We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Scialuppa

La Scialuppa
borgo marinari, 5, 80132 Naples, Italy (San Ferdinando)
+39 81 764 5333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
La Scialuppa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #544 of 1,994 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $36 - $114
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Ferdinando
Pozzuoli, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

We walked by the front of this place and I asked in my bad Italian for "due personne" and the first staff that saw us said they were closed. This was about 1520. Too late for reposa, and they didn't need to prepare for evening that soon.

We kept walking the water front, and ended up behind the same restaurants, ended up at the back of this same place with a bunch of waiters that said we were welcome. We asked if we could sit out front, and we followed them right past the same one that said they were closed(!)

I had a capricciosa and she had spaghetti with muscles, both of which were pretty good compared to others we have had in the area. We also ordered 2 large Peroni (in my mind red label) and got Nastro Azzurro, which we don't like unless in a can as the green bottles allow the beer to turn skunky. When I said we wanteda Peroni, he pointed to the little place on the label that says it is made by Peroni. Our poor Italian and his poor English was not going to solve this, so I chuckled and said OK...and yes, both of them had the special skunky smell of a green beer bottle.

We were second last to leave the table at 1630, at which time all the staff were inside eating, so I guess that first waiter had his watch set to the wrong time.

So, the food is on par with other restaurants in the area. You are right on the harbour of Lungo Mare, and you have a view of Vesuvius. They all would make this a 4-start. The wait staff are a 2-star, which averages this to 3 overall.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    217
    105
    44
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

Pleasant surroundings not matched by either service or food quality. An overpriced tourist trap. The only bad dining experience we had in Naples. Whilst the food was edible it wasn't the best and was almost slammed onto the table. We chose it because it was one of the busiest restaurants and there people waiting for tables whilst we dined but we certainly wouldn't return.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Recommended by our concierge, we thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. Probably more of a tourist crowd but the seafood was excellent and the service very good. The owner Salvatore is always in the dining room and ready to share a bit of love from his successful restaurant with his guests. We introduced ourselves and gave us a tour through to the back of his restaurant.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Our son wanted to eat at one of the restaurants at the harbour beside Castel dell'ovo and we looked at a few menus before selecting this one.
We could sit looking out over the harbour and up onto the hillside behind Naples and it was beautiful. There were patio heaters in the outside eating area and so even as the evening became night, it was warm and pleasant mid April. In addition, there was a gentlema playing guitar and singing, and he was wonderful. Talented and charming, he moved between the tables and judged the sons he played, their tempo and volume, perfectly.
The food itself was delicious. We had pizza, pasta and desserts and we all finished every morsel of food. My mum said the pasta with salmon was one of the best dishes she ate during our week long stay. We had wine and beer and water and thought the bill was very reasonable at less than €20 a head.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One to avoid....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

My wife and I were staying in Naples for a few days and we could see this restaurant from our hotel. There is no doubt that it looks good...idyllic setting by the harbour. There are a number of other restaurants around but this one benefits from its position, being the first one that travellers will pass if out for a stroll by the castle. The place looks good inside - very atmospheric. However, the service is dreadful and, in truth, of all the restaurants we visited, this is the only one where we experienced - at best - indifferent service. The food was overpriced and, in a country where food is a way of life, the quality was not great. i can't remember the last time I ate in a restaurant and didn't leave a tip.......

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scialuppa also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Scialuppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scialuppa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.