We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Excellent Service, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transatlantico

Transatlantico
Via Luculliana, 15 | Via Luculliana 15, 80132 Naples, Italy
+39 081 764 8842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 1,854 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
East Marion, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Both a hotel and a restaurant, the Transatlantico is located on the Island of Megaride in Naples Bay. The restaurant has its own marina and in nice weather you can dine outside on their picturesque deck, surrounded by sailboats and yachts. The food was delicious; I had the best steamed lobster with pasta and a slice of chocolate mousse cake, simply divine. The service was excellent too. If you’re looking for a place to stay while you’re in Naples; it’s the perfect combination B & B with a convenient great restaurant. If it’s just a good restaurant with atmosphere for lunch or dinner; you found it. You can also visit the Castel dell' Ovo, the backdrop for this scenic location, just wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    100
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice view, on the water...sort of.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good food. Very prompt courteous service. Only about half the tables have a view of Vesuvius and the open water. The rest look back on the city and the marina with large boats. Still very pleasant view. the restaurant is tucked in the corner of castel ovo so you have to walk past the gauntlet of agressive hosts trying to pull you into their eateries.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible experience, rude staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had a awful experience at this bar. I arrived quite late with some American friends to grab a drink. There were locals having a drink there too and while they received quite good service but the staff were very rude to our group. They tried to charge us 22 euro for a bottle of wine!
All that would have been acceptable had the waiter not come up to the table and grabbed the table cloth right from under us, spilling the other half of my glass of wine! I was quite annoyed and asked for another glass. They brought it out in a plastic cup and then asked me to pay for it! I attempted to complain to the manager but he backed up the waiter who held up the table cloth and said "See? I didn't spill much at all. You should pay for the glass of wine". Rude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed food, service and the view to Vesuvius, was a pleasant surprise the price for the dinner, so will come back for sure!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood at the Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were staying just a stone's throw away from the yacht harbor and wanted to have our last dinner in Naples here. Because we expected touristy food, we carefully checked the names of all the restaurants the previous night and then looked them all up on Tripadvisor, settling on the least negative rating, which was for Transatlantico. We chose wisely!

The setting right on the water, within a shout of the luxury yachts, was sereme. The food was as fresh as could be and everything was of the highest quality and very tasty. The octopus salad was firm and fresh and the rustic bread that was served was the perfect foil to sop up every last drop of the oil and herbs. We combined one Neapolitan pasta with seafood and one mixed seafood grill. The former was perfectly al dente and came with an reasonable amount of seafood. The mixed seafood grill was outstanding - fresh swordfish, two large Adriatic shrimp that tasted more like lobster, an entire little squid like we have never seen anywhere, including not just the proverbial rings but also what I can only decribe as the back to which the rings are naturally attached, as well as the crunchy tentacles. The food was not salty (a pet pieve of ours) but also a little light on the herbs, which could have been used wisely to unlock even more of the same-day freshness. The wines were fairly priced and the Tuscan red we chose (despite having fish) was a very good accompaniment to the meal.

I could find a couple of flaws in service. The wine did not come either before the appetizer or even with the appetizer; we had to ask for it. A side dish of mushrooms in garlic never appeared but we wound up not missing it and it was taken off the bill without any issue. But the waiters were pleasant and the entire delightful evening was one of good ambience and even better food, a pefect way to end our stay in Naples.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transatlantico also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Transatlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transatlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.