We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on an enchanted island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Minerva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Minerva
Save
You added La Minerva to your Saves list
Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Capri
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on an enchanted island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 3 nights of our Italian honeymoon at La Minerva and we were so happy and delighted with the hotel, the staff and the service. The hotel itself is very beautiful; all rooms are simply decorated but very clean and comfortable and all rooms have a wonderful, relaxing patio with large lounging chairs for a nice nap after a long day walking up and down stairs of Capri. The staff....I can't say enough about the team that we met while we were there. Antonino was our main contact via email before we arrived and he ensured every question and need we had was taken care of. Marco, Kamal and Luigi were so kind and made everything very easy for us while we were there. The service was top notch. It all seemed so effortless and personal and the great service didn't seem forced.
We loved that the hotel was small and we met many of the other guests during our stay. It felt cozy without being intrusive and we were able to relax and rest up before the rest of our journey. We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends and we look forward to visiting again...this time for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfortable - unlike all the other beds we had at other Italian hotels. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    35
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
486
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in La Minerva for the last 6 days of our honeymoon having married in Ravello in September.

Before we arrived at this hotel, we received an email saying 'We are waiting for you' & it gave us tips for our arrival in Capri. This personal touch continued throughout our stay & is what makes this hotel stand out from all the other, bigger hotels. We were filled with excited anticipation of what was ahead.

We arrived by ferry from Positano & were greeted by a porter designated specifically for La Minerva & he whisked-away our bags for us & handed us tickets for the fenicolare which takes you from the harbour up to the main part of Capri.

Capri is an island of extravagance - as we walked through the main town with designer shops lining the streets, we loved the atmosphere.

Once we entered La Minerva it was like an oasis of calm & we had such a lovely welcome from Antonio that we immediately felt relaxed & special. It is the personal charm of Antonio & Luigi as well as the beautiful, contemporary & stylish design that makes this hotel special.

We were shown to our room (no 53) & I nearly cried with joy when I saw the walk-in wardrobe, soft cushion covered bed, white lux sofa & - the highlight - our own terrace area with amazing view of the sea beyond & our own sun loungers.

Once we'd settled-in there was a knock at the door & Marco entered with a cold bucket containing a welcome bottle of prosecco ! What a welcome !

During our time there, every morning we were served a delicious breakfast on the terrace by the charming Kamal, we were given the perfect recommendations on how to fill our days by Luigi & Antonio, we enjoyed the oasis of our room or the delightful pool & had arrangements made for all our delicious dinner venues. Our every whim was catered for with enthusiasm & a smile ! Even the toilettries are a delight to use - they smell of a fig paradise !

Every night we'd come back to a romantically lit room with jazz playing on the tv, a lovely flower on the bed & the daily newsletter which contained the weather forecast, recipes & tips of the day.
We have never had such brilliant personal touches in any other hotel we've stayed in.

Even our departure was completely stress-free as they organised our ferry tickets back to Naples & arranged for all our luggage to be waiting for us as we boarded.

Thank you La Minerva for a perfect stay ! We will be back !!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon and were so incredibly happy that we did. We had such a perfect stay and each member of staff is so helpful you cannot even imagine. They booked tables for us at the most amazing restaurants, they booked our train tickets online for our onward journey, they sorted our ferry tickets off the island and were ready to help at every opportunity. At one point, one member of staff actually said 'please bother us' which we thought was fantastic.

The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean (we had 51 which had a lovely sun terrace and gate down to the pool). When we went out for dinner we would come back to a bed ready for sleeping (they'd moved the cushions etc.), nice quiet music playing through the TV, a fresh flower and little booklet of news including a weather forecast for the next day.

The bathroom was great although the only thing I would say wasn't quite up to the standard of the rest of the hotel was the shower. It would in no way stop me from staying in that room again and being blissfully happy though!

Breakfast was lovely with a great selection of options and lovely eggs cooked to order. Eggs Benedict was my favourite. Kamal is wonderful and will treat you like a friend from your first morning there.

Capri is beautiful but bring a full wallet as it is expensive! Very special though. If you are planning a trip to Capri then stay here - you will not be disappointed!

We're already saving to go back...!

Room Tip: I think some rooms don't have a sea view so I'd say choose one that has - it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

...it all comes so easily. The owners and staff of this hotel just love what they do, they get it right and make it seem so easy. We've travelled the world and this place ranks amongst the best. Beautiful setting, super rooms, spotlessly clean and all delivered with a smile and enthusiasm. A must stay! Oh, and Lunch by the pool is some of the best pasta you'll get in Italy.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's all true. A perfectly run hotel with that elusive balance of true professionalism and personal attention. La Minerva could show many hoteliers that no amount of training courses in customer service can make up for a truly caring attitude for guests wellbeing, supported by wonderful staff. Kamal in particular made us feel as if we were cherished guests at a rather lovely house party - I sort of expected Liz Taylor or Grace Kelly to waft past at any moment.

We weren't on Capri to explore the (hugely busy) tourist sites but spent our days lazing by the pool. It's slightly disconcerting at first to find there's no restaurant, a tiny bar and that the pool is more than bracing even for someone brought up on the beaches of West Wales - no relaxing dips here, power swimming was required to stop frostbite setting in! By the pool, Kamal served the most delicious pasta and salad for lunch (no choice but that only added to the feeling of personal care), with generous offerings of chilled rose and limoncello. Our room (11) was magnificent with an incredible bathroom and walk in closet (bliss!) and a balcony where the sea twinkled in the distance. One tiny tip - watch the mozzies, particularly at dusk. They seemed to be resistant even to slatherings of Jungle Formula and we came home with more than a few insect souvenirs. It might be best to find a locally recommended anti-mozzie cream - they're clearly quite used to anything that comes from a UK chemist!

We found it a decent uphill walk into town (but we were probably considerably lazier than any of the other guests in the hotel) and boy is it all worth it once you're sipping a drink in the Piazetta. Capri itself is an odd mixture of extremely stylish with more than a hint of its supremely elegant past with a frankly rather tacky tourist resort. But if you're in the Minerva you have a haven to which you can escape. Make the most of it - it's a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When planning our trip to Capri, we never expected to have the experience we had at La Minerva. Surely on such an expensive island, you would expect high prices and no personal touch. La Minerva is the opposite!! The owners, Antonino and Luigi Esposito go out of their way to do just about everything to make your stay worthwhile. The rooms are well appointed and luxurious....towels fluffy too!! It is so refreshing to see the owners at the reception desk always willing to suggest a day trip, a restaurant or whatever else you may want. They are warm and charming and you can see how much they love their hotel. Antonino planned 2 day trips for us that we're the highlight of our trip to the Amalfi Coast!! We were so sad to leave and wished we planned on staying in Capri longer....if you are planning to go to Capri, La Minerva is the place to stay. You will be in heaven!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service service service. This place was great. Very nice, impeccable service, and beautiful accommodations without being stuffy. From the welcome drinks, to dinner suggestions/reservations, to help with ferry travel etc., Marco, Antonino, and the rest of the staff there are very focused on ensuring that your trip to Capri and La Minerva is a good one.

My only complaint (and it is very minor) is that the sheets were not very soft. That said, if staying the night in Capri, stay at La Minerva.

Room Tip: We were in room 31. Spacious, great view, great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.