We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Renovated Luxury, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Decumani to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giustino Fortunato, 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80100 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #5 of 188 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen County, New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“100% Renovated Luxury, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent the night in Naples because our EasyJet flight from London got in too late to continue to Sorrento. We also planned to visit the Archaeological Museum, to see the actual statues and frescoes from Pompeii, which was on our Sorrento itinerary. We booked directly on their website.

One reason for this choice was that it is halfway between the Centrale Train Station and the Archaeological Museum. Some people don't want to walk that far - so don't think I mean it's "near" either of those. But many Naples visitors want to experience the street, and view the vendor displays.

We got to the hotel from the airport with the 15 Euro flat rate taxi fare, mentioned in the hotel's confirmation email to us-good advice. The hotel does look like a medium-sized, old palazzo. But the interior has been entirely gutted and renovated in the modernist style of marble-tile/glass/blonde wood. Every inch is like this. We paid 200 Euros for a Deluxe Room (#104), which is 2 on a scale of 1 to 4. The Classic room, 4, is 140 Euros. Our room was immense, with all new built-ins and furniture. The bathroom, with gorgeous, expensive new fixtures, was big enough to hold a party in. Internet was free. The double-glass windows kept all noise outside. We had two Juliet-balconies over the square, which was a dusty mess of legal and illegally parked cars - not a statue or fountain in sight.

The breakfast room was also spanking new and shiny, and there was an adequate supply of hot and cold European breakfast items, with fresh breads. The buffet wasn't like a luxury hotel, but it was well above the tourist-hotel level of choices - all pre-prepared, except espresso-to-order. Upon checkin, they gave us two free bar-drink tickets, and the bartender gave us small hors d'ouvres.

We were happy to be so quiet and comfortable in a gritty city. I know you may not want to pay this much. But I'm sure the double-glass and bathroom fixture brands are the same in the smaller rooms. Air-conditioning was good.

In the morning, we checked out on time, and left our luggage with the front desk. After a pizza lunch, we picked up our bags and rolled them ourselves about 3/4 of a mile (over plenty of cobblestones!) all the way to the Circumvesuviana station (downstairs at the Centrale Rail station.)

Room Tip: Euros -> Size. The views aren't that important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    248
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
108
524
48
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
killorglin co. kerry ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

lovely hotel right in the center of the old town walking distance to everywhere.staff friendly and helpful.good breakfast with choice and barman in bar loves his job.You get a voucher for a free drink on arrival, be sure not to miss it as he brings out enough snacks to feed an army. Naples not a place anyone need worry about restaurants as they have the best pizza in all of italy and hotel sent us up around the corner where there was plenty of places serving good food very reasonably.downside are taxis, they charge what they feel like so be sure to ask what it will cost in advance, that seems to apply all along the amalfi coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eng
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel should be perfect - it's location is ideal for Naples, the building has character [even if some of the interior design is a little gaudy] and the rooms themselves are kitted out fairly well. We felt 'safe' having read the other positive reviews to splash out a bit for a 4* hotel.

However the reality was very starkly different, the hotel seems to be suffering from a big case of complacency ego syndrome - ie we've got a high Trip Advisor rating, so we don't really care when things go wrong. In our case things did go badly wrong - we attended our room to find a horrendous sewage smell coming from the toilet, shower and sink - which got significantly worse whenever the toilet was flushed. We reported this to the front desk [just one member of staff as always] and there was no apology but an assurance they would ask the cleaner to do something. The cleaning staff to their credit did try their best but evidently there was a blockage in the sewerage pipes somewhere and it needed a plumber not a cleaner. When we reported the issue again the receptionist seemed totally indifferent and couldn't seem to comprehend why we were so irked by the smell of sewage. She said she'd already made a note for the cleaning staff (almost as if it was their fault), and that there were no rooms for us to move to and it was essentially tough luck get on with it. At this point we said we wouldn't be expecting to pay the full amount on check out and asked to speak to the manager - the response was there was no manager to talk to and that our concerns would be noted on the system. Still no apology. So after 2 full days of a horrible sewage smell we came to settle the bill the evening before we were to leave [we had an early start the next morning] safe in the knowledge we'd have a discount applied and opportunity to discuss our issues with the manager. This was not the case, a different member of staff at front desk this time - but once again one who knew nothing about our issues and therefore couldn't authorise a discount. We once again asked to speak to the manager. This was again not possible. However, they assured us that somebody with authority to discuss our issues and apply a discount would definitely be on hand from 7.30am - they would note the problem. STILL no apology.

The following morning (7.30am) we went down to 'settle' our bill and talk with the manager. However, there was again a different member of staff - who again knew nothing about our issues [clearly nothing had ever been noted on the system] and who had no authority to apply any kind of discount. Understandably by this point we were very annoyed and frustrated and demanded to talk to the manager or acting manager - we were told this was not possible as they were away for the weekend and that we would have to pay the full amount and take this up with them at a later date. At least this individual was very apologetic but ultimately we had to pay the full price and it was only because we happened to be returning to the hotel for one night [already booked so couldn't choose a different hotel] we had an opportunity to take this up with the manager. However, it really did take the shine off our stay in Naples and was a lot of hassle and stress. What kind of 4* hotel doesn't have an acting manager with the authority to resolve problems it really was a total shambles - there is no system for dealing with complaints or issues that arise at all!

Following an email exchange, on our return we did speak to the manager who was hardly effusive with her apologies, we were given an upgrade for the one night we were there - which essentially amounted to a slightly bigger room with a bath - the big bonus was that there was not a smell of sewage. We were also told there would be a discount applied to our bill on departure. The reality of this discount was a poultry 10 euros. Again to us this was indicative of a hotel that really didn't much care about one customer's bad experience and smacked of total indifference - but by this point we really couldn't be bothered to raise yet another point.

Our advice would be stay around the area (it's great) but think VERY carefully about booking this particular hotel because if things go wrong there is no system in place for resolution and an indeed very limited motivation among most staff for doing so anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and were absolutely satisfied. Located in the old town of Napoli, but the area felt safe and quiet. Staff at reception desk was very friendly, especially the lady working during the day. High quality breakfast of cold cuts, scrambled eggs, very fresh home made cakes and so on. Our room was on the third floor, very quiet, with comfortable bed and clean spacious bathroom. We would absolutely recommend hotel Palazzo Decumani.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Checked in after a long day of traveling. We couldn't be more happy with the hotel and room
Room is modern, contemporary designed and is nice a cozy. Huge ceilings give it a much larger feel. Excellent shower with a nice rain head option and hotel is perfectly situated. Within walking distance to everywhere you want to be including great restaurants, museums and historical sites. This hotel was very easy to get to. We came in on the train from Rome and it was either a 20 minute walk or 1 stop on the metro. We chose the metro and exited at university from there its just a 5 min walk.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of our trip in July. Best breakfast on our three week trip. Very good location to sights and train station.

It was clean and quiet and we felt very safe waking everywhere. They arranged a taxi to the hydrofoil for us. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is modern and right next to the hustle and bustle of the central historic area of Naples, we loved it. The staff are very welcoming and really helpful - ask for a map and directions at reception and they know everywhere. We got a welcome drink on our first night too - barman was charming, looked like he ought to be in a 1950s Hollywood film. Room was great (air-conditioned) and breakfast was lovely - lots of fresh fruit as well as cakes galore, with usual cheese/ham etc. Taxi to airport was 2 euros and arrived within 3 mins. If we go back to Naples then would be very happy to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazza Giustino Fortunato, 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80100 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#4 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#8 Business Hotel in Naples
#14 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Decumani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.