We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever--don't book!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Stanze del Vicere'

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Stanze del Vicere' to your Saves list
Le Stanze del Vicere'
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Stella, 94 | (traversa Via Santa Teresa degli Scalzi), 80135 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 378 Naples B&B and Inns
Mission Viejo, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst ever--don't book!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I rented a car that we drove to the location. Upon opening the door to the hotel, there was what could best be described as a warehouse, dark and dingy, in what is probably the worst, most crime ridden area we have ever seen. When we saw the entryway, we ran! We actually were more concerned about our physical safety than the fact that we lost our money. Don't book this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanzedel, Responsabile reception at Le Stanze del Vicere', responded to this review, September 21, 2012
This review is not releted to our Property and it's 100% false.
We are absolutely sure these Guest never stayed here and even never booked this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    54
    11
    4
    15
See reviews for
25
111
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in July 2010 for four nights after spending four nights in Rome. It is a great place to stay in a good location with a great manager (max). Other reviews will tell you what you need to know about the place. We drove from Rome because theres alot to see outside of Naples. WARNING do not drive unless your like a experiance like no other. Its madness on the roads in Naples. Also if you do pay out for a secured car park because the streets are so narrow that it would not take much for it to get damaged. Le Stanze del Vicere is also hard to find tucked away on a side street with only a small name plate on the buzzer, so a sat nav would be a good idea. Naples is a fantastic vibrant city with so much to see and do. Highlights for us where a day trip to Capri on the ferry, a day up Visuvius and Herculaneum and a tour of the underground tunnels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in January 2012 and it was the coldest winter in a very long time so the room was a bit cold but we solved this by putting on the bathroom heater on and leaving the door between the bathroom and bedroom open all nigh, That the only bad thing i can say.
The manager (Max) was over and above helpful to the point we felt guilt in him offering to get up extra early just to get us breakfast so we could spend very long day's seeing all the sites. He gave us some great advice and help of things to see. And we very much enjoyed the conversations with him each evening when we staggered in from are full packed days of site seeing. The room we stayed in was beautiful and large with a beautiful ceiling, This hotel is in a very central to local transport, And walking back to it at around 9 to 10 pm each evening we felt safe.
Just wanted to say sorry it's taken so long to write this review but we had a great time and we will be back with the kids in the future. Thank you to Max from the two mad brits who packed way too much into each day.

Room Tip: put the bathroom heaters on if the air con is not enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

When you pass through the entrance of was is a medieval palace, you have no indication of what is ahead. On entering the hotel, it is immediately clear that this hotel has been developed with expert taste and a lot of love. Max, the proprietor was immediately welcoming and showed us around the hotel. Each room had an individual design and all rooms were of extremely high quality. Our room overlooked the interior of the palace and so was peaceful and quiet at all times. The room was large, airy and very contemporary in design, having all the necessary elements for a successful stay. Thankfully, breakfast was not italian but more of a dutch affair with eggs, cheese, tools, pastries, fruit juices and off course a selection of teas and coffees. My previous experiences of italian breakfasts consisted off a very small cake and a cup of coffee. Therefore, the breakfast here set us up nicely for each day of sightseeing.
It was 30c plus in Napoli and the air conditioning worked superbly.
Max, the proprietor was always on hand and was both helpful and friendly and we grew fond of him during our week's stay. I cannot imagine Max being rude as he was engaging with all his guests.
In addition, the staff here did everything to make our stay an excellent one.
In conclusion, please don't be put off by what you hear about Napoli. It is extremely safe for tourists and the locals are very happy to see you there. Also choose this perfect hotel if you enjoy somewhere more intimate and with a lot of personality.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. We were in room 2 and you will enjoy the space provided for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Horrible stay for the following reasons:
One of the two rooms we booked was not available and my friend and his gf had to be relocated to a different hotel (I saw their room and wasn't as nice as the one at Le Stanze). This was quite frustrating as obviously we all wanted to stay together. Even more disappointing is that the hotel manager said this was due to another guest that had fallen seriously ill on the same day and had therefore been unable to check out from the room.
Looking at other guests' reviews it is quite clear that the hotel regularly take overbookings and the excuse was made up. This to me was totally unacceptable, but there's more:

Rooms - the rooms themselves look very nice, all quite spacious, with elegant floors, furniture, and bathrooms. Some of them still have original decorations from the 16th century and the whole building is quite charming - however, the room we were given the first night (Room n.1) was right next to the entrance and receptions desk, so very noisy in the morning with the phone ringing and other guests going in and out all the time, and we felt we had no privacy at all. Additionally the bathroom flooded after a 5 mins shower. After complaining, the next day we were moved to a quieter room, however this was a smoking room which for non smokers is very unpleasant and had the same drainage problem so we ended up with the room completely flooded again and just more hassle.
Wifi in the rooms not always works (we were unable to use it from our first room, but it was ok in the other one). This is only a minor thing but thougt I would mention it.

Location - poor, 15 minutes walk uphill from the nearest underground station, and not in the nicest area. Expect to walk at least 25/30 mins to reach the city centre.
Overall a horrible experience, it might have been good value but nothing justified their overbooking policy and the arrogance of the hotel manager - who I'm sure will now reply by denying everything and offending the guests like he's done for other negative reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanzedel, Manager at Le Stanze del Vicere', responded to this review, June 14, 2012
It is possible that among the many satisfied guests (see the many positive reviews) there is a negative voice or two however, I do not understand the utter disappointment the reviewer apparently has encountered.
I do regret that the reviewer allegedly experienced a certain disturbance and discomfort in privacy with respect to sound.
Have said this, all our rooms are certified soundproof and in due cause sound disturbance is brought down to the very minimum limit.
We have three Wi-Fi networks and all of them work fine but as explained to the reviewer due to a problem that day with the telephone and service provider company the network was not always stable.
We are basically situated in the centre of Naples and the distances between us and the nearest Metro station, restaurants and bars and the mayor side seeing spots of Naples are of no concern. All is in a radius of 1 kilometer . (One only has to consult a city map).
The reviewer cleverly disregarded my possible reply in advance, in a sense that I would not know how to respond on the reviewer's apparent frustration and horrible experience.

In case the reviewer things in returning please do so by all means because you are always very welcome but then in a more relax mood.

Regards,

Guido Bifulco

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived in Naples in late winter (temperature around 0-5 degree celcius) and we were hoping that we could at least get a warm cozy room (not hoping for anything fancy considering the price). Unfortunately, that's not the case. The room was ice cold, equipped with small aircond-heater combo that obviously is insufficient to heat up the whole room, the bathroom was cold as hell as well (partly because the heater in there was not working half of the time). Upon request for extra blankets, we were met with rather sarcastic remarks (oh, was it cold last night?)...I mean...seriously man!

Oh yea, the worst part is, the breakfast area was cold as hell as well. Breakfast was sad, it was full of sugar bombs (fruit punch, croissants, white bread, spounge cake, other sweet pastries and jam) and some real unappealing dry biscuits.

I usually prefer not to comment much on the hotel personnel, but in this case I was really appalled by the manager's constant condescending attitudes. Not to mention he openly made derogative joke about his non-English speaking housekeeper in front of the guests (with her present in the same room since she couldn't understand anyway). This behaviour, in my view, violates not only the core principle of "hospitality", but also a clear reflection of aversive discrimination behaviour (the manager was not Italian).

The hotel location itself is not too bad, you just have to walk through some dodgy alleys before you come to the bus stop and buses will take you to most of the tourist attractions, otherwise, there is a subway station nearby as well. The room may be appealing (especially for those who appreciate everything old) since it was supposed to be from 16th century or so. As far as I know, they only have local channels in the guest rooms, no minibar, tea or coffee-making facilities whatsoever. All in all, I will say the cons truly outweigh the pros of this hotel (price, relatively ok location, breakfast included if you like lots of sugars in the morning).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanzedel, Direttore at Le Stanze del Vicere', responded to this review, May 14, 2012
A guest who complaints about our hotel. In the period you have stayed with us quite happily and also the hotel was fully booked and nobody else complainted about being too cold.
In our warderobes, and already prepared in the bed, are at least three extra blankets available. For breakfast we serve indeed little "salted" products and in case you wish you may give preference to a more "salted" breakfast.
We do not understand in how and which alleyway you got lost during finding our hotel and we would like to point out that there are bus stops very nearby.
With regards to the manager no review speaks bad about him and basically all reviews view very positive about him. We hope you will visit us again and then we the eyes more open.

Guido Bifulco
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

In the first moment we were shocked, because the entrance is very dark and old. The Hotel inside is reconstructed with much love an a good feeling for old things. We felled welcome an the owner was kind and open to any questions. The room was so calm, that we didn´t felt in the middle of Naples. Breakfast was in a beautifull enviroment, were the people felt relaxed-we too. We want to come back to sleep there, not only to see Napoli.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Stanze del Vicere'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze del Vicere'

Address: Via Stella, 94 | (traversa Via Santa Teresa degli Scalzi), 80135 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 378 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Stanze del Vicere' 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent staircase, made in the XVI c. by the architect Luigi Vanvitelli, leads to the residence. Furnished in classic style inspired by Royal époque, The Residence with its elegant and Big Hall welcomes the pleasant activities dedicated to Guests:from the breakfast, authentic surprise of the Residence, to the pleasant reading of Neapolitan theatrical texts and tourist guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Stanze del Vicere' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Stanze Del Vicere` Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Stanze del Vicere', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.