI-Fi, I think complaints would be few and far between.

Overall, a beautiful and well-maintained hotel, with friendly staff and nice restaurant food (though very pricey)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you had a pleasant overallstay with us.Your marvelous and kind comment
"It's one of the best four-star hotels I've stayed in", encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We sencerely thank you and do hope to welcome you back here at Palazzo Caracciolo in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.