We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capri” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina Cristina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina Cristina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina Cristina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via F. Serena, 20, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Capri”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel was average! A little tired but clean, with very helpful staff. Location was great. Fridge didn't work but airconditioning was good. Wifi was a hassle to connect to, had to start from scratch each time or switch device off and on again. Pool was lovely but a 5 minute walk away in another hotel.
Breakfast had gluten free available which was a pleasant surprise and adequate supplies.
Tricia & Noreen

Room Tip: couldn't remove rating on fitness centre, shouldn't be one as they didn't have one. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    48
    18
    25
See reviews for
30
68
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel in Capri, close to the piazza. People at the front desk are helpful and very nice. The hotel is clean. Beautiful view from the room. It happend to be a full moon one night. I will never will forget this place!

It is an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First things first - do not take a taxi (€20) from the marina to the hotel. Pay €1.80 and take the Funicular (Funicolare), it takes you closer than the taxi can. The ticket office is off to the right as you exit the docks and not at the entrance to the funicular.

As this hotel was not the Boutique Hotel that I had booked, but instead the hotel to which the said boutique hotel shunted me after they decided they didn't have a room for me, I wasn't particularly well disposed to the hotel. Saying that it was perfectly pleasant if rather generic and travelodgey. The staff were perfectly pleasant and really quite helpful. After changing rooms because the original was dark and pokey and had no wifi signal, the room I got was light and airy.

Beers weren't too expensive considering Capri prices, the breakfast was pleasant, but not outstanding.

On my way out, I managed quite easily to tkae my little suitcase from hotel to the funicular myself (and I have a dodgy knee!) thus saving myself the €12 they charge for taking the luggage down for you.

Room Tip: 213 was very dark - 201 lighter but near lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Regina Cristina was booked through our travel group. It was an average hotel, a bit outdated. Their bathrooms could use some re-tiling and the dinning room had signs of wear/water damage around the ceiling. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. They do have an elevator if you can't walk stairs easily.

The food in the dinning room was good - nothing to rave about, but okay. The service was excellent in the dinning area and at the front desk.

The location is perfect for walking into the main Capri area. It is downhill from the Fanicular. Beautiful walks just down from the hotel with stunning views of the surrounding water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was not worth the money we paid. The first room was clean and bright enough. It had a sea view but it was furnished like a travelodge! There was a large LCD tv but we didn't have time to see if it worked as we had to move rooms because the 'spa bath' (grubby) did not work- water in the electrics (never a good mix!)
Our second room had a working bath but the toilet stank! The woodwork looked like it had been gnawed at by a dog and the tv was an old type with no English tv Channel. The sun canopy on the balcony was broken.
The bed was comfy at least! But breakfast the next morning was terrible. The staff were grumpy, we waited more than 10 mins to be offered coffee and the food kept running out.
No way is this a 4 star standard hotel. Capri itself was lovely, but please don't waste your money on this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelReginaCristina, Direttore at Hotel Regina Cristina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for staying at the Hotel Regina Cristina and for your comments, although negative, they are even more useful to continue our efforts to improve and hopefully obtain better references on the occasion of a future visit to our beautiful Island of Capri.

Concerning your comments, remember the change of rooms due to the Jacuzzi problem and made sure that in the new room it did work before bringing up the room key, unfortunately didn't note the toilet smell and sorry you didn't mention anything so could have tried to resolve this problem as well.

Apologize as well for the slightly ruined furniture, now in the office season maintenance staff is working on these small but important details. As you have probably read from other reviews, ours is not a deluxe property but a homely family run hotel. Our strengths are the hotel's position and generally considered friendly and available staff. Perhaps that busy morning, also being at the end of a long season (though obviously not a valid excuse), we were not up to standard, sorry.

Glad though that you and your family did enjoy your trip to Capri, and thanked me on departure, also for the excellent low season rate for a sea view triple room. If you decide to come to Capri sometime in the future, please do contact us before reserving your hotel as we most certainly will have progressed in improving our service level and allow us to remediate for this occasion.

Sincerely yours,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights half board at this hotel in a sea view room. What a fantastic view from the room,which was large, clean and well equipped. There have been some negative views posted regarding the breakfast here. These people must expect the 'Ritz' and only want to pay a small price!! The breakfast was of ample variety and if anything was running out it was immediately replenished. The staff were very helpful and I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel which is right in the centre of Capri town not Anacapri which is a couple of miles from the best part of Capri.

Room Tip: sea view rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We paid for a standard room at the Regina Cristina and were very disappointed when shown to the room. It was dark and small and the outlook from the window was unattractive. We asked about the possibility of an upgrade and for an extra 80 euros per night were given a beautiful room with a terrace with a gorgeous view overlooking the sea, large sitting area, large screen TV, separate luggage/dressing room and huge bathroom (though the toilet leaked when flushed). We were delighted with this room. Had we not upgraded our three nights here would have been miserable. We may have considered moving to another hotel, despite having pre-paid for our room at the Regina Cristina. The breakfast was very poor. The lift regularly failed to arrive. The decor in the public areas is desperately in need of renovation. Staff were very helpful.
On returning home I checked the hotel web site and saw that it claims to be 4 star. Can't see how it warrants that rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Cristina

Address: Via F. Serena, 20, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regina Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Cristina Hotel
Regina Cristina Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.