We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capri to your Saves list
Hotel Capri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 71, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Capri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine hotel, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel Capri is a fine place to stay. The room was spacious, the view exiting. But the best thing about Hotel Capri is the excellent service and care of the staff. We had a splendid time here on the Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    75
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
88
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a room with a spectacular view of Vesuvius across the sea from one side, and a stunning view of Monte Solaro from the other. We could not have asked for better views.
The ensuite bathroom was also gorgeous--it looked recently done with all new white fittings, although perhaps not very well planned, as the toilet was situated between the bath and bidet, leaving nowhere for the toilet paper. The maids just left the toilet roll on top of the towel on the edge of the bidet--not very elegant.
The bedroom, however, wasn't quite up to the same standard as the newly-done bathroom. The bed and decor looked a bit dated.
Staff were helpful and the breakfast buffet was fine, although the hot chocolate was awful.
The location was fine--a short (walkable) distance from the centre of Capri Town, but this distance allowed the spectacular views unobscured by other buildings.
A lovely place I would stay in again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really liked staying at Hotel Capri. It is very quiet and clean, the staff is friendly, the view, like the building, are beautiful, and the location is perfect, a little bit off the main buzz of the square. Maybe we liked it so much because we were coming from Naples where we'd slept pretty rough and hadn't been smiled at for a few days, but in hindsight there's little we'd change. It felt like a nice haven in the midst of this busy island and for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is getting a little tired. We purchased a sea view room. We could see the sea.. but just... through some plants in front of the hotel. It is well positioned in the main street in close proximity to the main shopping area. Service was polite but we felt the staff were a little bored with the whole thing and did not encourage communication. Capri is quite expensive in some ways so is hard to gauge whether this is value for money. In hindsight maybe we should have paid a little more and stayed in a better quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Hotel Capri provided a stunning view of the Marina Grande and on to the Bay of Naples from our bedroom window. It is a short walk up to the restaurants and the scintillating views of the island.The hotel, which is in need of some modernisation did provide a comfortable room with adequate private facilities. The hotel in general was exceptionally well kept and very clean.The breakfast room was excellent. This is a magical part of Italy and our stay here was enhanced by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a perfect spot on the island Friendly helpful staff and immaculately clean. Great rooms.
As far as Capri being expensive is concerned it is really no different to anywhere else. If you go to the obvious tourist restaurants it is very expensive. Take a little trouble to look around. We found a fabulous restaurant 30 seconds from our hotel where a superb two or three course meal never cost more than 60 euros for two including very acceptable bottles of wine at 6 euros

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel Capri was fantastic. We stayed on a tour and it was great. The reception staff were lovely, the rooms were huge and it was within walking distance to everything. The bus stop and the cable car were just a couple of minutes walk up the main road. The hotel itself, has been well looked after, is very clean and the variety at breakfast was really good. For an island that is so expensive to stay on, Hotel Capri met our needs at a reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Via Roma 71, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a sun terrace with panoramic sea views, Hotel Capri is just 650 ft from the central square of La Piazzetta in Capri. All rooms are spacious and air conditioned.This 4-star hotel is one of the earliest established properties on the island of Capri. With its charming Art-Nouveau design, it is surrounded by some of Capri's most popular cafés and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.