We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, some drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Maresca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Maresca to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Maresca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provinciale Marina Grande, 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, some drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our first time in Capri, we enjoyed our stay at Relais Maresca. Staff were welcoming and very helpful during our two day stay. The hotel is clean, well kept, and well appointed. We had an ocean view, small balcony terrace, and large cheerful room with a small sitting area. Bathroom was large and spotless. Breakfast was well stocked buffet and they were flexible to special requests like making you espresso or cappucino. It is a handy hotel on arrival because it is right there after you get off the boat. You walk up a short hill or a stair case , your choice, and you are there. Right below the hotel you can buy tickets and catch a bus or the funicular. So it is very handy. At 200 euro it wasn't cheap, but not crazy expensive.

The drawbacks to the hotel all have to do with Capri and not the hotel. The harbor area is noisy and we abandoned the balcony because of the diesel fumes from the vehicles on the street directly below. It does quiet down after the last boats leave and we slept well. The hotel has a great rooftop terrace with lounges and tables so if I stayed there again I would not get an ocean view and just enjoy the rooftop terrace. If I stayed in Capri again I would probably chose a less expensive B&B or a hotel out of the busy areas. Probably in Anacapri. It is so easy to get around Capri by bus and walking that the convenience of this hotel's location is not as great as it might seem. But all in all, it is not a bad choice for the first time visitor. We had a great time in Capri.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    111
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
174
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

When we arrived on Capri after many hours of travelling (first by air, then by ferry), it was a relief that the hotel was very convienently located directly across the street from the ferry terminal. The check-in process was relatively quick, and we were shown directly to our room. The room itself was a bit small, but was very clean. The floor and wall tiles that decorated the room were lovely. The air conditioning wasn't the strongest, so it got to be a bit stuffy in the room at times. The breakfast that was included with the room was typical of European hotels- meats, cheeses, bread, small pastries, cereal, juice, and coffee and the patio where it was served was very nice, overlooking the sea. The hotel is also quite close to the funicular, which leads directly to the piazzetta, Capri's central spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel, while I was a bit dissapointed with Capri in general the hotel was a total let down, We paid the extra an opted for 'room 41' and it is really the view you are paying for. The hotel is 4* but not up to that standard by any means, The room was smaller than average, the furniture was dated, bed linned was stained, there was big damp marks under the air con and the floor was filthy! The room was pretty shabby in general, We found the staff to be rude and not very interested in the guests.The nicest staff member was the gentleman who covered the desk in the evening. Would not stay here again. Definitely not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We recently stayed at the Relais Maresca for two nights at the end of August. The hotel is 50 meters from the Marina Grande. No need for a porter or taxi or anything as long as you can carry your luggage up a set of stairs. The Marina Grande is busy, but the noise was not really noticeable in our room. It is nice to be conveniently located next to the marina, and there are plenty of tourist shops, restaurants, and gelato stands within a 100 meters. However, this probably would not be considered the “nice” side of the island. The Marina Piccola seems to have nicer hotels, shops, and such, and the scenery (Faraglioni Rocks) is nicer.

The hotel room was small-ish and certainly not posh. In the US, it would be decent Motel 6/Hampton Inn type furniture, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Fortunately, we were given the room at the top of the hotel, with its own private patio. The patio was huge (maybe 25 feet x 40 feet), with two loungers, two chairs, a small couch, and a couple of tables. The patio also had a covered area with a desk, work-out bike, and an outdoor shower. While the room was uninspired, the patio was spectacular. We likely would have been disappointed in the room if we had not had the great patio. The patio was above the terrace where breakfast is served, and had a great view of the marina, the island, and across the bay.

Had no troubles with check-in or check-out. We did not have any special requests for the staff and thus did not have anything out of the ordinary happen. The air conditioning in the room was fine. We were never able to get the room “cold”, but it was certainly comfortable all the time. The breakfast was plain (e.g., cereal, croissants, breads, yogurt, etc.). We would not have paid for it, but it was included in the room rate, so it was an acceptable and filling enough to start the day.

The cable car (funicular) is near, and that is a much, much better way to the center of Capri rather than walking. We did walk up one time, and it was brutal in the hot August weather. Everyone walking up was sweating and struggling. Take the cable car. It is cheap, faster, and less sweat inducing.

We took a private boat tour of the island (120-200 euros depending on the length). This was a steep price, but we generally like the solo tours more than the group tours. We were able to see what we wanted to see, swim when we wanted to swim (e.g, through the green grotto), and did not have 20 other people on the boat.

There are no real sandy beaches on the island. The tiny beach by the Marina Grande and the hotel did not seem too great. We did spend a few hours at Da Luigi’s overlooking the Faraglioni Rocks. The chairs, towels, and umbrella were something like 50 euros for the day).

Definitely take a cab or bus over to Anacapri. It is quieter, has fewer high-end shops, and is just more quaint than Capri. We went over in the evening, walked around through the neighborhoods, and had a nice meal outside.

Room Tip: As for the room at the top of the hotel with the large private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I arrived early evening hours with no room still booked. The Maresca is right in front of the port of Capri. I looked up and saw a very attractive hotel. The receptionist was absolutely amazing. Very accommodating and at your service. My stay was minimal but i was treated like a prince. My room was on the top floor and had an incredible view of the port and harbour. Breakfast on the rooftop is majestic as you see the port of Capri and its lower surroundings. Breakfast was amazing. Fresh fruit, excellent coffee and lots of variety on the menu. I went in the off season and i can assure you i was very lucky to have this hotel room available. Capri is a must see however I should add that the Relais Maresca was really conveniently located. When there is lots of traffic in the higher parts of the island this location is really attractive. Room was beautiful and very clean with ceramic tiles that gives it a real charm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent the first night in the Excelsior which was a lovely hotel. Would definitely recommend it. But then our whole vacation was ruined when we moved into the Relais Maresca. The staff are very unhelpful and ignorant. 3 of them didn't even know if they had room service!! The AC was down for 2 nights and the staff didn't even inform us or help us move into another hotel. They didn't even have the curtosy to give us a discount or offer anything else for their poor service. We spent both nights in 35 degree rooms with not even a bottle of water offered by them.

This hotel ruined our vacation and the lovely experience of capri and we will definitely not be going back to the Relais Maresca.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domdag, Direttore at Hotel Relais Maresca, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Gentlemen,
I take this opportunity once again to apologize for the inconvenience you had the two days that you have been guests in our house.
I understand all your anger at the problem of air conditioning, that normally it works fine, and not for our defense, it was caused by the unexpected blackout in the area in Marina Grande of Capri for about 4 hours (from 3 pm to 7 pm) in the afternoon of last Thursday had for a serious problem by the local electricity supply company. This incident has damaged our air conditioning system that has been blocked until the next morning when our engineers have intervened from Naples for repairs. At 11 am of the same day everything was running perfectly
Is not true, and, I'm sorry that you say that, we have not even offered a bottle of water. I personally discounted all the extras (mini bar and restaurant) of the 2 days you spent with us as partial reimbursement for the inconvenience.
Hoping to see you again in the next future to have another opportunity to change your mind,

Domenico D'Agostino
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Best location ever and convenient. The sites were beautiful and the service phenomenal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais Maresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Maresca

Address: Provinciale Marina Grande, 284, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Capri
#4 Family Hotel in Capri
#6 Business Hotel in Capri
#12 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#17 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Maresca 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais Maresca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Maresca Hotel
Relais Maresca Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais Maresca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.