We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Naples Bargain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family offer
Ranked #14 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Naples Bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Naples, arriving on a late flight and liked it so much we stayed there again on our last night before going out on an early flight. Its perfectly placed for the airport (20min, €15 in a taxi from the hotel, c.€25 to it from airport). The hotel is also perfectly located for exploring the Centro Storico too. Its a beautiful old building that has been sympathetically restored. Rooms are modern, immaculately clean and quiet with good air conditioning.
Service can be a bit slow in the bar restaurant, but just relax and enjoy the surroundings, it will come. On our last night they had a string quartet playing in the courtyard, which was so atmospheric.
We also ate dinner in the restaurant, despite neither of us being big fans of hotel restaurants we were very pleasantly surprised, it was a very good meal and not too expensive either. Similarly breakfast was good (great coffee!!!) and cost us €16 for two (including many refills....)

The hote staff are very helpful indeed. Eg On arrival they spotted my husband's Rolex and advised he removed it if we were going out as they were being particularly targeted in Naples. A bit disconcerting, but that's Naples and we'd rather we were forewarned.

And all this for £68 a night through Expedia. Seriously. We couldn't fault our stay, the price is a bonus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the central courtyard (much nicer view). Photos of some of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    543
    95
    29
    15
See reviews for
202
766
84
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

this is a great hotel. we stayed two nights which was fine to explore the main city monuments but if you could spend more days, do it. hotel is clean, modern, luxurious. location is good if you wanna be close to the historic centre, a bit far away from the modern city centre but there is a free shuttle bus.

rooms have small balconies, big windows are oriented either to the inner garden or the street. the hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. we would definitely come again.

small tip: dont visit the madre modern art gallery which is in the same street- because the lack of money, half of the gallery is closed, the rest is open but cant offer anyting special.

Room Tip: there are three floors, all the basic rooms are the same, so you just need to decide if you wanna be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was beyond expectation. Enjoyed the stay thoroughly. I had not known about this MGallery branding so far. I had stayed at the Continental Hotel in Zurich last summer with my family and that was by far one of my most memorable experiences at Accor. Now I know why.. that was also an MGallery hotel. Looking forward to my next visit keenly. I wish you are there at more places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

this hotel stands out on the block because it is so nice and modern and the neighborhood is hectic and a bit rundown, but we were glad we stayed here instead of at the port. the area grew on us as it feels very alive and the hotel was close walking proximity to a bunch of great pizzerias (da michele and those on via tribunali). there is a free shuttle to the port, but it is infrequent and we ended up taking a cab which cost about 10 euros. i think it is actually walking distance if you choose. the staff was friendly and generous in letting us check out late at 2 p.m. at no charge as we wanted to squeeze in a visit to pompeii in the morning and get back and shower before heading out on our afternoon train.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Lobby area makes you feel good when you enter the property. The hotel is on the edge of old town and several major attractions (like the Duomo, National museum, and Naples's pizzerias!) are all within walking distance. The main train station is a 10-15 minute walk as well. Staff was friendly, and helped us with restaurant recommendations. Wi-Fi service was little flaky, but they did not charge me when I pointed this out to them. Will definitely stay there if I am back in Naples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rastatt
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Sorry this hotel was not what we expected, Internet was not included in the room rate, the Room service was very poor, the last night now more new cleaning tissues, as well as no more shower and hair shampoo.

Internet at a price of 7€ a day in a 4 star ACCOR Hotel NO GO! Personal is not very friendly and not at all helpful. Sorry to ask something.

Breakfast is not worth the price, 18 € and fluid scrambled egg, grrr. sinday at 9:30 no more Kiwi and Monday morning no more Muesli (went out the weekend) sorry go out and have a cheap breakfast in town.

Room all in all is ok, mattress is horrible.. Topper is a kind of down-feather, you can imagine that picks during night.. NO GO!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
First we would like to thank you choosing Palazzo Caracciolo for your stay in Naples and for the time spent writing your comment. We are sorry to read of your disappointment, while we totally respect your opinion we felt really surprised about your overall impression about Palazzo Caracciolo, for which we would like to clarify all the points. Internet price is 7 euro for the activation of the service for the whole stay and not daily. Regarding the mattress we will double check or replace it, because the comfort of our beds have always been one of our major brags. We apologize for the lack of consistence of the scrambled eggs and the missing products at the breakfast this is definitely not up to our standard of services. Anyway the price of the breakfast is 12€ and not 18€ as mentioned. Kindness, availability and efficency from our staff is a central point in our management, that is why we feel very sorry to hear you didn’t received it.
We owed you this little explanation as we consider your opinions the best way to improve our services. This will probably not change the perception on your stay but thank you once again for choosing our hotel and for the chance you would hopefully give us on a future stay, this would be a great pleasure for us and unmissable occasion to regain your trust.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. This is an outstanding hotle located in the city Center. Naples is an interesting city and the city center tends to be a bit chaotic. This hotel gives you solitude by way of its two beautiful courtyards and outstanding rooms.
The hotel is a short cab ride (10 min) from the train station and taxi is the preferred way of reaching this hotel. When we pulled up we were greeted by two employees who helped us with our suitcases.
The front desk staff greets everybody with a smile and are more than willing to help and speak good english. They were more than willing to help us with directions etc.
Rooms were tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were outstanding and the showeres fabulous complete with waterfall showerhead in addition to the handheld showerhead. Word of caution, the waterfall showerhead is terrific, but the drain can't quite keep up with the flow of water if you take long showers. Common sense when using a shower will help avoid and drain issues.
The hotel also offers a free shuttle to and from a drop off point near Castel Nuovo with a great weekday time schedule.
Given its location the city center, the hotel is near many great, small and affordable shops. Also, be sure to eat at the Pizzeria Lombardi at Via Benedetto Croce for the best pizza. However, do not overlook the hotels own restaurant. It has some of the best pasta we tried the whole time we were in Italy.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anybody looking to stay in the city center in Naples.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room over looking either of the two courtyards. All rooms have A/C and safes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Naples
#5 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.