We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but not as grand as I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens of Augustus

Gardens of Augustus
Via Krupp, Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Attractions in Capri
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Stoney Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Pretty but not as grand as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The views of the sea were more impressive than the gardens in my opinion. I'm glad I went but don't think it is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    127
    37
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Gardens with views in many areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The flowers are pretty and there's a way to sit down, which is nice after walking all over the place. Many views over water and down the mountain.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“beautiful garden with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

this garden is so beautiful, it's small and cozy and offers amazing views of the I Faraglioni. it has an access to the Via Krupp footpath which connects the garden to the Marina Piccola. the footpath provides views for the island as well. the entrance is for only 1 euro and totally worth every cent of it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the town square this is a 10 minute walk and you pass where the perfume is made, so stop for a look at that too. The outlook to the southern side of the island from above the gardens is stunning, another fab photo opportunity. The garden itself is small but beautiful and has an interesting history. Make sure you do the hairy bus ride to Anna Capri, I had a real sense of vertigo during it while looking through the camera lens. Needless to say we caught a fancy taxi down to the port. To complete the must do,s is the ride up to Capri town on the funicular after you arrive. All of that takes care of about 4 hours, especially when you add in eating, drinking and drooling over the shop windows! We couldn't do any water activities as all small boats were cancelled that day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice with some fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were very pleased to visit the gardens, where there were some beautiful views of the island. It was a little crowded, but I guess that is to be expected at this time of the year. The gardens were very nicely cared for and excellent to relax in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardens of Augustus also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Gardens of Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens of Augustus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.