We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Home Napoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giovanni's Home Napoli to your Saves list
Giovanni's Home Napoli
Via Sapienza, 43, Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved our time at Giovanni's, even if it was just a few nights. We were welcomed with a glass of cold water and delicious pumpkin and rice risotto, and we're then given a full briefing of the town and it's history. How fantastic! Giovanni loves his city and wants everyone to experience all it's wonders. He also loves his guests and wants them to have the best time in Naples. We would go back again and again!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
10
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

When you come to Giovannis, it's not a hostel experience. It's like staying in the home of a close family friend, someone who will look after you and make sure your stay in Naples in nothing short of perfect. His pasta and risotto might be out of this world fantastic, that goes without saying, but it's the atmosphere of the place that really makes it. We made some amazing friends in the two days we were lucky enough to stay here, both in other travellers and in the man himself, and I will 100% be back to visit. Obviously to see the gorgeous sights of a true Italian town, but to see it's real highlight, Giovanni.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have been lucky enough to stay in this hostel around 8/9 times. Of course you are only allowed to review on hostelworld.com once, so I thought I'd have my stay on here too.

This is not a hostel, it is a warm, friendly, safe environment where you will be looked after and given the best information about the beautiful city of Naples. Giovanni will personally give you all the necessary details regarding Naples, from the 'must see' to the 'no go' areas. There is free wifi, two fridges, the hostel is spotlessly clean and I've been lucky enough to try two absolutely fantastic dishes made by the man himself, my favourite being 'pasta, patate e provola', potatoes, pasta and a smoked local cheese, it is to die for!

Giovanni is a truly generous man with a wealth of knowledge regarding his city. You are paying for HIM when you pay for this hostel. You are paying for his knowledge, his hospitality, his interest in you and his caring, warm hostel. I look forward to being back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We came from Rome to Naples on our journey through Europe as a young backpacking couple. We came to Naples basically for Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius (the volcano). Well, there is a lot more to do here then you think!
We caught a train from Rome and arrived around 12:30pm to Naples. We got to Giovannis by metro 1 train which cost around €1.30 per person. Then it is a short 5min walk from the train station. It is down a small long road so keep your eyes out for the number 43!
Giovanni was there waiting for us and gave us a lovely introduction about Naples and everything you need to know about the place!
We came also reading on the internet about the theft in Naples, we did not how ever see or come across anything and you do feel safe here.
Giovanni cooked for us (a delicious pasta dish) and made us feel very welcome!
We only had a short two nights stay but defiantly would of stayed longer if we knew how much there was too see! Due to a time schedule we could not however change for a longer stay.
For a wonderful hostel, great company and other guest, close to food and the train station how can you go wrong with this place with such amazing views!
We think Naples was more exciting then Rome!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The reviews on this hostel and giovanni seemed too good to be true, but they really are legitimate. We almost didnt come to naples because of how dangerous everyone warned us it would be. I would only recommend coming to naples, if you stay at giovannis. We arrived after 1030 at night, which we took a taxi, that dropped us off a distance away from the hostel. Giovanni was sat on the balcony shouting down to us. Hes great.

When we got upstairs, he had just finished preparing dinner for everyone, so we ate with them, then sat down with giovanni to check In. He highlighted everything on the map for us. Purple wasthe bad areas to avoid, he showdd us important churches and museums, the best pizza place and an orange hihlighter which was a direct path to see the best of naples. He really knows his stuff.

The main dining room was awesome to get to know eveyone, my boyfriend and i played chess in there with giovannis set. We had booked an 8 share, which he gave to just us so we had some pricacy, then the other two 8 shares he turned into one for the boys, and one for the girls.. hes very considerate. The wifi was great, he let us use his washing mahine for free. We had free dinner almost every nigt and even had lunch once too.

I cannot recommend this hostel enough. As I said, dont do napoli unless you are staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A really nice and inexpensive place to stay in Naples. Giovanni is amazing. He cooked a meal for us and talked at length about Naples and Italy. He also provides you the best possible way to explore Naples and pompei. He can come out as opinionated but I liked his inputs. Although he did provide very detail steps on how to get to his place. It is very difficult to get there if you have not viewed the route on google maps. Overall, strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My friend and I arrived in Naples at night knowing absolutely nothing about the city and planning to stay for 2 days. Instead we had 11 of the most incredible days of our 4 month European adventure. And this was almost all due to Giovanni. He gave the most amazingly in-depth introduction to this incredible city and was constantly giving us advice on what to do, where to go, where to get the best coffee, mozarella, pizza, pastries etc. He mad us delicious pasta every day and cooked traditional dishes from Napoli using ingredients unique to the area.Naples was the perfect base to explore Pompeii, the Amalfi coast and for day trips to Capri and the surrounding islands.

Cannot recommend Giovanni's enough and I hope to go back in the years to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 187 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli - MGallery Collection
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#47 of 187 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
#4 of 187 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Porto
Hostel of the Sun
Hostel of the Sun
#4 of 66 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni's Home Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni's Home Napoli

Address: Via Sapienza, 43, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Giovanni's Home Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Home Napoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.