We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill hotel in a contrasting city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 193 hotels in Naples
wishaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brill hotel in a contrasting city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't fault this hotel , we had an inside terraced room looking down on closters which was also the setting for dinning tables and lounge sofas. The setting was great, atmosphere was just what you want on holiday , staff were excellent very helpful.
Read reviews on location but did not think these where justified yes there are places that looked bad but we walked about the city and did not feel intiminated Got taxi to waterside with all the restaurant and bar this area was great place to visit .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    434
    73
    20
    11
See reviews for
165
633
71
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here in August and were wowed by how beautiful the hotel was. It truly is an oasis of luxury in a pretty dodgy area of Naples. We walked from the train station as it's less than ten minutes walk. I wouldn't advise it - we had never been to Naples before and were shocked at the rubbish piling up either side of the street, pretty much the entire way to the hotel. I'm not exaggerating - about a metre high. Also graffiti everywhere. Really grim, particularly as we'd just come from the glorious Amalfi coast. It looks like a third-world city.

Anyway, the location is the only major issue with this place as the hotel is stunning. Beautiful courtyard in the centre with a restaurant and jazz playing. Our room had two balcony doors, one in bedroom and one in bathroom, overlooking the courtyard which was really nice. The room was beautiful. Spotlessly clean and freshly painted with white walls and luxurious soft furnishings. So tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfortable - I didn't want to get out of it in the morning. I also loved the bathroom with it's big bath and dual showers, one a rain-shower. I loved that the balcony doors opened from the bathroom too. It was so clean and well-kept with bath robes and fluffy towels. I couldn't understand why the rooms were so cheap. It's one of the best four-star hotels I've stayed in, but I imagine the grim location is a factor here.

I also have to say that the staff were fantastic, particularly Paola (I hope I've gotten your name right). She was so helpful, smiley and friendly and her excellent English put our attempts at Italian to shame. She called us a fixed-rate cab to airport on day we were leaving. It's only €16 and I'd highly recommend you take advantage of this, as cab drivers on the street are notorious for ripping you off. The staff member will accompany you to the car with a signed slip so there's no way you should be charged anymore than €16, as they have an agreement with hotel.

She also recommended a fantastic pizzeria to us. It's called Lombardi and located just at the top of Via Carbonara on Via Foria. It's not the prettiest place but the staff were great (particularly Giulio) and had the pizza the best I've ever eaten. Check it out as eateries in this area are few and far between.

One small quibble - charging €7 for Wi-Fi in this day and age is a rip-off, particularly as it was a very poor and slow. It should be built into the room price. The rooms are such good value that if they charged an extra few euros and offered free WI-Fi, I think complaints would be few and far between.

Overall, a beautiful and well-maintained hotel, with friendly staff and nice restaurant food (though very pricey)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you had a pleasant overallstay with us.Your marvelous and kind comment
"It's one of the best four-star hotels I've stayed in", encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We sencerely thank you and do hope to welcome you back here at Palazzo Caracciolo in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pros:
- Comfortable bed.
- Nice design, clean, and quiet room.
- Fridge in the room.
- Working AC.
- Polite staff. They respected our "do not disturb" sign.

Cons:
- They charged 7 euro per stay for the internet. In M Gallery Venice, you can use it for all devices with just that one-time 7 euro, but here they charged 7 euro for each device!!! The internet itself wasn't that fast. Complete rip-off.
- The location was not that convenient. It was close to the historical area, but quite far from the metro station or Napoli Centrale train station. You can walk from/to Napoli Centrale only if you travel light, but not with two big suitcases. Also, it is located in a shady neighbourhood. It was scary to walk around when it was dark outside. We saw a bus stop right in front of the hotel, but the front desk said there was no bus to go to Napoli Centrale from the hotel.
- They kept telling us they could provide us taxi to the airport for only 16 euro flat fee. We finally agreed to use it and confirmed about 3-5 times with the front desk that it was really just 16 euro. Once we got there, the taxi driver charged us 20 euro because it was before 7 am. The front desk never informed us that there was extra charge for early morning. It could have been the driver trying to cheat us. The hotel should have made an arrangement with the taxi company; something like the guests pay the hotel for that ride fee, and the hotel would transfer the payment to the taxi company. That was there was no way the driver could cheat the guests.

Verdict:
- Other than the internet and the location, the room was great actually. If you will be driving a car, staying here might not be a bad idea. But for us, since we always take public transport, most likely we won't come back here anymore. We'll look for another hotel which was closer to Napoli Centrale or other metro station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we thank you for your comment that give us the opportunity to apologize and at the same time give us the occasion to make clear your inconvenience with the taxi driver.
As you correctly told, we have an arrangemet with the taxi company , becouse we try to "protect" in this way, our guests and guarantee them to avoid and never meet these possible kind of problems. We would like, infact, to reassure you, we have already put in place the necessary measures being guest's satisfaction and safety , our first aim. For that, we appreciate the time you took to share your concerns as it give us the opportunity to act and immediately take action on these disagreeable situations.
We really do hope to have a future chance to regain your totally confidence in a next stay at Palazzo Caracciolo and we sincerely thank you for your nice comment about your stay in our Hotel, especially for our comfortable rooms and beds.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW19
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A glorious luxury hotel in the centre of Naples. Everything required by a holidaymaker is provided by this quality hotel to a high standard. At first glance it looks like an art gallery due to the slick design. A short walk from Napoli Centrale but the only down side is that it is in a part of Naples that doesn't make one feel safe outside. A shame as this is a well organised and well managed quality establishment and if like us you are going from here to the airport ask the concierge for the limo service at 16 euros and don't bother running the gauntlet of pickpockets on public transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay in our hotel.
We are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations. Regarding the area in which our hotel is located, as you noticed, we are in the heart of the city at few minutes from the oldest churches and Museums that you can easly get by walking without any more particular dangerous than you colud find in other cities.
We really thank you again and do hope to have the pleasure to host you again in a next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not to far from the airport and walking distance to the Capri Island boats, main town. The area is not very charming at night with dirty bin bags over the streets nearby and hookers. But we hired a car on the 2nd day of the trip which gave us better mobility to explore the Amalfi Coast. The rooms were big and clean and there was a lovely center courtyard to enjoy the hotels architecture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Can quite happily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Naples. The decor is clean and modern, the room was a good size and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast is excellent as well. Two minor gripes - 1)No free internet! Come on this is the 21st century! 2) The minibar fridge didn't work. Not major but Naples in summer is hot and a cold drink in the room would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I took a taxi from the airport. The ride took approximately 20 minutes and cost 25 euros. Upon my arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by friendly staff with excellent command of the English language.
The hotel was nice. However, it was not in a very good location. The hotel’s Wi-Fi was not included in the room price, quite expensive and unstable. The room was not very clean. There were a lot of black marks on the wall that needed to be painted over. There were no amenities in the room. Furthermore, there was no turn down service in the evening.
Breakfast was spectacular with plenty of choices. However, for the quality of food served, dinner service was very expensive. As there are many restaurants within a 10-minute walk from hotel, I would recommend eating outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
#9 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Caracciolo - M Gallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.