We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lo Smeraldo has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Smeraldo

Lo Smeraldo
Piazza Vittoria, 1 Marina Grande, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
081 8375072
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Capri
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lo Smeraldo has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I and another couple just returned from Naples Italy. Twice during our holiday we took the Ferry over to the beautiful island of Capri and both times we ate at Lo Smeraldo. First, you can't beat it's location right on the water and right in the middle of the downtown. (also right behind the ferry ticket booths.) The food is so fresh - they bring a cart with the catch of the day right to your table. On our visits there was lobster, tuna, turbot and much more which they will make any way you want. They also have an extensive regular menu and wine list. The staff was exceptionally welcoming. A special shout out to Fabio who took such great care of us.

On our second visit we took advantage of their private beach club. The only negative is I felt the additional costs were excessive (15 Euro per chair) especially considering that we spent a considerable amount on food and wine on both occasions. I would recommend that the chairs be free of charge or at least discounted for restaurant patrons.

Overall this is was an amazing experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    33
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location for a restaurant. The food was good but pricey, although it seems the rule in Capri. They have access to a sea pool from the restaurant that can help to refresh you while you wait for your food. The staff was super, very helpful and friendly with tourists.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

NINO provided the best service ever! An experience that went above and beyond. My daughter was distraught because she forgot her new camera at the restaurant. Nino spoke some English and the receptionist spoke none at all so I was phoning in English from Switzerland and returning to Canada. He ran around for days to the banks and post office figuring the best way to mail it and the cost. He packaged and mailed the camera that I returned t o my daughter today. I know that in Capri, a busy,hard working man who already spent too many hours at the restaurant, spent further hours adding to his burden just to do the right thing. NINO, thankyou!
Beyond the service I'll never forget, came the absolutely fantastic location and food. An experience we'll always hold close to our hearts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved it here! We spent the day relaxing and swimming in the amazing water. Had a light delicious lunch which consisted of a caprese salad and fried calamari at their restaurant. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view, fresh food, great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Found conveniently close to the port, this restaurant serves exquisite traditional Capri plates.
The service is absolutely amazing, and the waiters show deep knowledge of every plate on the menu. Not to mention the amazing view, the variety of the menu, and the deliciousness of the food, this restaurant has good prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Lo Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Smeraldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.