We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't pick a better place on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Brunella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Brunella to your Saves list
Villa Brunella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Couldn't pick a better place on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We spent one night at this lovely hotel and enjoyed ourselves immensely. For us, the distance from town was a plus; it was incredibly peaceful and quiet and one of the joys of the island is the lack of any vehicular traffic once you get away from the road. A large part of the core island is pedestrianized and Brunella is toward the end of a main street that is breathtaking. The pool is delightful and the sun deck beautiful.

As others have noted, it's small and family run, adding to the sense of peace. It was not full when we were there (early in the season and during the week), and the owners upgraded our friends to a junior suite above the pool. Both rooms were incredibly spacious and very comfortable with huge private decks that overlooked the unobstructed view of the sea. We also wound up eating at the restaurant since it rained heavily (briefly) right as we were heading into town, but as described, it's a lovely place, very romantic with good food.

The only quibble, as others also noted, is the breakfast. It was quite bare bones, and it seemed surprisingly that the hotel would "nickle-and-dime" people at the price point for the hotel. Still, a small quibble in the grand scheme of things, and it may well be a standard on Capri, although it wasn't our experience anywhere else on the Amalfi Coast.

We loved the island and hiked everywhere. Just be prepared for lots of climbing! A great walk is to go down to the small marina outside the main part of town, where there is a lovely beach club and restaurant, connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    32
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
128
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

really enjoyed our stay.. a bit of a walk from the town 10mins but enrico will meet you at the ferry and take your luggage. the view is great and balcony and pool deck get the sun all day.
the big surpise for us was the restuarant. its was one of the best on capri. we initially didnt consider eating there at all. highly recommended
the staff are excellent.
the breakfast is very simple cake and cereals and yoghurt, juice, eggs are extra which i thought was a bit rich. internet was free but connection speed was terrible
overally highly recommended

Room Tip: i would suggest staying in the cheaper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Beautiful 4 star hotel, excellent room, garden, service,view. Missing only better breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

In the beginning I did'nt want make any review, but last time I was in Capri we had it terrible that's why I'm spending my time to help travellers to don't throw money.
Anyway I just want say to everyone that we had the best time ever.
Everything was perfect.
I really suggest to go to this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Three days ago we were there. It's really great. Some friends suggested us the hotel and talked us about the familiar, and romantic atmosphere. It's totally true!
The rooms are very nice, big and elegant. The restaurant has an unforgettable panorama. and you can eat lovely Italian food, listening at a very romantic music. All in candle light!
TIt is a family hotel and the owner is always present and very kind. He gave us very good suggestions so that our we was very nice.
This is a great period to visit the island. If the weather is nice, with a few people around you can really experience a magic atmosphere!

Room Tip: Rooms upon the swimming pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a very romantic and wonderful Honeymoon in Capri made even better because of the Hotel. The location of the hotel is simply the best on the whole Island, the pool is a wonderful size for Capri and what we loved so much was how green and beautiful it was and we still had the amazing views of the sea! The staff are so friendly and helped us when we needed to get to the Almalfi coast and the hydrofoils were not running due to wind change ( I was secretley hoping we had to stay ). What also makes this place a gem is the fact it is family run so it is not commercialised and there are no stuffy rules like other hotels on the island and you can truly just kick back and relax, I cannot recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

the view is the best of in any place of the hotel.
everywhere is very clean.
the room is big with double bed.
the garden is full of big trees and flowers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Brunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Brunella

Address: Via Tragara 24, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#11 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#18 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Brunella 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most beautiful residential street - Via Tragara - which runs up to the Faraglioni that's where you'll find the Hotel Villa Brunella and its restaurant, Terrazza Brunella, an unbeatable combination of elegant decor, polished service and the warm welcome only a family-owned hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Brunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Brunella Hotel Capri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Brunella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.