We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Comfortable Hotel but with a few niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Romeo Hotel to your Saves list
Romeo Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo, 45, 80133 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern, Comfortable Hotel but with a few niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with work colleagues, and all agreed that the hotel is clean and comfortable, but there are far too many gadgets in the rooms. Switching lights on and off was a major chore, working out where the lights may appear,but more importantly - how to switch them off when trying to sleep!.
Using the telephone, opening wardrobes, plugging in laptops should all be simple - but are somehow made difficult. Even returning to the room proved to be a problem in the very dark corridors (black marble everywhere), until you discover te room numbers are on the floor, not the door!.

Dinner was excellent, though quite expensive, but the price of drinks is far too high.

Staff, particularly in reception, were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Excellent view over the harbour area, which improves higher up the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear nappyrabbit,
thank you for your positive review about our hotel!
Your kind comments about our staff and the services we offer repay us for the work we do everyday.
We hope to see you here again!
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    101
    63
    28
    20
See reviews for
41
252
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortaillod, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am reluctant when a hotel adverts a 'highly modern' atmosphere which means to me: too many buttons to open the curtains and control the lights. but I was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case for this modern tower. trendy...yes! but very efficient and cozy. the front desk was always helpful when issues of the connection to wifi (me bad) or wanting ice delivered (gratis) but it was too convenient to the ferries to capri which we took. the port neighborhood seems to in the middle of some renovations for there was some construction afoot. I had room 306 which faces the main boulevard and next to the elevator which caused me some pause but the there was not noise to concern myself with. add the most comfortable bed I have slept in a hotel in awhile. my only demerit I can note is the shower which, if not careful, can wet the entire the bathroom since there is no delineation between the area (hence the modern theme). included was the usual b-fast buffet which was decent and the wifi was strong enough for me to VPN to my home office as well and the U.S. overall, it was modern, cozy and quite convenient to the old district, shopping, and ferries. double claps for this place!!

Room Tip: hard to say since I had the one next to the elevator which was not problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The reception staff were very friendly and informative. The room was sleek and had lots of gadgets for the curtains, light sensors and so on. However the drinks and food are overpriced and we were shocked at the poor service of the staff in the bar/sushi restaurant and at breakfast. We decided to have a drink at the bar and some nibbles. We ordered cocktails, however the barman had gone missing! The waitress didn't know what to do so offered us a complimentary prosecco instead. In the meantime our tempura was left on the counter while she was trying to locate the barman and since we were the only people there my husband got up and took the plate himself! The waitress was very apologetic and once the barman showed up we got the ordered drinks and a complimentary tempura.
The next morning however we were completey ignored at breakfast despite standing next to a table and asking a member of staff to set it for us. We then cleared the table ourselves and it wasn't until my husband was spreading butter with a spoon were we asked if we would like some cutlery.
If this hotel wants to be one of the better ones in Naples it simply has to do better than this considering the prices they are charging for accommodation and all the extras. I don't think that we would stay here again.
On the plus side we did have good reports of the food from another couple who were also staying here but overall there isn't enough to bring us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I can't resist returning to the Romeo on my frequent visits to Naples and Italy. Because of this hotel and it's attentive staff, great rooms and beautiful views of Mount Vesuvio I have made naples my home base for all of my travels through the Italian peninsula. I am a pretty casual traveler but enjoy the elegance of the Romeo from the moment you arrive, throughout your stay and on your departure the fabulous staff of the Romeo make you feel like you have returned home from a long journey.
The hotel is immaculate, the linens beautiful and the bathroom exceptional with a big "American" shower. Many of the rooms have excellent views of Mt Vesuvio and the active harbor which is vibrant with color, boats and ships coming in and out of the harbor. The same view from the small but fantastic pool on the rooftop.
The restaurant is very chic and very fine dining, for those with simpler taste the Castel Nuovo restaurant is just around the corner, it serves excellent local food, pasta, seafood and pizzas. They serve a very nice breakfast in the morning, really more than enough food for a morning meal that will suit everyones taste.
Don't you deserve to splurge a little and stay a few nights at the Romeo, the finest hotel in Napoli?

Room Tip: I prefer the higher floors with harbor views, the may cost slightly mor but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear GiancarloBoromeo,
thank you very much for your review.
Your words repay us for the work we do everyday to make unforgettable our clients stay at Romeo hotel.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is marketed as a boutique hotel but that isn't really accurate. It is more of a European style "art hotel", very modern and sleek but with none of the quirky, homely, personal touches you expect from a boutique hotel.

The rooms are fantastic. Very modern, comfortable, huge beds, complicated lighting systems with motion sensors in the bathroom (not great if you need the toilet in the night though) and free WiFi. The shower was very weak though. Not what I'd expect from a hotel like this.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Location is good too, safe 15 min walk to historical centre, near the Spanish quarter and 2 mins for the ferries to Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi coast. It's a good place to base yourself to explore the area.

However, my main gripe is the fact that doing anything other than sleeping in the hotel is prohibitively expensive. The drinks and food are exhorbitabtly priced and there's nowhere in the immediate vicinity to eat (you need to walk to the centre). The gym and spa charge €20 each even for guests, which is not something I'd expect from a 'boutique' hotel where free use of the spa is standard for guests. There is not even free tea, coffee and water other than 2 nespresso pods and one bottle of mineral water.

We would have liked to have dinner or room service and some drinks in the bar but it was so overpriced (a fruit juice was €8) that we decided to skip dinner altogether and enjoy the nice room.

So, in summary, it's a sleek, stylish modern hotel, but it is designed for business travellers or those who don't mind paying significantly over the odds for basic services.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Did three nights at the end of two week trip around Italy. On the plus side absolutely fantastic finish to hotel, very modern, great roof top pool with views over bay of Naples, good location for seeing sites, unbelievable lobby area spa is out of this world but after spending 20 euros to go into it- I was shocked when a lady told us we had to leave as our two hours were up!

On the downside the food and drink was very expensive 7 euro for a small beer, went to go for a drink on roof top terrace at8.15 and was told it closed at eight! And wanted to get a drink in cigar lounge at 11.15 and was told all bars were shut,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Romeo for two nights recently. It is a very modern hotel and we were delighted with it. It is very close to the port and the Alibus which comes directly from the airport stops across the road from it so it is ideal for a short stay. We found the area/location fine - it was busy enough at all times and I did not feel unsafe around there. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was fantastic - large, well decorated and luxurious. We made use of the games room which I thought was a fantastic idea.

We didn't have breakfast during our stay but we did eat dinner in the restaurant on our last night which was amazing. The food and service were impeccable and the meal was a perfect finish to our holiday.

The spa is beautiful and very relaxing - I would highly recommend it. However, I do think it's a bit expensive at 20 euro per person, considering the price that we had already paid for the room.

The pool is small but the jacuzzi chairs in it are great and is lovely for a dip after a long day of sightseeing/shopping in Naples. Lovely views of the sea and Mount Vesuvius from here also.

We will most certainly be going back to Naples and will definitely be staying in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear maireadni,
Thank you very much from the entire staff of Romeo hotel.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo, 45, 80133 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Naples
#14 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romeo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.