We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but way overdone!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri and Ana Capri

Isle of Capri and Ana Capri
Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$164*
and up
Capri Day Trip from Rome
Ranked #4 of 25 Attractions in Capri
Type: Islands, Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bacoli, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but way overdone!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Don't get me wrong, Capri is beautiful. The water is so crystal blue that it doesn't look real. However, in my opinion, it has been way over done. It is over priced and over traveled. The boat trip around the island was nice, the Blue Grotto was what I expected. Personally, I much prefer the less traveled sister island of Ischia, or even smaller, Procida. They are equally as beautiful and hold on to more of the Italian culture (in my opinion). More locals prefer these two islands over Capri simply for that reason, they haven't been over done. Happy travels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    275
    93
    40
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Capri develops around the Piazzetta while Anacapri is located on the slopes of Monte Solaro.
Ancapri is a distillation of colors, scents and light of the Mediterranean. Life is still authentic and survives to tourism.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
770 reviews 770 reviews
257 attraction reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“Well worth a day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

During our five night trip to Sorrento for our 40th wedding anniversary we took a day trip to the Isle of Capri. It was during the low season so many of the businesses and hotels were closed. Still we came mainly for the scenery and were not disappointed.

We took the ferry from Sorrento and arrived at mid morning. We met a tour guide, Luigi, on the ferry and he offered a very reasonable tour for us and five or six other couples. He took us in a van from the port up the OMG Road to Anacapri where we toured a couple of churches and had lunch. When in Anacapri be sure to go to Chiesa San Michele, a church which has a fantastic tiled floor that depicts the Creation. My son-in-law and I rode the chairlift to Mount Solaro while our wives shopped. The views from the top were fantastic. This is not to be missed if you have the time and it is a clear sunny day.

Luigi took us down to Capri for a couple of more hours of touring on our own. We walked down to the Gardens of Augustus where we had great views of Via Krupp and the Faraglioni Rocks. The sea was a little more rough than three years ago on our previous visit to Capri. This prevented us from going to the Blue Grotto, which was a highlight of our earlier visit. We had also taken the furnicular down to the port on our first visit, but we wanted to get to the port a little quicker this time so we rode down with Luigi. We caught the ferry and were back in Sorrento in time for the sunset. It was a great way for us to enjoy the Island of Capri and the lovely little town of Anacapri.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Isle of Capri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Instead of going on a pricey tour in Naples, I would suggest an alternative trip via fast boat from the the Naples port to the Isle of Capri. It is about a 1 hr trip and cost about $30 per ticket. The trip is very enjoyable and Isle of Capri is fabulous ! Remember to have cash for the ticket and pay close attention to your departure slot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Plan & Save”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The island of Capri is synonymous with luxury and wealth so everything is obviously going to be extremely over priced.

Best option is to day trip and explore the island which is divided into Capri and Anacapri. Capri being where the ferry will arrive and is the main tourist trap. Anacapri is the more small town Italian feel where most of the locals live.

If only for the day just focus on Capri be prepared to walk all day around the tourist map trail to see the rock formations, wander around the small streets full of fashionable shops and take panoramic pics.

If spending the night the cheapest places are in Anacapri, which can be easily reached by bus from the port for no more than €5.

The ferry to Capri can be taken from Sorrento, Amalfi, or Napoli. Prices vary but no more than €30.

Be sure to pack light snacks and prepare to spend if planning to shop on the island.

To see
Capri: 1 day
Capri & Anacapri 2.5 days

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri and Ana Capri also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Isle of Capri and Ana Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri and Ana Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.