We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's really sad what's happening to this once upon a time lovely hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Mauro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Mauro to your Saves list
Hotel San Mauro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Casarea, no 45, 80013 Naples, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“It's really sad what's happening to this once upon a time lovely hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Year after year we see this once upon a time very nice hotel getting more and more neglected.
Carpet at rooms not well vacummed so it's dirty at corners and near walls. Terrible smoke scent at rooms, bed clothes, sheets and pillows.BUTat every door one can read: "DO NOT SMOKE" so the real problem is that guests did not respect it at all. We know that its a problem of education of the guests and its dificult to change a paradigm of a whole region concerning not smoking inside hotels but one might always try to preserve what its good. We talked to concierge about all these issues. Concierge staff said they understood our concerns and they will forward it to management. Concierge staff continues working very well!
Please management bring back San Mauro to the high level four stars hotel it used to be!
Thank you guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
21
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel after arrive late in Naples, checking was made easy and staff were very accommodating, we were given a few free drinks before going to our rooms, the hotel was clean, rooms were off a good size, pool area was nice for relaxing, room came with breakfast, was a good selection on offer, hard to comment on value for money as we were there for a short period but was a good enough place to start Amalfi Coast tour.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not sure which hotel these other guests stayed at - this place is in the ghetto. We walked into the room and it was like a tea kettle. Sat on the mattress and it felt like I was sitting on the floor. Yes, the place was clean but after being lied to by the front desk we decided to vacate. Now they're charging us full price for leaving after 45 minutes. Nice customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights. Really big rooms for Italy. Great bathroom. It is a bit out of the way. €25 from the Airport in a taxi and €30 to the central train station. We arrived at around midnight and hadn't eaten. The night manager said although the kitchen was closed, he had the keys and would rustle us up something. He delivered us 2 plates of cheese and salamis with bread to our room. Also supplied us with a couple of beers, most appreciated at that late hour. We dined in the next night and had great service and lovely food. Not a good location, it seemed a bit seedy walking the streets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel offers free parking in front or garage where the elevator goes directly into the hotel. Area looks decent for a suburb of Naples, we have traveled only by car. In nearby intersection there is a grill Mr. Polo, there are reachable buy chicken and fries. The hotel is accommodated with business people. Hallways are spacious, the hotel looks pretty new. The room was very clean, very spacious, and air conditioning is excellent, without feeling cool air flow. Breakfast is very good and ample, as in the other 4 star hotels. I agree to an extra point for speed wifi internet in the room. The staff was always very kind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is well appointed with a pleasant interior, the staff are friendly and helpful, the outdoor area nice, the main downside to the stay was the location of the hotel. It is located outside of Naples, in an unattractive area with no bars or restaurants, which is difficult to reach currently because of many, many closed roads in the area, in particular the exit from the motorway, making travel from the airport more difficult. It cost us 40 euros to get from the airport, and the hotel shuttle seemed to be non-exsistant during our stay. My only other negative is that the bed was incredibly uncomfortable, very very hard. All in all it wasn't a terrible experience but I would mainly only recommend to people on business and those with hire cars as all other tourists will have real difficulty with the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed one night because we arrived late after 11pm the hotel told me to call them so they could arrange for a taxi at reduced rate to come and pick us up. Local taxi drivers wanted 40 Euros for a trip that should be 25 so I was really thankful for their help. When we arrived we had such a warm welcome, they do speak English, very well we found so not sure about the previous comment. The room was so spacious and modern, you would pay double if this hotel was in the town centre but we werent interested in seeing Naples so we werent fussed about proximity and knew it was out of town. The next day the reception was kind enough to arrange a transfer for us to the airport and they were so helpful. All in all a lovely hotel if you want some peace and quiet away from Naples.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Mauro

Address: Via Casarea, no 45, 80013 Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Mauro 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Mauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Mauro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.