We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find (and very homely)!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina di Via Sapienza

La Cantina di Via Sapienza
Via Sapienza 40, Naples, Italy (Pendino)
081-459078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 1,709 restaurants in Naples
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Pendino
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a find (and very homely)!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wow, we just walking towards the center of Naples and out of nowhere we found this restaurant. I was a bit skeptical because it was in a quiet ally but everything was fantastic. The food, staff and vibe was perfect. The restaurant is small and cozy. I will definitely go here again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    22
    21
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, away from the chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was a good little find. It's off the beaten path but still within a few minutes walk to central attractions. The area can get very busy with locals and tourists so it was nice to find something a bit quieter. The service was great, people were very nice and the food was great. The prices are reasonable which can be hard to find in the area. They have a daily menu to choose from. We sampled a few things. The papardelle with wild boar was delicious, and I was hesitant to try it. We also had chicken medallions with truffles which was also delicious. I certainly recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice people, food is only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

They are only open for lunch, The place was crowed with locals and tourists. The menu was in Italian, English and French. The service was very nice and quick, but the food was nothing special. There was only one pennette pasta dish on the menu, but it was so simple, almost completely plain. It was labelled zucchini and mussels, but there were only about two tiny little mussels in it. I was very disappointed. The vegetables were just drizzled in oil and the meat was good quality, but nothing that I would return for. I would really not recommend this place. If you happen upon it and are hungry, then it may suffice...but it is not worth seeking out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
“Great food and nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We've eaten here twice already this week. The food is very good, especially the vegetables. They are also warm and welcoming and the food is reasonably priced. It's worth the effort to find, it's the best food we have had so far in Naples.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Characterful and flavourful, and so near the sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ate lunch at this restaurant following a morning spent at the Archaeological Museum. It is tucked on one of the narrow streets that run through the Centro Storico, and is clearly a favourite of the medical students from the nearby hospital. We were made very welcome in a restaurant which had a real lively and informal buzz to it. Service was courteous and prompt and the food offered was all home-cooked local dishes. We enjoyed particularly a dish of sausages and greens (listed as broccoli on the list, but closer to spinach) - really flavoursome and accompanied by a delicious basket of bread. Cash only at this restaurant - but as the menu had the most reasonable prices of anywhere during our Bay of Naples holiday (around 10 Euros per head for lunch) this should not pose too much of a problem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina di Via Sapienza also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Cantina di Via Sapienza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina di Via Sapienza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.