We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria Da Donato

Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria Da Donato
Via San Cosmo Fuori Portanolana, 26/28 | Campania, 80142 Naples, Italy
+39 081 287828
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 63 Dessert in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Roma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are a tourist and you are looking for a restaurant around Naples railway area, chance are that you stumble upon a rip off. This is definitely not the case for Trattoria da Donato.
In a very run down location there is a real jewel of Neapolitan traditional cuisine.
My personal experience with this restaurant was absolutely positive. Linguine alla Scarpariello with garlic cheese, fresh tomato and chopped basil leaves, were absolutely great ad well as roasted octupus and a a very nice dessert an limoncello liquor.
The owner is extremely corteous and her wife is the chef who creates delicious dishes. She often spends time with customers explaining her art to them.
Definitely I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    307
    59
    31
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Walking from the train station i had some concerns about the neighborhood. Once inside, however, all was well. The owner is very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu. (There is no English translation.)

The restaurant features traditional Neapolitan dishes, including very good pasta (especially seafood pasta) and pizza. Pizza has a thick crust, which is delicious.

Everything is very fresh and cooked to order.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, typical. Close to train station and Mercure hotel. Good service and excellent plates. We enjoyed a good bootle of Campania wine, with mixed starters. Then a very good penne a fiorentino and carbonara spaghetti. Good value for money as well... But getting a certain reputation here and getting crowded. We didn't have to wait, but we were lucky. Reservation is advised.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wookey Hole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a real treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I regularly visit Naples for work and eat in a range of restaurants in this area of Naples (around Piazza Garbaldi) - plenty of these restaurants are fine but we've just discovered Da Donato's and it's in a different league. As the restaurant isn't on the Piazza it's quieter and less frenetic than the more central places

Their menu is a good range of typical dishes - excellent pizza & pasta dishes with really fresh ingredients. Good salads and the fish other people were eating looked good too. Wine & desserts matched the rest of the menu.

Great service - helpful and friendly - and very good value for money - well worth making the effort to find this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Compliments to the chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a great find via Trip Advisor. Short walk from our hotel. Great family & neighborhood-style restaurant. We asked for the Fantasia della Chef and it was fabulous--a surprise that changes every day. We were not disappointed. The host and his wife, the cook, were very nice and friendly. Didn't order the pizza or calzone, but they looked great at nearby tables. Thanks for a delicious meal. (To the chef: I hope you get to the US for your dream vacation! Best wishes!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria Da Donato also viewed

 

Been to Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria Da Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria Da Donato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.