We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great pool and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Piccola Marina

Save Saved
You added Hotel della Piccola Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel della Piccola Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Mulo, 14, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 hotels in Capri
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value, great pool and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We only stayed one night but really felt looked after by the friendly staff. They were really helpful when we had questions about getting around the island, where to eat, activities and food. The pool is lovely and has views of the sea. It's a 10 minute walk down to the small beaches at Marina Piccola, and a bit longer to get back up the steep steps. We got a free room upgrade, they arranged for return of our misplaced camera, made the best Aperol spritz we've ever had and organised the coolest vintage taxi to take us to the port. Room was quite small but clean and had a nice balcony. Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    74
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
38
128
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed here after much deliberation with my girlfriend who became my fiance during the holiday. The hotel knowing I was proposing not only upgraded our room free to one with a private terrace by the pool but they also booked us in at il germanio a beautiful restaurant which was perfect for a special night.

The cleanliness of the hotel was great, they changed our sheets and towels twice a day! The toiletries which were free and exclusive to the hotel were excellent and the rooms were great and well lit. The bed was so comfortable and the whole experience was amazing. The location is perfect being a 3 or 4 minute walk from Capri and also a 5 minute walk from the Marina Piccola. The funiculore linking the harbour with the town is also very close. So getting around was easy.

Breakfast was basic but nice and on a terrace which was beautiful first thing in a morning. The pool was great, the service at the pool bar also very good and the facilities were excellent.

We found everything to be very perfect, it was quiet and in a lovely setting which was easily accesible. The hotel really couldn't do enough for us and I can highly recommend this hotel and that is as someone who has stayed all over Italy and Europe and indeed have traveled most of the world on both business and personal trips. Italian hotels especially on Capri can be expensive and often over rated but with this hotel you get a very good experience and it doesn't cost the earth like some do.

Excellent, can we thank the hotel for a wondeful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the private terrace or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in this hotel about after 3 nights in Rome. Our first night at this hotel I woke up the next morning and I had a huge (very first bite) bite on my back and got about 5 more bites before we left this hotel. Thinking these were mosquitoes, I didn't say anything. I also ignored the red blood spot I saw on the sheet. The bites continued throughout our trip and I started to think maybe we had bed bugs and they have joined us. We now have them in our home and we have had to throw away all of our luggage and spending hundreds of dollars to take care of this problem.
I contacted the hotel and they say there are no bed bugs. They said they searched all day and didn't see any. i hope they are right but we believe this is where our problem began. Our beautiful trip has turned into a nightmare ending.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

First of all, Capri is an expensive place in all matters. But the value for money in this hotel is quite OK. Capri's atmosphere changes as soon as the crowds of daily tourist leave the island in the evening and only residents and hotel guest remain. Consider to dress up yourself for dinner, others will do so as well. The hotel is located up in the hills of Capri city and you can reach the inner city area within 5-10mins. The location has an excellent view on the water side of Piccola Marina. The area is quiet and the pool athmosphere very relaxed. For breakfast you can sit outside and enjoy different kind of cakes (taste homemade). Fortunately we got a free upgrade to a suite with plenty of space and tasteful interior. We had two terraces on two levels. One was really huge and equipped with high quality deckchairs with soft layer, not the cheap plastic stuff. The staff in the hotel was very helpful and service-oriented. They arranged a motor boat for us, bought tickets for the cruise to Positano, recommended restos and searched the web for resto in Sorrent we planned to go after our vacation in Capri. All in all *****

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

From our arrival until our departure, the whole staff took very well care for everything. They arranged our transport from the airport of Napoli ( taxi driver waited at arrival ), to the fast boat at the port. In Capri again someone waited for us, helped with luggage and put us in a open limousine taxi to our hotel. There staff waited for us and again helped with the luggage. This for a price of € 140.
The room was nice, not very luxury, but comfortable and the terrace had a splendid view over the swimming pool and the sea.
The hotel is rather small, only 30 rooms, never overcrowded and quiet. Children are welcom, but are expected not to be very noisy. Most of the of guests are couples.
Breakfast is ok, and at the pool there is a little bar for drinks and a limited lunch.
Enough restaurants in the neighbourhood. You can walk within 10 minutes to the piazetta, where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Just around the corner you can rent a scooter, which allows you to make nice tours and go to restaurants a little bit further away. The service in the hotel is exceptional, the staff takes care for everything, and helps where ever they can.
Recommended Restaurants: Da Paolino (taxi or scooter), Il Tinello, Capricorno, Il Geranio, La Canzone del Mare ( at the Piccola Marina: taxi or scooter ).
Aswell for the hotel as on the entire Island, you need to be well on your feet; a lot of stairs and climbing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Overall, good stay. Amazing views from our room; very large terrace overlooking the sea. Beds were comfortable. Location is very close to the city center on a quiet street. Hotel staff very friendly. Decent pool although due to its position, shade kicks in pretty early. Only real downside was the price - a lot of other hotels of similar quality for cheaper. They go fast, though. Capri in general is fairly crowded; may consider staying in Anacapri next time. Otherwise, would definite recommend this hotel if you're willing to cough up the cash.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC - USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

For the money, there are many nicer places in Capri and Anacapri. The hotel staff is fairly aloof, the pool is mediocre and the rooms are just OK. It is close to CapriTown but so are many other much nicer spots - and for the price this is not worth it. Few amenities and a rather odd location make this not worth the trouble.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel della Piccola Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Piccola Marina

Address: via Mulo, 14, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Capri
#7 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Piccola Marina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel della Piccola Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Della Piccola Marina Hotel
Della Piccola Marina Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Piccola Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.