We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Minerva

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Minerva
Save
You added La Minerva to your Saves list
Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Surrey England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's all true. A perfectly run hotel with that elusive balance of true professionalism and personal attention. La Minerva could show many hoteliers that no amount of training courses in customer service can make up for a truly caring attitude for guests wellbeing, supported by wonderful staff. Kamal in particular made us feel as if we were cherished guests at a rather lovely house party - I sort of expected Liz Taylor or Grace Kelly to waft past at any moment.

We weren't on Capri to explore the (hugely busy) tourist sites but spent our days lazing by the pool. It's slightly disconcerting at first to find there's no restaurant, a tiny bar and that the pool is more than bracing even for someone brought up on the beaches of West Wales - no relaxing dips here, power swimming was required to stop frostbite setting in! By the pool, Kamal served the most delicious pasta and salad for lunch (no choice but that only added to the feeling of personal care), with generous offerings of chilled rose and limoncello. Our room (11) was magnificent with an incredible bathroom and walk in closet (bliss!) and a balcony where the sea twinkled in the distance. One tiny tip - watch the mozzies, particularly at dusk. They seemed to be resistant even to slatherings of Jungle Formula and we came home with more than a few insect souvenirs. It might be best to find a locally recommended anti-mozzie cream - they're clearly quite used to anything that comes from a UK chemist!

We found it a decent uphill walk into town (but we were probably considerably lazier than any of the other guests in the hotel) and boy is it all worth it once you're sipping a drink in the Piazetta. Capri itself is an odd mixture of extremely stylish with more than a hint of its supremely elegant past with a frankly rather tacky tourist resort. But if you're in the Minerva you have a haven to which you can escape. Make the most of it - it's a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    35
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
485
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When planning our trip to Capri, we never expected to have the experience we had at La Minerva. Surely on such an expensive island, you would expect high prices and no personal touch. La Minerva is the opposite!! The owners, Antonino and Luigi Esposito go out of their way to do just about everything to make your stay worthwhile. The rooms are well appointed and luxurious....towels fluffy too!! It is so refreshing to see the owners at the reception desk always willing to suggest a day trip, a restaurant or whatever else you may want. They are warm and charming and you can see how much they love their hotel. Antonino planned 2 day trips for us that we're the highlight of our trip to the Amalfi Coast!! We were so sad to leave and wished we planned on staying in Capri longer....if you are planning to go to Capri, La Minerva is the place to stay. You will be in heaven!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service service service. This place was great. Very nice, impeccable service, and beautiful accommodations without being stuffy. From the welcome drinks, to dinner suggestions/reservations, to help with ferry travel etc., Marco, Antonino, and the rest of the staff there are very focused on ensuring that your trip to Capri and La Minerva is a good one.

My only complaint (and it is very minor) is that the sheets were not very soft. That said, if staying the night in Capri, stay at La Minerva.

Room Tip: We were in room 31. Spacious, great view, great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson's Station, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What can I say about Capri except what everyone already knows, it's gorgeous, but expensive. However, one of the best values on the island is Hotel La Minerva. Family owned and flawlessly run, this was one of our favorite hotels of the enitre 22 day trip. The owners and staff here just do back-flips to make your stay absolutely perfect. We were treated like royalty, but at a reasonable rate.

Luigi and Antonio saw to every tiny detail of our stay, they were just wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, quiet and exceptionally clean. The linens are sumptuous and you get a fresh flower every evening at turn-down. The balcony is the perfect spot to enjoy a glass (or two) of Proseco upon arrival.

Our rooms were excellent, with all the bells and whistles. The service here is amazing, you feel the staff is on call just for you 24/7. Breakfast is great, Kamel, our favorite server from Sri Lanka, will make your eggs however you like them, and the coffee...oh my....the coffee is simply the best in the world, strong and piping hot! All this is served on the patio overlooking the bright blue sea. Kamel also mans the bar at the pool in the afternoon, where he will bring you fresh fruit, ice cold Limoncello and clean fluffy towels. He is just a sweetheart, we received the best of care from this gentelman.

Luigi and Antonio know the island very well, and they sent us to many captivating places and several excellent restaurants. They also arranged our fabulous day aboard the Papino with Rafael from Capri Boats and for our luggage to get carted about the island with perfect timing. We were so sorry to leave La Minerva, we got hugs from everyone. We are sure to be back if we ever have the opportunity to visit Capri again. Sincere thanks to Luigi, Antonio and Kamel, we will be back one day!

Thanks guys, we miss you all!

Keith and Camille Taylor
Thompsons Station, TN.

Room Tip: Balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I never write reviews, but after using Trip Advisor for so much of my planning to Italy, I really want to be able to give back. Let's just start by saying that La Minerva is simply the BEST! Luigi and Antonino could not have been more friendly or more helpful. They know their island well and guide you to the best places based on your criteria. Nothing is ever too much. This hotel is certainly beautiful and immaculate, but it's truly the staff that make it memorable. From our first encounter with the lovely Mariano, to Marco showing us to our room and explaining the hotel(Marco makes the absolute best Aperol Spritz!) and of course Kamal who always greeted us at breakfast with the cheeriest smile. His genuine sincerity and attention to detail are unforgettable. He is truly a gem. I don't think I could possibly say enough about this place except to say that we were originally going to spend 4 nights and after our first 15 minutes there, my husband immediately wanted to add a 5th night and luckily they were able to accommodate us. We can't wait to come back. If you are planning a trip to Capri and are vacillating where to stay, look no further. There is only one choice: La Minerva!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are many 4star hotels in Capri. We made our choise easy for 20th anniversary trip by reserving the number 1 hotel by Tripadisor in Capri, La Minerva. We had great expectations for the trip and hotel. La Minverva astonished us with wonderful service.

It seems that many Capri hotels have nice rooms, views to the ocean, pools and great breakfast. I belive there is a reason why so many write here positive things about La Minerva. It is a small boutique hotel with one competetive edge: they know how to care and take care of their guests. We got a personal touch with all La Minerva personel and they made service flow - Luigi, Antonio, Marco, and Kamal - You are doing a great job! Thank you. You deserve to be number one not only in Capri but Italy.

We learnt to trust La Minerva suggestions about restaurants more than Tripadvisor. Tastes are different, but when you tell Luigi or Antonio what kind of restaurant you are looking for, they will tell you where to go. For example we had our best dinner at Ristorante Aurora which is ranked 34th in Capri at Tripadvisor.

We enjoyed a walking trip around the cape from La Minerva. There is a nature park and you probably need guidelines at La Minerva. Views are magnificent and it gives a diffrentent approach to Capri. The highlight of our Capri was a private boat trip around the island and swimming in the green grotto. Of course, all arrangements were made very easy by La Minerva.

We left La Minerva with smile on our faces and sadness in our hearts. We wish we could have stayed there longer than 4 days. We envy those who are staying at La Minerva right now.

We hope you can keep up with your friendly and pedantic service. You have to make the diffrence every day to keep the number 1 place.

Room Tip: We had a superior room and we were satisfied with it. Good size and great view to the ocean. We enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the first time I wrote a review for any thing but felt that I have to. This is without a doubt the most friendly and wonderful hotel I have ever stayed at. My wife and I travel a lot all over the world and I travel weekly around the US for work and I have never been more happy with a hotel. Luigi, Antonio, Marco, and Kamal do just about any thing possible to make you happy and they seem to genuinely enjoy what they do. Me and my wife went here for our honeymoon and what a great choice we made to stay at La Minerva. We had a standard room with a view of the sea and the room was clean and spacious with plenty of storage. Eating breakfast every morning on the roof top terrace looking out at the sea and mountains was one of the highlights of the day. Luigi and Antonio were more than happy to set up boat tours, restaurant suggestions and reservation or what ever else you could need. On the boat tour I forgot my credit card to pay and the captain on the boat called Minerva and they paid for the boat with no questions and just added it to my bill at check out. We literally felt like we were staying with a relative for the 5 days and there isn't one complaint we could think of. I think we wanted to cry when we left and would of loved to stay longer but we were heading to Rome for 6 days. We even talked to other American's who were staying there to see if they had the same experience as us and they all said Minerva was excellent. All I can say is that I don't know if there is a better hotel in Capri as I have only stayed here but I can tell you if I ever go to Capri again I will only stay at Minerva because I know that the room,service,food, and the personalities of the staff and overall experience will be 5 stars guaranteed. If you go to Capri stay here and you wont be disappointed. Thanks again to Luigi, Antonio and Kamal for making our honeymoon at so special.

Nick & Hillary

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the sea on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Minerva

Address: Via Occhio Marino, 8, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#2 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Minerva is an exclusive 18 room hotel, in which each and every customer is made to feel, first and foremost, a welcome guest, to the hotel and to the Island of Capri.The hotel has been recently renovated, with original interior design, stylishly combining modern features with typical elements of island architecture, including characteristic floors in hand-painted majolica, artisan-crafted ceramics, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping arches.The Hotel is situated in the center of Capri, looking out towards the sea, in a peaceful pedestrian area just steps away from the island’s fashionable shopping district, Via Camerelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Minerva Capri
La Minerva Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.