We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful , Elegant and Classy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Brunella to your Saves list
Villa Brunella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Englewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful , Elegant and Classy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you are going to Capri then Villa Brunella is your best choice. I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this oasis and must say that the hotel is a 5 star establishment. The grounds are immaculate and are overflowing with flowers and lemon trees. There are also many beautiful birds that have claimed Villa Brunella as their sanctuary. I stayed in a junior suite in the garden and it was spectacular. It felt like my own private villa because it was very spacious and even had a terrace witth table , chairs and two chaise lounges for sun bathing. All this surrounded by flowers and lemon trees. My other friends stayed in "regular " rooms that were as impeccably decorated and furnished as the junior suite.

The service was fast , gracious and professional. We ordered ice on two occassions and it took less than 5 minutes for it to arrive. I also dined at the restaurant and it was not only incredibly romantic all lit up by candlelight but the food was delicious and the waiters were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    31
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Villa Brunella is on the Via Tragara, between two five star Capri hotels. From the center piazza of Capri, it is about a fifteen minute scenic walk. The hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. It;s restaurant is street level, the lobby/registration is one level down, and the rooms continue down four levels. Our room, really almost a suite, had a king size bed, a large sofa, two beautiful armchairs, and an antiques desk/dresser. There was a huge bath with jacuzzi and separate shower. On top of all that, there was a very large, covered balcony complete with lemon trees and flowers. The view from the balcony is of all the gardens and eventually to the sea. The service was perfect in every way. The gardens are spectacular, and there isn't five feet of space anywhere on the property which is not covered with flowers and lemon trees.Our room had a huge bowl of white orchids on the coffee table. My only criticism is that the breakfast served is not adequate - mostly rolls, sweet croissant. The location is one of quiet beauty, with just a little energy you can get to the action of the main square. The hotel is so beautiful we wish we could spend time there every year.

Room Tip: room 41 has a private entrance and spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived from South Africa, having had all of our transfers from Naples airport seamlessly organised by the hotel. On our very warm welcome we were given an upgrade to a Suite (if we didn't mind!)

The views from the hotel are some of the best on the Island, our suite was very 1950's James Bond-esque! Magnificent and very clean. Lush gardens. Lemon trees on the balcony - Very Capri. The owner was always around near the entrance of the hotel and very gracious - nothing was a problem to organise through the staff.

The location is very near the centre of Capri - you can walk everywhere easily. There are other more "Small Leading Hotels of The World" type 5 star hotels on the Island but, although older, Villa Brunella has a charm and personal touch about it that makes it a very special place to stay.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

On the last night we had supper in the hotel restaurant upstairs with a group of friends who were staying all over Capri in different hotels - Everyone concluded that the views, the service and the food made Villa Brunella the Gem of the Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We recently spent a week in Capri for a friend's birthday and were fortunate enough to have booked to stay at the Hotel Villa Brunella. The experience was faultless, from time of making the reservation through to checkout. Luggage was collected at the port on arrival and there was a warm welcome at reception. The hotel is well situated, being just outside of the busy part of town, allowing escape to a tranquil environment when required as well as providing a base for walks and excursions. The room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Rooms are serviced twice daily. All amenities are in good condition and the entire property is kept very clean. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. I would not hesitate to return to Villa Brunella should I travel to Capri again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mappleborough Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A ten minute short walk from the centre of Capri in the Via Tragara finds this delightful hotel and restaurant. The food and service at the restaurant were excellent, so much so that in our short stay we visited it twice. The dining room was exceedingly attractive and you really felt that you had been out for a special evening. Whilst we did not stay there, we did see the rooms and should we return to Capri it will be top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Like some reviewers before me, I feel I have a bit of a difficult task in writing this review, because 99% of our experience of this hotel was really positive and worthy of 5 stars. However the one major negative (breakfast, or lack thereof) we found impossible to overlook, which is why I've ended up giving 4.

So first, the positives. Our room was beautifully decorated with lovely classic furniture pieces. It was absolutely spotless, and the bathroom was also very spacious with separate bath and shower (although as I think another reviewer before me has noted, there was some electrical wiring sticking out of a spot the bathroom wall which was a little bit weird and should probably be fixed!) We also had a private balcony with generous glimpses of the water and mountains, fully equipped with table and chairs and two sun lounges. Housekeeping was twice a day, including a turn down service in the evening, and the room was always beautifully kept.

The owner was always around to say hello and was very attentive to our needs. The staff (especially in the restaurant) were also extremely friendly and we felt incredibly welcome. We had an amazing meal in the hotel's restaurant one night, which I will review separately - but in brief, the view from our table was spectacular, as was the food and the service.

The hotel also had a lovely pool, which it was unfortunately too cold to use while we were there.

Now, to the only thing that spoiled our stay: breakfast. It turns out that the included continental breakfast consists of a bread basket with rolls, plain croissants, and a couple of slices of Madeira cake, plus some spreads (honey, jam, Nutella etc) and a cup of tea of coffee. That's it. Actually, there is one more thing you can get for free if you ask for it, and that's a single-serve packet of Kellogs cornflakes or muesli, which is served to you in a bowl still in the packet (which doesn't exactly scream 'quality')...

Everything else is extra. For juice, be prepared to part with €4 - €5. For a plain omelette €7, or €9 for any additions such as ham or cheese. Yoghurt is €3. And fruit is a staggering €12. You get the picture. If you are not content eating nothing but refined carbohydrates and you want a normal hotel breakfast for 2 people, be prepared to fork out €20 or more on top of your room rate.

Now, if this was the norm, I wouldn't be complaining. But the truth is, I've stayed in 2 star hotels that have better included breakfast on offer. I mean, not even including a glass of juice?? For a 4-star hotel at which guests are paying upwards of €200 per night, this left a very sour taste in our mouths, if you'll pardon the pun, and kind of ruined the first few hours of our first day while we pondered the fact that the cost of providing a glass of juice and perhaps some sliced fruit or an egg for each guest would probably only be an extra couple of euros per head, but would surely be a worthwhile investment in order to keep up with the standards of other comparable hotels and to make guests feel like they weren't being taken advantage of (yes, we caved in on the second day and bought extra breakfast items, but we didn't feel happy about it).

Anyway, like I said, apart from the breakfast issue we really enjoyed our stay here, and I feel it's a genuine pity that we have anything to gripe about because everything else was so positive - if not for 'the big breakfast disappointment' it definitely would have been 5 stars from me.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

While the property and rooms may not be the fanciest on the island, it is certainly nice enough. My wife and I came here after spending quite a bit throughout other parts of Italy. We noticed the great reviews and price and decided to cut back. I am personally glad we did. We spent a majority of our 3 days here outside and not in our room, which meant spending more on better decor would have been a waste. That said, we did enjoy our continental breakfast in the morning which gave us fuel to travel around and explore until we were ready for lunch.

Another amazing benefit to this hotel is its close proximity to the La Fontelina Beach Club (200 yards to the downward entrance, then a steep decline to get to the beach).

The restaurant on the property was also amazing and provided an amazing meal/ view.

We almost booked our stay at JK Place, and after stopping by to see it, It certainly was beautiful and amazing, but for the amount of touring we did on the island, spending the money here would have been wasted. If you're planning on staying put in the hotel, well then you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Address: Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#18 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Brunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.