We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAS ALL YOU COULD WANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residenza

Save Saved
You added La Residenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Residenza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Federico Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 hotels in Capri
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“HAS ALL YOU COULD WANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have vacationed on Capri for extended stays a few times, but this was the first time at La Residenza for nine nights. So glad we went with our first impression and did not listen to the negative reviews on this site. Found this hotel the last time we stayed on the island and knew it was worth a try and we were right. The location was fantastic. All the employees were always helpful, welcoming and very professional. They set up our transfer from Naples Airport to their hotel and everything ran smoothly. Whenever we approached the front desk for assistance, they were very accommodating and made you feel you were not bothering them in any way. The room was always kept clean. The buffet breakfast was always replenished and consisted of the usual items. The only complaint we had about the hotel was - at breakfast there was no fresh fruit and the under tablecloths that went to the floor needed a good cleaning!! But these two issues would not keep us from returning. The Bar persons were always there, whether with towels and cushions for the pool lounge chairs or our daily afternoon pot of tea. If you find yourself planning a trip to Capri, definitely keep La Residenza in your plans. You cannot find a hotel in this central location with such reasonable rates. If a "view" does not matter to you - Room 204 is spacious with a lovely terrace with two wicker chairs and a table. The room is newly remodeled and very comfortable. This was on the third floor, not the top (fourth) floor. The air condition worked great. We viewed a room on the fourth floor with a lovely large terrace and magnificent view, but stayed with 204. 204 was more modern and a larger room. If a large terrace and a view is important to you, then mention this to the management when booking. I believe we viewed room 305. A smaller room needing updating, but great terrace with a view. When we return to Capri, we will be staying at the La Residenza.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    67
    45
    30
    10
See reviews for
32
87
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

stayed there in September. perfect location and great value for price. service was great as well. downside is average breakfast and relatively old rooms.
overall, i highly recommend this place for a stay with family or friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

White, is how I would describe this hotel. Huge lobby and pool area. I enjoyed an off afternoon where I could just kick back and lay at the pool for a nap before the evening activities. My room had a small patio where I sat to have a glass of wine before dinner. The room and bath were more than adequate to satisfy my needs. I was able to walk right out of the hotel and be right in the middle of all the upscale shopping I could have wished for, along with a convenient ATM machine. Since I was on a group tour, with its own special menu, I cannot comment on the food served to individual guests, but the bartender made me a perfect manhattan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Lobby and pool area are breathtaking. Lovely patio off our room. Close walk to everything.. Air conditioning worked fine. Some say it needs updating but I think the tile is part of the Italy charm.

Room Tip: This stay was part of a tour so I don't know if it was a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

lovely and charming ....service is good and staff is polite the view from the pool is truly fabulous bar ambiance is nice he piano player is great very close to everything like everything in Capri very friendly and easy going

Room Tip: ask for the ones with a view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 2 night stay on Capri. Would liked to have stayed longer. Very affordable, and central, with a magic outlook, and the best swimming pool I have ever seen. Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtarfa, Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

the hotel is in an ideal location, just within walking distance for everything. that being said the ac did not seem to work and it was so hot, and the hotel could use being redone a bit as tiles, bathrooms, and sheets look like they are from the 80s.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Address: Federico Serena 22, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#27 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Residenza is located just 220 yards from the Piazzetta, Capri's central square. It offers a large sun terrace with swimming pool and peaceful grounds with palm trees.Set in the heart of Capri, La Residenza is surrounded by the town's most popular shops, bars and restaurants. The port of Marina Grande is 5 minute drive away for ferries to Italy's mainland.All rooms are air conditioned and come in a range of styles. They feature a minibar and satellite TV and some have a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea.Guests have free Wi-Fi in public areas and a buffet breakfast served each morning. The restaurant serves a varied menu of Italian and international cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.