We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe Napolit'amo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe Napolit'amo to your Saves list
Hotel Principe Napolit'amo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Toledo 148, 80132 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 189 Hotels in Naples
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice big room with balcony... Lovely Ans helpfull staff... Great location in the middle of everything! Busy And lively! We loved it there! The room itself was clean and nice... Not perfect, but especially the balcony made it wonderfull... Bathroom was small and outdated, but ok... Best was that everything is in walking distance! We love Napoli!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    106
    38
    25
    9
See reviews for
43
95
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Despite bad signage, dingy entrance, and having to find our way to the first floor reception, the hotel rooms are really good, breakfast was good, staff friendly. Location excellent. Photo's of exterior of hotel are not indicative of what you will see, interiors are.

Room Tip: stay on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I want to mention that I am not a picky person. The only positive thing about it is the location, very central on a shopping street, and the reception staff always helpful and friendly. We had double rooms on the 1st floor. The 2nd floor seemed to look better, maybe the rooms there are refurbished, but the ones on the 1st floor are ramshackle and dirty. Let alone the cracked walls, outdated furniture and facilities. One of my colleagues complained about the smell in his room. Stinky urine smell.Disgusting! On arrival, when I took a shower and used the towel, my body was covered in black hairs! (the maid’s I guess). And covered is exactly what I mean! Again, disgusting! I complained about it and got them changed right away. However I find it unacceptable for a 3 stars hotel. Or for any hotel, in fact. Also, one night when I went to the toilet, some odd insect was crawling on the floor. And again, disgusting! No slippers provided, so I had to wear my shoes inside, as walking barefoot wasn’t option for me. The single beds (which we got after checking in, as all the rooms had double beds - but probably you have to mention the type of bed while booking) were really really small. I am quite thin and almost fell off it twice, while sleeping. Also, the sheets had some holes in them. The noise from the streets prevented me from getting a good sleep. Closing the windows doesn’t make any difference. The hallway was noisy too. Normally I wouldn’t mind that, but since I was there on a bussiness travel, that was indeed an issue.It's not the hotel's fault, but you should know that if you need to sleep during your trip. The breakfast room on the 2nd floor is really nice. Although a better cleaning wouldn’t hurt here, either. The breakfast was acceptable to start the day, though eggs seem to be an issue- wake up later - sorry, no eggs for you! Coffee in the kettle is really bad. Don’t drink that, ask the breakfast guy for an espresso: much better. Juice is also quite bad, but I’ve had worse, so... let's say it worked. I have the feeling that the rooms on the 2nd floor are better, but wouldn’t know for sure. One thing I found quirky and cute was that you had to insert a coin to use the elevator. The metal gate was also unusual and nice. As I said, the staff was really nice and helpful, always offering information and calling cabs, etc, but all in all, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone. Or at least, I wouldn’t recommend the rooms on the first floor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited Naples for a Bruce Springsteen Concert. Unfortunately, because Bruce was in town all the Hotels cashed in on the captive market! When we eventually found the Hotel, which was behind huge wooden doors without any signage, we were allocated what must have been the smallest room in the place! Even the gentleman who showed us the room apologised for the size. The decor was dated and the bathroom was tiny! They did move us to a better room for the second night which was much nicer. I can't understand the reviews stating the Breakfast was good - I thought it was a very poor selection, but I understand this is usual in most hotels in Naples.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the 2nd Floor - these have been updated and are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is in a historic house and you will have to cross a large courtyard and go upstairs where a friendly receptionist will take care of you.
Go there with the intention to stay for a while - the harbor with ferries leaving / arriving from Capri or other islands is a 20-minute walk away. By the way, the Eolian Islands, especially Volcano and Stromboli are great places to visit and can be reached by ferry.

Room Tip: there is no swimming pool but great shops and bakeries nearby the Toledo street that is reserved - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We last stayed here in 2010 - loved it then and it's now even better. Great location on Via Toledo, generous rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. It's now extended to another floor where the breakfast room is now located in a grand ballroom. The breakfast menu has improved too though we did struggle a bit with tiramisu as a breakfast treat though the granola was more to our taste. Be warned that taxi drivers often confuse this Napoli'tamo (Principe) with the other Napoli'tamo (Medina) that's just around the corner. Because the Via Toledo is a walking street taxis can't drop you outside the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is optimally located in the centre of Naples. You can reach most of the interesting places in Naples by feet/subway/bus. It is situated in an old palazzo which has been carefully renovated but still keeps the charm of former times. Really wonderful is the breakfast / dining room. We had a generous, recently renovated clean room which still had its old flair, with a new bathroom.

The staff people were very polite and helpful, although they sometimes were not able to give the right information. The breakfast was no real highlight, but the dinner was extraordinary: for equal or less money than outside in a trattoria they presented excellent tasty meals, in this wonderful ambience - really great.

If you arrive at night later than 22.00 hours (10:00 p.m.) you should contact the hotel in advance to arrange that somebody will wait for you. Negative was that at office hours you have to pay 10 cents for each use of the elevator, but you can ask at the reception for refunding.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, e.g. room #206, which is on the same floor as the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe Napolit'amo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Napolit'amo

Address: Via Toledo 148, 80132 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principe Napolit'amo 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Principe Napolit'amo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe Napolit'amo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.