We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Decumani to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giustino Fortunato, 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80100 Naples, Italy (Pendino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 189 Hotels in Naples
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We really loved staying at the Decumani. The furnishing are excellent (lovely decoration scheme: sober yet plush. Big windows in our room, double-paned) and the location is magnificent: this is an immaculate palazzo in the middle of Naples' historical blight. Calm and clean and beautiful, yet surrounded by mess and noise and fun! We walked a lot around, and to the port, and only took a taxi to and from the train station. I found the staff helpful, and the breakfast plentiful (we do not get up early, so there was never any problem finding an available table. I don't understand a recent review here that mentions crowding and lack of food: we had plenty to eat and plenty to sit!)
The reception called a taxi for us at the end of our stay and the taxi came in 5 mn, as they told us. A post office across the street turned out to be very practical too for our postcards.
It was our first time in Naples: after the initial shock at the train station, we could not get enough of it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    241
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
101
502
47
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is not easy to find and the taxi driver had to ask colleagues several times how to get there, but for guests it is ideally located within walking distance of many places of interests.

The room was extremely nice provided you like crushed velvet. It was huge as was the bathroom. It gave onto the square. Contrary to other reviewers, we did not have a problem with noise at all. The sight from two of the windows could be more engaging. Crumbling buildings with tags everywhere and spilled trash on a street corner. But this is not the hotel's fault. This is the way a large part of Naples looks and it should not deter you.
Guests liking a softer mattress will not enjoy the bed. The mattress is really hard. We like a firm mattress but this is a bit extreme. Also the cover is very thin. If you are easily cold as I am, you'll end up sleeping in ... the hotel bathrobe for warmth.
Very comfortable bathroom with a large window. Very nicely appointed.

We would have given this hotel a very good not had it not been for some of the staff and the breakfast.

Two people should be commanded for their pleasantness and commitment to make guests enjoy their stay. They are Barbara at the front desk and the barman. They are really nice.
Not much to say about the male receptionist manning the desk at night as we only saw the back of his head. He was to focused on Facebook and Youtube to acknowledge guests walking in or out.
The receptionist on duty on the day we checked out was downright unpleasant with a sod-you attitude. One example is when we pointed out that we had only drunk one third of the largish bottle of water from the minibar and the maid had taken it away immediately. We were still made to pay for it. The cost was minor but the attitude was huge.

The hotel seems to have an inordinate love for heavy wine-colored velvet furniture (this includes velvet wrapped around the arms of the chandelier in the bar), and particularly for huge corner banquettes reaching very high up. This might be ok in the bar, although dark-red, grey and poor lighting don't do much for the atmosphere. But in a tiny window-less breakfast room, it is absolute nonsense. There are definitely more guests than there are tables because the furniture eats up so much space, and the place looks gloomy. You have to stand around until other guests vacate a table.

This was our breakfast experience: waiting for a table while eyeing the buffet. Some of the platters were empty. They were not replenished the entire time we had breakfast. We waited over 15 minutes for coffee (we were the only newcomers when we put in our order). No one ever came over to offer a second cup. Overall, the quality of the food is not good.

The couple next to us (the woman was Italian) asked for the platters to be replenished, specially the bread. They waited almost twenty minutes before this was done (and for their coffee) even thought the lady asked again. I hope they had better bread than ours because our rolls were stale. The experience was so poor that we skipped breakfast the next day to enjoy pastry and great coffee at a fraction of the price at a pasticceria. We paid for that breakfast anyway.

To top it all, check-out is at 11 and it takes all kinds of contortions to get it stretched to 12.

Altogether a mixed experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My reason for choosing this hotel was that I was travelling alone and I wanted to stay somewhere safe and central. Naples has a bit of a reputation which I felt to be mostly undeserved, but as a single woman traveller I am of the opinion it's better to be safe than sorry. For this reason I spent a lot of time reading a large number of reviews on tripadvisor before deciding on this hotel - it was not cheap, actually it was the most expensive of my entire Italy trip - including Florence and Rome. All in all however, the location made it worth it. The hotel is very centrally located in the narrow streets of the historical centre, making it possible to walk to pretty much all of Naples' sites. You are within walking distance of the train station without being too close - tip get a taxi to the hotel, I walked and felt very conspicuous with my luggage and the hotel is a bit tricky to find on arrival. A taxi should cost 10 Euros. If you are in town to see Carravagio, 2 of the 3 paintings in Naples are in walking distance of the hotel. Also near by are all the famous pizzerias and good gelato shops.
The hotel itself is clean and well maintained, the staff are helpful and on the whole very friendly. I was informed that it was safe to walk around until about 8pm alone as there would be plenty of people on the streets. My room was lovely with a very comfortable bed, a great bathroom with full bath and shower and Etro products. The room had a mini bar, safe etc and was very large and spacious. My only quibble was a slight chemical smell, but I left the window open and that solved the problem. Breakfast is served downstairs and is very decent there is fruit, cereal, toast, cake, yogurt, cheese etc. frankly given the cost of my room and how nice it was, I would have expected a bit better. On departure the hotel booked my cab to the station which was very helpful - 10 Euros. The lobby/bar/breakfast area feel a bit barren, the reason to stay at this hotel is for the room/bathroom and location. Tip get a bus to the Art museum/palace for Carravagio's third painting as it is on a hill and too far to walk. All in all Naples is well worth a visit, great food, amazing art and with a tiny fractions of the visitors to Rome and Florence! It was unbelievable to be able to stand virtually alone in so many museums!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We chose this hotel to be within the central historic district of Naples but accessible by car. The property is en excellent condition, well maintained and clean. Rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. Great restaurants and history walking steps away. Breakfast spread was extensive (only complaint was the coffee was not up to Italian standards). We loved the intimate bar and the bartender was very knowledgeable about local foods and served us perfect American Martinis (vodka and gin) and put out all sorts of high quality appetizers representative of local products and preparation. Staff were helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to the bar... You may not need dinner after all of the great appetizers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had a one day stay in Naples with an very early morning departure (4:30 am) the next day. The staff was terrific and arranged the taxi (and negotiated a good rate for me) and even brought me a cappuccino as I would be leaving well in advance of the breakfast.
The room was stylish, the bed very comfortable, and the plush robe and slippers were a very nice touch.
The hotel is right in the center of the old city and shops, churches, museums, cafes, delis are all a block away.
Some tourists are put off by the hustle and bustle of Naples; thinking the graffiti is distressing when it's actually some of the best political art you'll find anywhere. The old city is vibrant and exciting and this hotel is a perfect base to explore.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hotel Palazzo Decumani is located a few steps from Spacca Napoli, the heart of the old city of Naples. It is an oasis in the chaos of the city, a comfortable small hotel with incredibly friendly and attentive staff, but so well located that you can be in the midst of all the action within two minutes. We spent three nights there and moved safely round the city from this base. We enjoyed welcome drinks and aperitivi as well as a very good breakfast each morning, and the staff were happy to recommend some good places to eat and to visit. Our room was huge and quiet, with a comfortable king sized bed and an enormous shower which never seemed to run out of hot water! Our only problem was the slow wifi, which was intermittent in the room but worked reasonably well in the downstairs bar area. We also visited areas such as Chiaia, the more exclusive part of the city, but were very glad we had stayed at this hotel in this location because it gave us such good access to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place was such a pleasant surprise. I was a bit disgruntled when I booked it, because we were supposed to fly from Sicily to Naples, and then directly home to the states, but Alitalia moved our flight up 3 hours, so we had to leave Sicily one day earlier. I did NOT want to stay in Naples, after hearing so many negative things about the city. Well, this hotel was absolutely wonderful. They gave us the warmest welcome, and the staff was a delight...especially Barbara. Our room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. And... I also loved Naples. It's a wild, crazy city, but I was not afraid, even walking around at night. In the short time we were there, we had the best pizza in the world, visited the Archaeological Museum (which contains the art work from Pompeii and Herculaneum) and had the most fantastic dinner at a restaurant called Il Garum. We were treated like royalty at Palazzo Decumani.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Decumani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Decumani

Address: Piazza Giustino Fortunato, 8 | Via del Grande Archivio, 8, 80100 Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
#13 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Decumani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Palazzo Decumani combines the elegance of an authentic early 20th century palazzo with the very best in modern interior design so as to create an urban residence of quite indisputable charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Decumani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Decumani Hotel
Palazzo Decumani Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Decumani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.