We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, sleek and modern aerie above Centro Storico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zia Maria Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Zia Maria Home to your Saves list
Zia Maria Home
Piazza San Gaetano 322, 80138 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 378 Naples B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“comfortable, sleek and modern aerie above Centro Storico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Nothing provides a more wonderful contrast to the decadent squalor of Naples at its best than this beautifully renovated hotel, perfectly situated above Piazza San Gaetano in the Centro Storico. The design is spare and modern yet very comfortable, and my room, a double overlooking the piazza, was very spacious. It's hard to believe that it could be so quiet. The terrace where breakfast is served offers stunning, picture-perfect rooftop views of Naples, including Vesuvius. Situated as it is on the top floor of a 16th century palazzo reached by an elevator accessible through a courtyard, the hotel might be a slight challenge for some visitors to locate upon arrival, but thereafter one can't get over how very perfect the address really is. Also, the proprietor, Roberto, is a wonderful and very accommodating host. My only reason for giving 4 stars for service rather than 5 is that this simply isn't a full-service hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
70
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Hi Roberto! We'll never forget you and our resounding stay in Zia Maria home!!!
We found kindness, amusement, great recommend about best Naples club...
Naples in my heart!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Zia Maria is a very nice and charming b&b with friendly hosts in a great location in the heart of the Old City. The b&b is very clean, with a nice roof deck where we sat out at night, and were served breakfast in the morning. Roberto and his daughter were very friendly hosts and we got along well even without speaking the same language.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgroper
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Zia Maria Home for four nights in September 2009 and it was one of the most memorable stays we had in Italy. The owner. Roberto, is adorable. He does his utmost best to make your stay enjoyable. He doesn't speak English, but I had learnt a little Italian before we left for Italy, and between that and my small Italian book, we had a very, very enjoyable time. We had breakfast on the rooftop, which was unbelievable, and every morning you would communicate with the locals popping their heads out of their windows. It was fantastic, and a great way to blend in with the locals. The rooms are white and large and comfortable - very, very clean.... Roberto's daughter comes in the mornings to help with breakfast, and is like her Dad - wonderful...... I can't speak highly enough of Zia Maria - the only hiccup we had was finding it, but with the locals help, (one local took us right to the doorway), we eventually arrived. Definitely "amore" with Zia Maria......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Zia Maria Home is a beautiful contrast to the energetic bustling streets below. The place is exquisitely designed, modern, tranquil and stylish with the freshest linen and towels. The location couldn't be better, surrounded by great restaurants, pizzerias, patisseries, museums. We are already looking forward to returning to this delightful home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

A perfect location for a wonderful 4-nights-stay in Napoli. The room was spacious, modern, very clean, full of daylight and a fantastic view down to Piazza San Gaetano with all its lively atmosphere. Maybe not too easy find in the beginning, but then you feel like king of Napoli when you enter the door with all your keys in the hand and all other tourists need to go to their 3 or 4 stars standard hotels, while you enjoy a glas of wine with a view to Mt. Vesuvio and the old city. The hospitality of Roberto, the owner, and his daughter Tonia, who had all the ideas to furnish the place, was amazing. We felt like home any moment and can nothing else but recommend that place. We'll come back, that's for sure! Grazie, Roberto & Tonia, e stato un piacere, auguri!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We spent four nights in one of the high ceiling rooms facing San Lorenzo church. We enjoyed our stay, the kind and attentive service, and the central position of this b&b. Rooms are well decorated, have tv and airco, and are very clean. Breakfast on the outside terrace is nice, one has a tremendous view over the city. You have to get used to the way outside key and elevator work, but once you have mastered that your Naples domicile is all you can wish.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zia Maria Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zia Maria Home

Address: Piazza San Gaetano 322, 80138 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zia Maria Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zia Maria Home Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zia Maria Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.