We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense, comfortable lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Tosca

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Tosca
Save
You added Hotel La Tosca to your Saves list
Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Dayton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No nonsense, comfortable lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hotel La Tosca is a reasonably priced oasis in crazy-expensive Capri. The facility is very clean and neatly appointed after a recent renovation. It is a bit of a walk from the piazza, but the walk is through beautiful Capri, so no problem. Ettore is an attentive and informative host. He was a fount of information about restaurants, hiking and other attractions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    99
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
95
313
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Location is very good, clean rooms, the owners are very kind, good value for money. It is just a little hard to find it if you follow directions given in the site.
I definitively recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel Tosca is ideally situated at a fraction of the cost of so many of the surrounding hotels. The décor is clean & simple. On arrival we appreciated the welcoming complimentary beverage on the patio & the opportunity to take in the magnificent view.
Ettore thank you so much for adding to the pleasure of our 1 night stay in Capri (Sept. 30th). We sincerely appreciated the time you took to map out suggested hikes & sights that we may have otherwise missed during our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Thankyou Ettore for making us feel so welcome and for making Capri possible on a budget. This place is simple but relaxed and made us very happy. Our room had a sweet little balcony with a glimpse of the sea, and we ate breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine. Plus our host was a mine of insider information: how to eat, drink and hire a boat on Capri without bankrupting yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

It was in a pretty good location, very clean rooms, extremely nice staff, and resonable price.
Was a little bit tough to find when we just arrived in Capri but when we called Ettore he explained us in details.
I understand why people gave such a good review on this hotel. I would love to stay in Hotel La Tosca next time I visit Capri.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at La Tosa for 3 nights in a standard double bedroom.

We had been upgraded to this room from our smaller room on the basis that this room had a sea view. I had no complaints since we effectively got a larger room for the same price. However the room was near the reception (again I sleep soundly so noise isnt an issue for me but may be for some people) and the view was one of Capri with a sliver of a view of the sea. I dont expect a customer paying full price for a sea view would be pleased with this. In our case, we didnt mind given the upgrade. The room was of a good size as was the bathroom and was spotlessly clean. Shampoo, towels, hair dryer, etc were provided. The airconditioning worked well and the shower had decent pressure with plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was sufficient - croissants, toasted bread, capuccino. Nothing to write home about but friendly service and plentiful amounts. I asked for more toasted bread, butter and jam and this was never an issue and staff were obliging and friendly.

The hotel is more like a simple B&B but what truly elevates this hotel is Ettore's service. He is friendly and knowledgeable. He gave us plenty of guidance for walks and restaurants. He always took the time out to explain things to us patiently and asked how our day went. From arranging for the porter to carry our bags on departure to giving us beach towels for swimming, he anticipated our needs and was always ready to assist. His helpful, engaging manner is what elevates this hotel to a 4 star experience.

The hotel itself is well located. Close to town but tucked away down a charming street which is peaceful. Its right next to the Augustus gardens (which have lovely views and are quite peaceful esp if you visit them towards the evening when the day trippers have left) and next to Via Krupp from where you can walk down to the lovely beach. We thought the hotel was fairly easy to find. Its worth requesting the porter service to pick up your bags when you arrive. I had mistakenly omitted to do this and we were quite tired lugging our bags to the hotel! The entire trip from port to funicular to hotel was easy though. Also request the porter service in advance if you want them to pick up your bags on departure.

In terms of restaurants - we thought the food at Bucca di Bacco and Da Gemma (esp the Sicilian raviolo with smoked cheese and aubergines) was good as was the friendly service. The gelato/dessert place close to the Ferragamo store was excellent - I particularly liked the coffee icecream and the biscuits with whole almonds.

We rented a boat from Banana boats (Ettore helpfully supplied us with lots of information on boat rentals) for 3 hours and went around Capri and swam near the grottoes. It was a wonderful experience.

We also went on several long walks kindly suggested by Ettore. The Arco Naturale walk was lovely as was the Arc itself. We took the series of winding steps from the Arc that led to the Faraglioni and the views were breathtaking - including a view on a platform just before you get to the Faraglioni and private beach - the view made you feel like you were standing on the edge of a cliff looking at the Faraglioni - we returned there to watch a sunset. We also used the private beach for a few hours (and negotiated the rate down accordingly) and swam around. At that stage we hadnt discovered the Via Krupp beach or done our boat trip. In retrospect one could always use the free public Via Krupp beach to swim and view the Faraglioni.

We also took the chair lift up to Mount Solare - it was great fun. We then took a walk down the mountain suggested by Ettore. Some of the views was terrific but I would STRESS that this walk is a moderately difficult one (it is more of a wild path down the mountainside and at times you have to use your hands for support as well) for experienced hikers. I dont fall into that category so found it very hard going. I would also recommend you take a torch. The walk takes 1-2 hours but the chairlift stops by about 5pm or so. In the event you attempted the walk and it started getting darker (and you couldnt return to take the chairlift) you would definitely need a torch. I understand there are supposed to be red paint markers on stones throughout the trail but we found none. Luckily we did have internet/google access on our phones so could map our trail. Having said that, at one point on the trail you get a 360 degree plus view of the island and sea all around - its quite lovely. Dont do the walk if its been raining because its hard enough without contending with slippery mud!

Prior to Capri we had been in Positano which I didnt think much of. I expected Capri to be even more touristy. During the day hordes of tourists come in. The advantage of doing the walks is that most day trippers dont have the time/inclination to do them and for most part you bump into relatively few people during the walk. It makes you feel as if you have the island largely to yourself. It was quite wonderful walking past villas with orchards full of lemons, peaches, oranges, flowers etc - a slice of heaven we thought.

Ettore is a great guide and gives you tons of information and assistance. He makes everything easy for you and is the reason La Tosca has its high rating!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

There is nothing missing in this little hotel. Absolutely fabulous location in Capri with charming immaculate renovated rooms. A friendly and caring staff who have lived on Capri all their lives offering suggestions for meals and things to see and do that were ideally suited to our interests. A great value, wonderful capuccino, sun filled rooms, lobby and terrace! Pick a room with a covered terrace as it feels more like an apartment than a hotel room. With so many shops to buy wine and beautiful foods to take out a refrigerator in the room and a bistro table on the terrace for an intimate dinner party was a wonderful way to spend out last evening on this gorgeous island! Our time there was short but so memorable we shall definitely return to Hotel la Tosca.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tosca

Address: Via Dalmazio Birago 5, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Capri
#3 Family Hotel in Capri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quite and simple atmosphere and the warm hospitality are the main characteristic of this small, cozy hotel that it has been completely renovated and equipped with new comfort. From the wonderful terraces that overlook the ancient Monastery of St Giacomo, you will have an impressive view of the Faraglioni rocks and a completely relaxing holiday. Located in Capri center.Free wi fi and free use of Ipad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tosca Capri
La Tosca Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Tosca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.