We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In an elegant place a advisable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margherita

Save Saved
You added Villa Margherita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Margherita
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via del Parco Margherita 101, 80121 Naples, Italy (Chiaia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 50 Specialty lodging in Naples
Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“In an elegant place a advisable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

In one of the most beautiful area of Neaples, surrounding by old-fashioned buildings and quiet street, this hotel offers elegance, good service and confort at a right and proper prices.
Maybe the breakfast could be richer...and sometimes the reception is neglected but in my opinion, for that price, these issue can be considered part of the appeareance of the form. The substance is positive: I would advise this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
26
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I and a collegue stayed last week at the hotel on a business trip for 4 days. The location is good there are restuarants and shops nearby. The hotel is at the top of an hill and I would not recommend it to anyone who is reasonably fit. The room was clean and basic. sheets and towels changed every day and kept clean. shower good , it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities as a business traveller these things are important. The breakfast was typical continental but 4 days with no choice was dissapointing. the saving grave was the great coffee but it was a case of the breakfast was the same every morning with no choice. Overall clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having recently stayed at the Villa Margherita, despite an initial look of cleanliness, the hotel seems to have serious issues with bedbugs. Myself and other friends and family members, occupied a number of rooms and have all since had our bites diagnosed on our return to the UK as BED BUGS.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a group for a weekend and I got bite by bedbugs entire weekend. Only found out after one of our party found a dead one on her bag and diagnosis by GP back in the uk. I thot I was bitten by mosquitoes as I left window open due to heat. But defo bedbugs with evidence. I would not recommend staying there. We all worried incase some bedbugs hitched a ride back into our homes. Gross!! I'm covered all over with a bedbug rash which is itchy too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for four nights and there were nine of us staying in four double rooms and one single room. The double rooms varied in size quite a lot and even though most of the rooms were decent size (one was huge!), one of the rooms was tiny and the couple staying there was quite disappointed. I agree, because we all paid the same amount but got very different rooms. The single room was very, very small and smelled a little strange. We tried to upgrade it but they said they were fully booked already.

All in all, the rooms were okay. The showers were good and the walls kept most of the noise out even though the whole building did shake a little every time the funicular below the building passed. Light sleepers might have a problem with it. Beds were very comfortable! All rooms had free wifi which worked perfectly. Cleaning and air-con worked very well. Some rooms had very nice, big windows and chairs with table to enjoy the in-room breakfast.

Breakfast was ok. On one morning we got breakfast in all our rooms but everyone were missing some items (eggs, ham, yoghurt etc). Also when some couples asked for 6 cups of coffee they literally got 6 cups with coffee in all of them instead of maybe a small coffee pot. The continental breakfast was so-so.. On some mornings there was buffee, on others they carried ready-made plates for everyone n the breakfast room.

We only had wine from the hotel restaurant but it seemed to have a good selection of everything.

The hotel is situated in a good area in Naples but requires some walking up or downhill to reach the funiculars or the city center.

The hotel is good for those who don't mind the walk uphill and aren't too picky about the breakfast. The staff was very nice and polite and there was a great terrace in hotel. Special thanks to the manager who actually carried our bags to the taxi!!!

I guess if it was just my husband and I staying at the hotel we would have rated it as 4 but those two tiny rooms (for such a group, the rooms should have been in same size and quality), loudly passing funicular and non-standard breakfast scale it down to three.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Upon arriving from the train station we were advised that the best way to get to the hotel was by taxi which was about $25 american & well worth it after getting in late & just wanting to get checked into our hotel. When we checked in I will admit that I was disappointed with our room as it didn't look like what I had seen online............small, very instituional looking & the worst part..........VERY NOISY! I believe it's the room behind the owners office & to the back side of the entrance & below the restaurant so you could hear EVERY LITTLE THING & made it hard to sleep. The next morning we talked about checking out but my husband & I thought the location would be good for sightseeing because it was close to the furnicular & not a bad walking distance down to the bay so we asked about other less noisy room options & we are glad we did. We were shown & offered 2 different rooms which were bigger, very quiet & the one we chose had a beautiful view of the bay. It was 13 Euro more per night & worth every penny! The owner was very helpful in getting our luggage moved to the new room. The room was large, clean, air conditioning was WONDERFUL & worked very well. The interent was mediocre & was not really reliable but worked well enough that we were able to do research to figure out what we wanted to see & do while in Naples & the area. The breakfast in the restaurant was a nice offering of croissants, fruit, typically boiled eggs, cereals & other offerings & the cappucino was FABULOUS! The gentleman at reception was very friendly and spoke English well & the owner was very helpful, friendly & although English was broken he was very willing to "google translate" to aid in communication.

Room Tip: Don't get the cheapest room...........it's the noisy one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for four nights with wife and two children in one large room which was spacious and clean. Breakfast was fine and got us off to a good start each day. We had hired a car and there was lock up parking on site which is important in Naples. Villa is walking distance to Chia shopping area, restaurants, tratoria's, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita

Address: Via del Parco Margherita 101, 80121 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Chiaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Specialty lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.