We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Franz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Franz to your Saves list
Villa Franz
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fondolillo, 1/A | Serrara Fontana, 80070 Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 245 Hotels in Isola d'Ischia
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Healthy and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel situated in the quiet place about 15 minutes walk by nice hilly road from the center of San-Angelo. San-Angelo is up and down hills which can train your legs and backside very properly. So - you will come back home very strong and healthy.

Beauty - 2 minutes walk from hotel there are Aphrodite Gadens (SPA thermal park) and you can use it.

Food - You will be limited in terms of food choice -you can eat in Hotel or in restaurant nearby. Not the best restaurant in SA, for sure. To get to nice eat-places you need to take a walk to the center. You can take electrocar as well. The streets are so narrow - so only electrocar can take you there - about 3-5-9 euros one way. The center of SA is very nice - try ice-cream, go for pizza in pizzeria DePascal - the best one I know.

Beach - it is crowded near the hotel, but you can take a sandy 5-10 minutes walk and get more comfortable.

To conclude, it is not about hotel - we only slept in a hotel. My review is mostly about San Angelo as a place for vacation. And this place is mostly for your health and spa, but not for sea and beach.
.

Room Tip: Do not suggest room in the angle - some noise from water pipes not so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This was my third trip to Ischia, and for me, this friendly family-run hotel is in the best location on the island - close to the gorgeous town of Sant'Angelo, and a stone's throw from the famous volcanic "Fumarole" beach, onto which it has spectacular views from its bar and dining areas, as well as from its rooms.
To get there we caught the fast boat from Naples to the port of Forio, then had an easy 20-25 min bus ride to Sant'Angelo. We then called the hotel, who sent an electric taxi to pick us up with our baggage and take us along the narrowest roads I've ever seen. We only used the taxis for our arrival and departure with our luggage. The rest of the time we walked between the hotel and Sant'Angelo, as the road has the most stunning views of the sea and the Maronti bay, as well as of Sant'Angelo itself.
Not only is it great value, but this is a really super hotel! The welcome we received from Carmen, Gennaro, Pina and Vicenzo was warm and genuine, and it was clear that they are passionate about what they do. Our room was simple and clean, with excellent beds and a quality of bed and bathroom linen that we would only have expected from a hotel in a much higher category. The room also had a good sized terrace with fabulous views of the sea. We really couldn't have asked for more - in fact we loved it so much we stayed for 5 nights instead of the 3 nights we had originally planned. During our stay we ate in a couple of evenings and tried Pina's and Vincenzo's home cooking, which is not only excellent, but is also excellent value. The breakfasts, too, with home made cakes and jams, as well as warm pastries, were unmissable.
My only regret is that had we known we were staying longer, I would have taken advantage of the hot sand baths on the Fumarole beach below the hotel, which are great for aches and pains. The next time we go back, and we will, the lovely Franco's "sabbiature" will definitely be on the "to do" list!! Grazie Villa Franz e a presto!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

This hotel is on the opposite side of town from the bus stop which is a long 20 minute walk away, but is located about 1 minute walk from the Maronti beach. Aphrodite thermal spa is close by (not worth the trip compared in Negombo in the north of the island) and it's a 10 minute hilly walk into town. Our room was clean but didn't have air con or a TV and the bathroom was pokey. The hotel manager was very rude also. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I booked a one night stay at this hotel because the reviews seemed fair, the pool seemed nice, and it was close to beaches. After taking the bus from Ischia port to Sant' Angelo (40 mins), you must walk a good 15 mins. It was blazing hot that day so after walking down some hills, we finally got to the point where the streets were narrow and practically vertical so we rented a golf cart to take us the rest of the way to the hotel (3 euro a person, takes approximately 4 mins). The hotel was a dump. The room looked nothing like the pictures. The rooms were depressing and dimly lit... kinda felt like a college dorm. The showers are tiny and gross. The pool was by far the most disgusting I've ever seen... made out of tiles and the white calk was all black and moldy! Disgusting, it looked like a huge toilet seat. Plus, there's no lighting in the pool area so if you were to go in and chance it at getting syphyllis or something else you'd be doing so in the dark. Also, there were a pack of condoms just openly sitting on the desk of the room which was gross, kind of makes you feel like its an hourly hotel. I had pre booked and pre-paid for this hotel two months before my stay and come check out this hotel didn't know what I was talking about, so essentially I paid TWICE for this disgusting dump that I stayed in. Still disputing that. It was the longest night of my life. The staff does not speak much english, they try to be helpful (except for the guy who is just rude). The breakfast is simple, but certainly not worth 114 euro a night. Hotel is 5 mins walking distance from a beach filled with not sand but gravel pebbles and the ocean water is polluted and has trash floating on it. Worst mistake was coming to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Just returned from a fantastic Italian holiday which included six nights in this hotel. Booked this without having a chance to read any reviews so thought this would be useful for other travellers.

The hotel is small (less than twenty rooms) and the owners/managers are extremely friendly. Although they spoke fairly limited English they did their best to communicate and made us feel very welcome.

We were very pleased with our room - adequate in size with a small ensuite bathroom. They have basic neutral decor and are extremely clean and functional The airconditioning looked new and worked flawlessly (essential in Ischia in August) - some nights so well we had to turn the temprature up. The breakfast was good, continental style with meat, cheese, croissants - their home made jams tasted fantastic as did the cappuccino. What lifted this room out of the ordinary was the breathtaking view from the balcony - it overlooked the bay of San't Angello with it's pretty ships and port - magnificient. All the rooms seemed to face the sea as did the restaurant's terrace.

The location may put some people off - unless you struggle to get around because you are very elderly, disabled or lazy then don't let it. When we first arrived we had to get from Ischia Porto to this part of the Island - the bus stop is a short way from the Port and lots of buses go to Sant Angello. It is very inexpensive (about a euro per person) and takes 30-40 minutes. From here we got a taxi (ten euro's) where he told us we needed to get a golf buggy! (12 euro) We both looked at each other and thought 'what have we done' but we need not have worried. This went a relatively short distance - in fact the combined distance of the taxi and golf buggy turned out to be about a twenty minutes walk to the hotel.

Don't let this put you off you only really need to get the golf buggy and taxi twice to get your luggage there and back - in fact on our way back we used the buggy man to get out luggage as far as he could go to the bus stop and walked the rest of the way to get the bus back to Ischia Porto.

The reward far exceeds the small inconvenience. You are rewarded with the most spectacular views - this - we thought was the most beautiful part of the Island. A nice friendly hotel which has a beautifully quiet beach at the bottom of the walk down from the steps. This is private but has very reasonable charges for sunbeds and umbrellas - a free beach is just a small walk away (about five minutes). The main part of Sant Agnello with it's numerous shops and restaurants is only a twenty minute walk away as is the bus stop where you can get to virtually any part of the Island. Another bonus is the buses - when we were there they ran all night at frequent times - we were amazed.

On the whole this is a decent hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful location. If you are unsteady on your feet, hate walking or immobile than look elsewhere, the twenty minute walk descirbed is undulating and there are no lifts in the hotel. Otherwise go for it - you won't regret it.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franz

Address: Via Fondolillo, 1/A | Serrara Fontana, 80070 Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 245 Hotels in Isola d'Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Franz 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Franz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.