We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri and Ana Capri

Isle of Capri and Ana Capri
Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 25 attractions in Capri
Type: Islands, Mountains
Attraction Details
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Capri is a little slice of paradise. Everyone is treated so amazingly pencil on this small island. The people are friendly and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    214
    68
    32
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best view in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wow, what a great way to see the whole island. The views are spectacular. They have a Bar up top too to sip on some wine. The ride down is almost better since the island is before you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place to escape, a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only 1 hour from Naples this is a great escape. Book a ferry for minimal costs and explor independently. The island has a small port then rises dramatically up steep cliffs to the other towns.
Transport is via a mini bus or the Funicular. Crowds are horendous for the funicular so choose wisely which way to go up .
When arriving at the port you will find independent boats touring the Blue Grotto. This is a great side trip and will take an hour or so to get there , taken into the grotto and return. If you get sea sick avoid this completely as you have to waiting in your boat to be transferred into gondollas which take you into the tiny inlet that opens up into the grotto.
Back on land the funicular is quick and easy yo rise the the main village overlooking the bay.
The village above is fantastic but extremely pricy to eat or shop. Having eaten at the port we were glad we ate below where Princess were better. The village is small and only requires an hour yo look around.
Many walking tracks located from up the top but require climbs down to coves and beaches.
Wifi zone throughout.
Definitely worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Make time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited the Isle of Capri from Rome by taking the train to Naples then another train to Sorrento, then a hydrafoil out to the island. We hoped to visit the Blue Grotto but the seas were apparently too choppy. This is typical though the weather looked calm. We then took the hydrafoil back to Naples and then trained back to Rome. Its an expensive outing but well worth it and far cheaper that organized tours out there. Beautiful sights. Would have liked more time to go onto the Amalfi coast from here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Capri, Beautiful Capri.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I took the ferry across to Capri, which was wonderful.
A huge tall ship sat off the island, basked in glorious sunshine.
Getting off the ferry we wandered around the harbour, and found a quiet café and had a cold drink, to talk about what we wanted to do.
We settled on hiring a boat to take us around the island, and to see Faraglioni. We didn't want to be sat amongst a couple of dozen other tourists, we wanted a boat to ourselves.
So we asked at the café, and the lady there put us in touch with the shopkeeper the other side of the piazza, she then got hold of her brother who had a boat, and he was willing to take us around the island.
For 100 Euros he would be our guide.
We climbed aboard his motorboat, which was something special,, clean, polished, padded sunbeds, the lot...
It was truly amazing. We went in all the grottos, he gave us all the local info, the history, the geological makeup of the rocks, he talked about the posh houses sat on the cliff faces, he was great.
We relaxed in the sun, on the gentle lapping waves.
He took us under, and through Faraglioni which was truly spectacular.
After a few hours of this, he took us back to the harbour.
We then decided to walk up to the main town of Capri, which was a steep climb, but an enjoyable one. Walk up the Via Aquaviva, it'll take you right to the top of the town, which has some spectacular views from it. It's a great photo opportunity.

Don't not do Capri, it's a beautiful island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle of Capri and Ana Capri also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Isle of Capri and Ana Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isle of Capri and Ana Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Isle of Capri and Ana Capri to your Saves list